We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic gelati!”

Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale
Ranked #2 of 11 Dessert in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $6
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night
Description: 42 FLAVOURS OF, ARTIGIANAL ICE- CREAM WITH NEW 'COVER CHOCOLATECONES GLUTEN-FREE, AND ICE CREAM FOR CELIACFruit smoothiesFRAPPE 'CREPES WITH NUTELLA OR ICE CREAMFRUIT SALAD WITH ICE CREAM OR YOGURTYOGURTBRIOCHES O CORNETTO WITH ICE CREAMICE CREAM CAKESsemifreddoGRANITEPRALINERIE: PANDISTELLE, ABBRACCI, Rocher FERRERO, cones MINI FOR ALL TASTES, CREMINI, ICICLES etc. ......42 GUSTI DI GELATO ARTIGIANALE CON NOVITA' COPERTURA AL CIOCCOLATOCONI SENZA GLUTINE E GELATO PER CELIACIFRULLATI DI FRUTTAFRAPPE' CREPES CON NUTELLA O CON GELATOMACEDONIA DI FRUTTA CON GELATO O CON YOGURTYOGURTBRIOCHES O CORNETTO CON GELATOTORTE GELATOSEMIFREDDIGRANITEPRALINERIE: PANDISTELLE, ABBRACCI, ROCHER FERRERO,MINI CONETTI DI TUTTI I GUSTI,CREMINI,GHIACCIOLI ecc......
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic gelati!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This ice cream shop was just around the corner from our hotel, so perfect for stopping off on the way home from dinner (which we did every evening!)! Many, many flavours and if you weren't sure what one was the friendly girls behind the counter offered you a free sample on a little ice cream spoon! They were delighted when we tried to order in our quite poor Italian and the prices were very reasonable - 2.00 euros for a cone with two large scoops and fresh whipped cream on top. Lots of sprinkles and toppings available for the children, too. My favourite, After Eight, wasn't available one night so the helpful waitress suggested mint and liquorice instead! A combination I would never have come up with myself. Brilliant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit-Mum-in-Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden_Ice_Gelateria, Proprietario at Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
thx so much! :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    51
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you eat ice cream here be prepared to pay the tourist price. The charge we got for two ice creams was double what the italian menu stated.
There are other good ice cream places to go, who don't over charge.
Avoid this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vesuviuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden_Ice_Gelateria, Proprietario at Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
We are very sorry you were disappointed about what you paid in our gelateria. maybe you did not realized about the quality of our products. all the ingredients that we use are absolutely natural, with no substances to preserve the gelato. about the price you paid, you had a maxi blue cup that is normally three flavours and you asked for four flavours and you were not charged for that, as you paid 5€ instead of 6.90. your friend had a three flavours maxi cone whose cost is 4€, but she asked for the fourth flavour and so the cost was higher. if you want we can send you the video of the day you came because we have security cameras and all that happens in our gelateria is recorded....we can accept every kind of critics about the quality of our products but we cannot accept people saying we aren't honest. maybe you are not that experienced in travelling.....!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent gelato!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic gelato and also somewhere to sit down inside, which I've not seen in many gelato places. The girl serving us was also very helpful and gave us a map and directions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Medicdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden_Ice_Gelateria, Proprietario at Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
thx so much! :D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Golden Ice Gelateria - The Best In Italy!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We just spent 3 days in Pompei, and were thrilled to stop by the Golden Ice. You cannot believe the choices of gelato here - we sampled many flavors - all were delicious! This charming shop, run by an incredibly charming couple, Felipe & Rosa, take pride in what they do - this gelato is made with love! My favorite flavor, the strawberry - the owner takes pride to show you that it is prepared with fresh strawberries - these ingredients make all the difference! The entire staff is amazing - Myriam and the rest of the staff - all so friendly, sincere, extra welcoming! They are happy to suggest different flavors, do try the vanilla yogurt - amazing - We stopped by every day that we were in Pompei! They made a wonderful trip to the city of Pompei even more enjoyable. No matter where you visit in the world, you see wonderful sights - it is the people you meet that make your trip even more wonderful - and the staff at Golden Ice will make you feel that way! When we return to Pompei, you can bet we will be back at the Golden Ice - I believe they are open one year now, we wish them many many years of success - I only wish they would open a gelateria in New York City so we could get the gelato every day! You guys are the best!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden_Ice_Gelateria, Proprietario at Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Hi, Don and Doreen, you're twins fantastic and fun, we are very happy to have known you! I hope in a couple of years of apripre a Gelateria in America ... because all Americans are funny! If I come to NY, we meet and spend a nice day together! I miss you so much! by Myriam and all the staff of Golden Ice ice cream!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Although I have travelled around the world, this is the first time I have visited anywhere where I felt it necessary to write a review. This place not only sells the best icecream my family have ever had, but the family that runs it are incredibly friendly and helpful. It was my husbands 40th birthday and they made him a fantastic icecream cake, and found candles which said 40 on it. This is without a doubt a place where they go the extra mile to make you feel extremely welcome. I would urge any visitors to Pompei to visit this gelateria.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden_Ice_Gelateria, Proprietario at Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
thank you very much .. everything we do is because we love our work. all those who are in the ice cream are not customers but friends who will remain forever in our hearts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Golden Ice Gelateria Artigianale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing