We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Extreme proximity to ruins and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa dei Misteri

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa dei Misteri
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extreme proximity to ruins and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a simple hotel, no frills, but extremely clean and comfortable. Nice staff give great directions and swimming pool is lovely to beat the heat and fatigue of touring Pompei. I would recommend highly to those traveling by train for ease of access to train station and ruins. Very reasonably priced, too.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor room with AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhahnlesser55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    47
    40
    8
    4
See reviews for
40
54
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

I am not quite sure why this place gets such glowing reviews. The good points - the service is lovely and helpful...they really are very nice people. Second, it is fabulously well located for the ruins of Pompei and the Circumvesuviana train station which can get you around the area. It is about a 15 min walk down into Pompei town itself where there is more of a choice of restaurants - but Pompei is basically a pretty poor town (as is the region) so don't get too excited by the choice. Negatives - I was in the "motel" block near the pool so those rooms may be different from the main block. The whole place is very very dated. My room was rather dark and the lighting was hopeless at night. About 3 times I didn't have any hot water at all. The shower is a funny arrangement that overlaps the loo. The bed is rock hard (that doesn't bother me but may bother some people). There is no kettle or TV (well, it's not an expensive hotel). Wifi was free (hurrah) but didn't work for much of my stay - though I could access it in the lobby. Breakfast was disappointing - some kind of undrinkable "Sunny Delight" instead of fruit juice and otherwise a smorgasbord of white carbohydrate. Homemade marmalade was good. I had a meal in the restaurant one night which was fine.

Room Tip: Maybe you get better rooms in the main block and don't get the hot water problems?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have to be honest, I am not in the habit of writing a review, however I feel this place deserves one.. My stay here was very relaxing and as other reviews had said, the hotel staff were very friendly and I can certainly agree with that. They seem to have regular return business which says a lot for the place. Siting around the pool was most relaxing and pleasent. It is minutes away from the gate to Pompeii Scavi and the train station. From there you can get an orgaised tour to Vesuvius. I went there first before I went in to Pompeii. A tip... if you get the €12 bus you will have to pay another fee when you get to the Vesuvius national park €10 or you can pay the €22 bus situation at the train station. It you like fun rides, you will like that one! wear a good pair of shoes as there is a 20 min walk to the crater. Anyway back to the hotel. The food was fair, not the best Italian I have eaten but not the worst either. Breakfast was better more continental in style, cold meats and cheese plus yougart and fruit.. Their Jam (maralade) is home made and very nice too. There is free wifi in the lobby. One of the evenings, while sitting in the lobby, the Senora gave us home made cookies or biscotti they were yum! It seems to be a great base for archeologist, as there were few staying while I was there. Also as it is so close to the train station getting to Serrento is easy, but beware the last train from Serrento is 21.37 and a taxi back will cost you over €100 so take note! I learned the hard way missing the train. Another tip if you are going to pompeii scavi, get the train to Serrento not Pompeii,as that one goes to modern pompeii. The hotel itself is in need of a bit of tender loving care and in its day was, I am sure majestic but the welcome and cleanliness made up for a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in main hotel as the rooms around the pool are in need of a bit of care, plus you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
158 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is possibly the best hotel in the area, it's right outside Pompei so you can visit without having the issues of parking. The hotel looks fantastic and the rooms are comfortable and not expensive. The best thing however is the friendly staff who will make your stay a good one. You can walk the five minute walk to the main Pompei entrance and have the most relaxed visit to Pompei possible. What's more they have an amazing pool which I believe is open from June onwards. The breakfast is too but sadly the restaurant while being ok didn't have the variety of menu options we would have liked to see, but Sorrento and Naples are less then 30 minutes away with plenty of amazing restaurants, while here we toured the Amalfi coast and ate at some great restaurants during a day out. Thank you for a great holiday stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We travelled to Pompeii as part of a two month Europe trip. This hotel is right next to the gates of the city ruins and we loved it. The hotel itself is clean and accommodating. The owners are very nice and helpful and the restaurant meals were very good. It is unfortunate that even though we had booked some time in advance and requested a room on a high floor, we arrived and found we were on the first floor. The hotel was not full (being April and just outside the season) and we were told we could not be moved as the next night the hotel would be almost booked out. It turned out that a coach load was arriving the next day (I worked in the tour industry for many years so I know that we had been "bumped" to accommodate the tour) - unfortunately, the coach load was a group of 10 year old children on a school trip. They screamed and yelled and ran up and down the corridors slamming doors and shouting above our room until after 4am in the morning. The adults travelling with them made no effort at all to control them. We had a 7 hour trip to our next destination the next day so having no sleep was not ideal

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbeck67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We chose this hotel as a base for visiting Pompeii, Vesuvius, Sorrento and Herculaneum and it could not have been better.Domenico and his family and all who work in the hotel made our stay memorable and comfortable.We accessed all the sights with ease and the breakfasts were great and evening meals outstanding.We were sad to leave this part of Italy where everyone we encountered was helpful and charming.

Room Tip: as we were there in May the pool was not open but it looked a fabulous pool for the summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aunty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

just returned from a four day break in pompei, this hotel is in an excellent location, close to port entrance to pompei, and two minute walk from train station.
My main reason for choosing hotel was due to pictures of the swimming pool, i knew my wife was going to take me on a bit of a yomp and the thought of a dip at the end of the day was quite appealing.
Sadly when we arrived the pool was empty, yes its april, but for 3 of the 4 days the weather was quite hot. if you are planning to stay here then check if the pool is going to be open.
All the staff were very friendly, breakfast was very nice and plenty of choice, decor is a bit dated but for a cheap stay, its ok.
No tea making facilities in rooms, but Carlo provided us with mugs and a jug to put hot water in from the kitchen, we went out and bought a kettle.
A word of warning, all of the cafes and restaurants nearby close quite early in the evening, usually around 7.30pm so you need to walk into pompei town center,(about 15 minutes), turn left at the bottom of the hill, dont go right, for an evening meal.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#4 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#9 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa dei Misteri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa dei Misteri

Property: Villa dei Misteri
Address: Via Villa Dei Misteri 11, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa dei Misteri 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Pompei Villa dei Misteri, near Pompeii excavations; a perfect location for tourist routes to Sorrento, Naples, the Amalfi Coast, Capri. The hotel has: swimming pool, restaurant, parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa dei Misteri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Dei Misteri Hotel Pompeii
Hotel Dei Misteri
Dei Misteri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing