We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First meal in Pompeii” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garum

Garum
Ranked #3 of 176 Restaurants in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $55
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Romantico, affari, cucina locale, occasioni speciali
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First meal in Pompeii”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had a very nice dinner last night. Great service, good food and wine. Took steak back to cook more as it came out rare but the seafood was beautifully cooked and full of flavour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    222
    33
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Nam! Nam! Nam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Very good food and delicious wine! Great service and nice atmophere! Very good food and wine for a good price!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianasolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sudden and pleasant dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Travel to the Amalfi coast, we decided to make a stop in Pompeii for dinner. We chose the Garum for the comfort of the car park, within walking distance from the exit Pompeii West of Highway Na-Sa within walking distance from the station of Fs, the excavations and the sanctuary.
We dined outside on a lovely table decoration and chili paste.
We chose a fish dinner with a trio of appetizers, a trio of first course for adults and a children's roasted squid, white wine and Coca-Cola. All delicious and fresh, the chef Fiore, prepared foods, simple but with great imagination has combined the fish with vegetables, cheese and nuts. Superb fried squid with fennel cream.
Price/quality is excellent. Fast and friendly service, relaxing atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elpotito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Revived after the Pompeii heat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited Ristorante Garum for lunch in the course of a day long visit first to Pompeii with Herculaneum to come. Our driver had asked the restaurant to open especially for us and we were treated to calm, cool and a delicious meal. We had simple pasta and pizza dishes but we would all highly recommend the chocolate torte which was as good as anything served in a five star restaurant. Ristorante Garum completely restored our party's energy and good humour and we would certainly seek it out again when we are next in Pompeii

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilT29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Garum Pompei”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at Garum! The food was delicious and very reasonably priced. the house wine at Euro 2.00 is a great margin. We spent just over euro 20 per person and it was way too much food- portions are generous.
We had also tried some of the other restaurants in pompeii ( currently rated #2 and #4) but they don't come close for the quality of the food.
The ambience is very nice and it's upscale despite the inexpensive cost.
Service also very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mhk34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garum also viewed

 
Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Garum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing