We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect for Pompeii” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Iside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Iside
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for Pompeii”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We needed a hotel for a few days while we visited Pompeii , Herculaneum and Vesuvius, and this was perfect for the job. Major advantages were it's located just round the corner from the gates of Pompeii, it's easy to find, with secure parking and just a 5 minute walk to the centre of Pompei - a delightful town by the way. The Iside is also close to the other attractions. The rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet, although lacking the small fridges that can be so useful for travellers. This is a family business with three generations buzzing around, all very welcoming which made the whole experience a good one, and we rebooked for the night before flying home.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quiet, but the others are probably quiet too
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCannyJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    94
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
75
95
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Looking for a hotel for a week's working stay in Pompeii, this was a gem. I had taken a single room which was small but contained everything I needed. The hotel was quiet and immaculately clean, and my room remained cool throughout the heatwave. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful beyond the call of duty, and I felt really looked after. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melrose52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is a 10 minute walk into the new Pompeii town centre and 10 minutes in the other direction to the ruins. There is a Carrefour (shuts at 2030) nearby for any supplies however be warned the room does not come with a fridge!

The room was very basic with a small bathroom. We also had an issue with the shower not draining quick enough which isn't pleasant. The hotel seems to be run by a family who are very friendly. The breakfast is a basic continental with meats/cheeses/pastries etc.

While on a basic map, the hotel looks like it is on a side road, it is actually on a main road with a hospital so can have a lot of traffic- with this it can be a bit noisy during the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrRoomda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I wonderful little family owned hotel with a charming staff.
Our room had a nice view of Mt Vesuvius in the distance.
An easy walk to the Pompeii World Heritage Site and local restaurants, shops, bakeries and of course, gelato!
We would definitely stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
245 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We arrived after dark, but using our GPS had no trouble locating the hotel (it's actually very central, just not on the Main Street coming off the autoway.). The hotel itself is quiet and attractive. Our room was modern and comfortable and we liked the parking behind the hotel. Staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and information on how to get to the ruins which are nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

My major concern with this hotel is the location. We arrived at 10pm via train and thought we would be able to grab a taxi to get to the hotel, needless to say there were zero taxis anywhere. I'm not sure if this is a city wide issue or just because we arrived so late at night.
We ended up having to walk to the hotel, which also proved difficult as nobody there spoke English. Eventually we found a young guy and between many many hand gestures and pointing to the hotel name/address from our confirmation we managed to get there after about 40 minutes, some incorrect directions and a couple of detours along the way.
The hotel itself is nothing to write home about, a small room, an A/C that didn't cool the room down until we were ready to leave in the morning and a very tiny bathroom (this is to be expected in Europe though anywhere you go).
The owners are sweet and the front desk staff are wonderful.
You can walk to either entrance of the ruins and both train stations are about 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EcstaticTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

absolutly great, very kind and helpful. our car was safe in the back of the house under the lemon- and orangetrees and we could explore pompeii ruins and visit neaples with train. we alrady recommanded it to our friends and would stay there again if possible. perfect value for the price we paid. thank you

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nik0lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#9 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#6 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iside

Property: Hotel Iside
Address: Via Minutella 27, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Iside 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Iside is a comfortable 3 star family hotelIt is situated 100 metres from the entrance of Pompeii Ruins, and 200 metres from the main square (where you can find the Cathedral of the Madonna). It is centrally located but at the same time quiet, thanks to the tranquillity of it’s large citrus tree garden.-It is ideal for anyone who wishes to leave their car in the safe car park, allowing them to go for a walk or shopping in the town centre. You will be warmly welcomed by this family run hotel, and the best care and attention is guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Iside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iside Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing