We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Friendly Stay”
Review of Costa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Costa Hotel
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The hotel is spotless, the food and wine good and the staff extremely helpful. We found it an ideal situation for getting around the local archeological sites accessable by the Circumvesuviana railway, that runs from Naples to Sorrento and has a Station less than five minutes a way. The Hotel will sell you tickets.
The area surrounding the Hotel is a residential area and is quiet. A couple of good coffee shops and a delicatessan on the street adjacent to the hotel and a supermarket a wee bit further south. The main road and trains are at the back of the hotel but do not intrude.
An ideal stay for those who like to organise their own time on holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms to the west will be quieter but will not have balconies.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Costa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 207 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

Very neat, clean and upmarket. Staff not only professional, but also friendly and extremely helpful! Pompei not a wealthy area and although surrounding area not the best, does not deduct from this great stay. Will sure stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakkie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a very good stay here, and the rates were very reasonable. The staff was extremely friendly, and the rooms were in super condition. They spent time with us to recommend places to eat and things to do, and were very accommodating to our requests. The breakfast was very skimpy (yogurt, pastries and cereal).

The only major concern was the location, which was about a 5 minute drive to the ruins, which was a 20EUR cab ride. However, they were willing on a few occasions to give us a ride. But, consider the additional costs of a cab when you purchase this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheScottster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Costa Hotel immaculate but unfortunately the surrounding area was a mess with rubbish in the streets and roads broken and potholed. Staff very pleasant but we had to rely on them to take us into the town and shops as the only transport seemed to be the railway (immediately behind the hotel, next to the motorway) which runs from Sorrento to Naples (via the ruins (fabulous)) which was two stops away. No in-room tea/coffee making facility, only one chair in the room, which only just made the size for a 4-star. Had to ask (and pay extra for) eggs. No fruit. Very basic. Not what we expect from a 4star hotel and we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosemaryColbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I toured parts of Italy in July, 2012. On our visit to Pompei , we stayed at the Hotel Costa, Via Ponte Persica 57. The boutique hotel is conveniently located one train stop from historic Pompei . The hotel provides excellent meals using fresh local ingredients. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, beautifully decorated and have patios which are a great place to rest after a long day of walking the streets of the archaeological site.
Best of all, the hotel staff is eager to please and always working to provide the type of service which one would expect to find at top hotels in larger cities. I credit that to Rosanna Di Somma and Franco Marchesano—these two managers took personal responsibility for: our wellbeing, enjoyment of our tour, and our stay at their hotel. We were treated as if we were guests in their home. I highly recommend a stay at Hotel Costa to anyone visiting Pompei.

Room Tip: Check to see if rooms with balconies are available.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a wonderfull time. Such friendly, patient people. Excellent for visits to pompeii and sorrento. Food is very tasty full of local produce we think. Definately will stay here again. Surrounding area not full of shops but there is a deli selling bread cold meats cheese wine etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G4jto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The Costa Hotel is so charming. The owners have recently purchased the hotel. They remodeled and updated the entire building. The hotel is decorated with exquisite Mediterranean style- including colorful ceramic tile floors in the lobby and balconies with flower boxes on the upper floor. After traveling for 17 days in Italy, we were finally able to relax in comfort. The hotel is sparkling clean with modern bathrooms and window views of the mountains. There is a train stop within walking distance - three minutes away - that brings you to Pompeii. The restaurant is excellent - we had one of the best meals ever there. Breakfast was included and had a good variety of choices. And, the hotel also provides Wireless internet. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDivaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
1.6 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 26 in Pompeii
1,048 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 26 in Pompeii
555 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Maiuri
Hotel Maiuri
#6 of 26 in Pompeii
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Hotel

Address: Via Ponte Persica 57, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range: $90 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Costa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing