We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Pompeii”
Review of Garum

Garum
Ranked #6 of 223 Restaurants in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tra gustose specialità campane, un’attenta selezione di vini e un ambiente raccolto ed elegante, il ristorante Garum - aperto dal dicembre 2011 dal titolare Fioravante Iovine – si farà ricordare per l’alta qualità delle materie prime utilizzate, per la varietà del menù (che alterna piatti fissi a quelli stagionali) e per l’attenzione alla tradizione locale, sapientemente rivisitata e rielaborata. Il piatto forte del ristorante – che è poi quello che dà il nome allo stesso – sono gli spaghetti al Garum, ovvero alla colatura di alici, versione “moderna” dell’antica salsa romana – detta appunto Garum – da cui con ogni probabilità discende.
Reviewed February 6, 2019 via mobile

I couldn't ask for anything more. Everything was perfect. Food was perfectly cooked and wonderfully seasoned. Service was 5 star worthy and had a good wine recommendation. If I had one complaint it would be the lighting was in your eyes (they should use uplighting), but that's me being picky.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2019

We had been there during the Christmas holidays and received swift and professional service. We had pasta, mixed fish and steak, which were all very good. We were even offered a free starter. We really enjoyed the dinner.

Date of visit: December 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank liming2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2018

We visited Gary based on good reviews of trip advisor, we were the first to arrive and got lots of attention and good service from two nice waiters. The food was served in the right time, not too slow not too fast. All great quality! Limoncello was the best I ever had

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

We had the mixed seafood grill and fried potato pasta and both were very good. They also serve great wine, one of the waiters is very knowledgeable about which wine we could have. Even the desserts were delicious. Affordable meal, but not cheap.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Victor-Poonam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2018

After a bit off a hard day wit trains breaking down and six hours off attempts to get back to hotel we had not succeeded we fell across this gem and so glad we did,
The serve from lucio and Salvatore was faultless from the moment we walked in and turned me from a grumpy bear into a very happy guy within short measure,
Food perfect
Wine perfect
Service perfect
Totally made us feel welcome, and the small gestures made the night as well as filling me up with a huge sea bream that was soooo fresh it almost swam onto the plate
All the family enjoyed quality food,
Brilliant hospitality and just thank you

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank WorldFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garum also viewed

 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Garum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing