We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting tour and great with kids!”

Tours of Pompeii with Lello & Co.
Ranked #1 of 47 Tours in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tours of Pompeii provides exceptional private and semi-private Pompeii Tours as well as tours and van and driver service all over the region including Capri, Amalfi, Positano and Naples.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Interesting tour and great with kids!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I highly recommend using this tour group. We planned a very last minute trip to Southern Italy with a stop in Pompeii and not only was it last minute but Christmas Eve and they happily booked a private guide for my husband and baby. We did a half day tour with Lello and he was great! He was very informative about the city and history behind everything. We learned tons and made it fun too! He caught on to what we were interested in and talked about those things. Not only was it a great history tour but what was really important to us was that he was great with our 7 month old baby and we didn't feel rushed or that the baby was interrupting. We took a timeout to feed and helped carry the stroller/trolley over all the steps, stairs and bumpy roads. I also loved that he offered to take pictures of us at highlight spots of the tour! He did a great job at that. He was also waiting and look for us when we drove up for the tour because we were a little lost of where to park. Great tour and very accommodating!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Calpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,464
    24
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winfield
Level Contributor
169 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Use a Local Guide”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Lello was waiting for us as we stepped off the train in Pompeii. The next few hours were truly magical as we learned about this city still being "discovered." Lello was magnificent. No question was too insignificant to answer, and even minute details were pointed out to us. Lello is definitely in the absolute top tier of tour guides anywhere in Italy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DuffleBag2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Tour with Lello”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I were in Europe for our 10 year anniversary and out of everything we did in London, Paris, and Rome this was the best. With the guidance of the tour company we took a train to Pompeii from Rome which worked out well. The tour with Lello was amazing thanks to his impressive knowledge and welcoming personality! From the novice to the history buff he will still teach you amazing things about Pompeii. We even had some other tourists offering to pay him to join our tour which is certainly a compliment to how good he is (he graciously said no). I wish we had time for a longer tour; it would have been well worth it. If you are coming to Pompeii a tour with Lello is a must!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jlparker0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Enjoyable and Educational Experience!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our tour of Pompeii & Herculaneum was outstanding. We started out with a pleasant bus ride, arriving at Pompeii to be greeted by our friendly guide, Lello, and we were informed that we were now his "family" (and before the end of the tour, we felt as though we were!). His presentation and knowledge was superb. We had no trouble keeping up with the group, even though I was one of the less physically able. It was an impressive and educational tour.
When we left Pompeii and proceeded to our next stop (lunch), we were shown how to drive a large bus through an area with narrow streets and oncoming automobiles, an entertaining and breath taking experience!
Our lunch at the vineyard was pleasant and delicious. The wines produced there, ample samples provided, were superb and the food was excellent! Our host was gracious, a 5-star experience.
The tour of Herculaneum was as good as the experience at Pompeii, runnning dialog again provided by Lello, our very knowledgeable and entertaining guide, and the head of our "family".
I can highly recommend this experience to anyone that is considering a tour of this type and especially if you have Lello as a guide!
We were returned to our hotel in Rome that evening, a tired, but happy group.
This was a great day in our Palma Ceia Presbyterian Chuch choir's trip to Rome!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tours of pompeii”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lello was fantastic showing us around in dreadful weather but still keeping our two children aged 10 and 11 interested - he really added colour to the whole experience and the children loved him.

Helpful?
1 Thank Piers V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tours of Pompeii with Lello & Co. also viewed

Pompeii, Province of Naples
Pompeii, Province of Naples
 

Been to Tours of Pompeii with Lello & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing