We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Diana Pompei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Diana Pompei
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“can't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We came here for a one night stay with no pretensions. What can you expect from a 3-star hotel in Italy? We were abundantly surprised! The place is extremely nice and clean, wonderful garden, rich breakfast and most of all great service. We loved to 'can do' approach of the staff helping us in whatever issue arose. As I said it can't be any better and we'll definitely be there again on our next visit to Pompei.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaloVerusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel155, Responsabile reception at Hotel Diana Pompei, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor.

We are glad that your stay was better than you expected.

It will be a pleasure to accomodate you during your next visit in Pompei.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    505
    94
    10
    3
See reviews for
461
653
64
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this very comfortable and clean hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and we enjoyed most delicious suppers (homemade pesto!) by candlelight under the orange trees in the delightful courtyard restaurant. We loved the breakfast in a dining room decorated with a copy of a famous Pompeii fresco.The hotel was well situated not far from any of the 3 railway stations and close to the ruins.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just got back from our stay at the Hotel Diana in Pompei having selected this hotel due to its trip advisor rating.
The room is rather basic as per previous reviews but is tidy and clean and the bathroom is plenty big enough for two. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk to the ruins and the main street of restaurants.
I have given this 3 out of 5 as the walls in the rooms are incredibly thin and for us this meant being kept awake by our neighbour's screaming child all through the night. Also I felt that the breakfast selection could have been better as it just consisted of a few croissants and as there were so few you felt you could only take 1, some cornflakes, a few slices of ham & cheese, few slices of cake and some very un-appealing fruit.
The hotel staff are all very helpful though and speak good English. Overall this is a good hotel Im just not sure its anything exceptional.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a patio room as it's just a tiny bit of the pavement on the back alley r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Only stayed here one night, as we only came to see the Ruins of Pompeii while traveling through Italy. Driving to Pompeii was a bit of a hassel, many many one-way only streets. However, driving to the ruins was easy and to Hotel Diana also easy. We did not have a room reserved or anything. We just walked in and asked if they had a room available. We were pleasantly surprised to see the tripadvisor award on the wall. Reception was welcoming and they were more than happy to take us in, and they accept cash. Parking is free, and located outside behind the hotel, but there are not many spaces (I think 7 ?), and it's a little small if you have a bigger vehicle. Access to the Pompeii main enterance Scavi/Ampitheater is very close you can walk or drive. Public parking is available near the entrance. Rooms and bathroom are clean, but very brightly colored (purple and red). Air conditioning is nice and COLD, which is great after a hot day walking around the ruins. Breakfast was excellent. Lots of things to choose from & we enjoyed the Opera music and Fresco in the dining hall :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetrekkerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent two nights here. Even before we left Alaska (home) for Italy, the staff at the Hotel Diana were very helpful in getting our family of 6 into the right room. They were attentive to our needs once there and were wonderful to deal with. The hotel and room was very clean. We had a wonderful experience there and would recommend it to anyone (with our without a family/kids).

Room Tip: We had a family of 6 (2 adults, and a 8, 6, 4, 1 year old. We all slept in 1 room and they moved a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Hotel Diana. Extremely clean rooms, lovely big king size bed and a single bed for my son. Reception staff very friendly and helpful with guidance and information about the surrounding area. Plentiful breakfast with delicious cappucino. Easy walking distance to the train station, pompeii ruins and local bars and restaurants. A small fridge would have been really useful in the room. One tip if you are travelling with under 18's, from the EU and going to the ruins - take some ID as children are free but you have to prove you are from within the EU. You will have a great time at this hotel, we loved it. xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtuck45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castelfranco Di Sotto, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I read all comments before booking and thought it couldn't be true that all
people showed satisfaction.
As soon as I got there I felt happy with my selection. There is always cleanning staff, the room
is newly decorated and refurnished with lovely colours.
It is located in the city center but fortunately in the silence area.
The only I could criticize is the tv. I found it too small.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipalata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Costa Hotel
Costa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#6 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana Pompei

Property: Hotel Diana Pompei
Address: Vicolo Sant'Abbondio 12, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pompeii
#1 Family Hotel in Pompeii
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pompeii
#4 Business Hotel in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana Pompei 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently renovated hotel with modern and glamour refinements is winner of the Italian Hospitality Awards 2007 3-star category.Ideally located for public transport users, walking distance from the ruins and the famous Sanctuary.Geogeous garden with orange trees, lemon hedges and typically Mediterranean plants.On request we can organizes wonderful excursion to: Naples; Sorrento; Amalfi; Positano; and Mount Vesuvius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Diana Pompei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Pompei Hotel
Diana Pompei Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing