We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveler rating
201
275
133
50
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
275
133
50
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfourth floorbreakfast restaurantcakesseparate roomsgreat directionsrooms are basic but cleanno tea or coffee making facilitieshotel is situatedpompeii scavi train stationreception staffeconomy roomthree night stayfree parkingbudget hotelhard boiled eggswould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 680 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and were really pleasantly surprised. The rooms were a good size and clean, located in a characterful building at a couple of minutes walk from one of the entrance ruins. The price was extremely reasonable as far as Italian hotels go, and that is without taking into account its location near one of the most visited flagship sites of Italy! It is a little bit of a walk from the transvesuviano train stop if you are coming from Naples, so I might reccommend a taxi if you have lots of luggage and are in full summer heat, but this actually becomes an advantage as the nearby entrance to the ruins is less busy than the one close to the train stop (we had no queues and no crowds at 9:30 am) and you avoid the hordes of tourists. The breakfast had an excellent choice of typical italian sweets (I lived in Italy for 15 years so even if they may not be to your liking, I can assure you that most of them are typically Italian) and of course excellent coffee and juices. There are some great restaurants too off the nearby Piazzale Giovanni XXIII (in fact the best pizza I have ever had was in one of these restaurants half way down via Astolelle, despite having tried neapolitan pizza many times before). The staff were absolutely lovely and really friendly. For the price, faultless all round and a great choice if visiting Pompei for a day or two, but also as a good base to see some of the surrounding localities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed seven nights, 14 to 21 August 2013, couple with two children 24 & 15.
We had two separate rooms, a double and a twin, numbers 36 and 37.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, evertything worked and the air-con was very efficient. August in Italy isn't a joke. It was 40 centigrade when we checked in. At night it was 26 centigrade, every night.

This is an excellent hotel. Its location is perfect if you want to visit the ruins of Pompeii. The entrance to the ruins of Pompeii in only across the street, less than 20 meters (60 feet) from the hotel. At the entrance they also sell tours to the volcano Vesuvius.
The staff, both the receptions girls and the breakfast restaurant staff, is probably the the best thing about the hotel, always with a genuine smile, always ready to help.
I stay in hotels all over the world and this is the first 3-star hotel with a 4-star hotel feel. They change the bed linen and towels everyday. The decor is very nice too.
The breakfast could be a little better. No fresh toast, for example, but their fantastic coffee compensates for the lack of toast.
Italians invented ice-cream, right ? So make sure you try it from the two or three ice-cream parlours on the same side of the road where the Hotel Del Sole is and NOT the one further on on the other side fo the road (expensive). There is a McDonalds on that street too. There many good restaurants within walking distance and I can recommend 'Carlo Alberto'. Good food and reasonable priced. There is another restaurant (forgot the name) in that square (sorry... 'piazza') on a corner but it is expensive (120 Euros for four diners).

One last thing. When you visit the ruins of Pompeii take two bottles person. There are many clean water outlets inside the ruins. And do not hire a guide. He/she will rush yoiu through the site andyoiu have no time to see what you want to see. Hire an electronic audio-guide from the entrance and they will also provide you with a free map.
I recommnewd this hotel to anyone. Superb in every aspect. Don't hesitate. You will not regret staying there.

Room Tip: The best tip I can give other travelers is to visit Trip Advisor and read the reviews. That is what I always do. There is nothing like first hand experience of other travelers
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Situated next to the entrance of Pompeii. Opposite Vesuvius bustours. Very helpful staff. Didn't visit the restaurant but breakfast was a feast. Lots of sweets but also cheese and ham. Coffee is ofcourse stupendous as we are in Italy. (if you like coffee don't try American coffee) We had a 3 bed bedroom. Girls (11 and 10) in separate beds. Adequate bathroom, Good AC and nice view from our balcony. Car was safely parked in the backyard.
Would recommend this hotel to everybody who wants to visit pompeii.
Hans Moll

Room Tip: it 's a quiet area anyway
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel was excellent! Staff were lovely and really helpful. Room was great with a wee balcony and Air con, and it was about £45 for the night! It is right across the road from the Pompeii ruins and the bus stop to Mt Versuvius! Couldn't have asked for more! The only negative was that the wifi didnt work from our room... but the lobby is nice to sit in and it suited us well to use the wifi there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at Hotel del Sole while exploring Pompeii, the Vesuvius and Ercolano and were pleasantly surprised by the outstanding service we received! We stayed there for 3 nights. Our room was spacious enough for us (2 adults and a 2-year old). We drove there so free secure parking on site was definitely a great thing for us! Breakfast was continental and really good :) Rooms were cleaned (everyday), hotel was clean. Everything works in the rooms. Bathroom was spacious as well. Bed was comfortable and A/C worked amazingly, which is suuuuuper necessary in the middle of July in Italy. The location is magnificent! A few steps away from the Porta Anfiteatro to the ruins and a few blocks away from the Santuario di Pompei. Buses to the Vesuvius and the train stations are also just a short walk away. Nice restaurants, souvenirs and ice cream places nearby. Free Wifi everywhere was also nice! :) It was a perfect place for us, absolutely above our expectations! But the best part of this hotel is the staff! They really do go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and taken care of! They helped us with every question about the city, spoke English really well, and just did everything they could to make our stay the best possible. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Pompeii and the region around. Connections from here are super easy and I doubt you will find this great combination anywhere else. ;)

Room Tip: Maybe a room on the front of the hotel would have been even nicer, since we would have been able to have a view of the ruins. But our room was great as well. :)
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tha_dmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews