We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plan on getting lost” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scavi di Pompei

Scavi di Pompei
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.91*
and up
Ancient Pompeii Guided Small-Group Tour
Ranked #1 of 88 things to do in Pompeii
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Home of the world's most famous volcanic disaster when Mount Vesuvius erupted in 79 A.D., Pompeii is now a significant archeological site that provides an amazing glimpse into the daily life of an average Roman town over two thousand years ago.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
466 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Plan on getting lost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

The extent of the site is amazing. If you are doing it on your own, even with the help of a guidebook, plan on getting lost at least a few times. But with so much to see, it really doesn't matter - you eventually will get back on track. For a first time visitor, I would recommend the use of a guide. There is a cafeteria in the site, so plan on taking a relaxing break.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,310
    3,128
    826
    294
    153
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
608 reviews
366 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 758 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This is a must visit while in the area. Pompeii ruins are absolutely incredible and vast. We also downloaded Rick Steve's audio guide, but honestly this a place where you need a professional guide to really appreciate all its history. This place is huge and has previously mentioned there are no signs whatsoever so have fun losing yourself in Pompeii. Close your eyes and let your imagination run wild.

After our Pompeii visit, we booked a tour to Mt Vesuvius. We got to see in one day all the destruction Vesuvius did to the surrounding areas, just incredible!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SylvieFrancois444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond Terrace, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Interesting ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

This place is huge, so don't do what I did and try to fit it into a 1-2 hour visit. It's so well preserved that I had to keep reminding myself that it was over 2,000 years old. Private guides are available at the entrance - I advise that you avail yourself of one for a truly memorable experience. Take your time - there is a lot to see and a lot of ground to cover. There is a café and restrooms inside the complex, as well as several restaurants outside on the way to the train station.

I visited Pompeii on a day trip from Rome. Catch a Frecciarossa (fast train) to Naples (1hr 10 minutes, ticket in standard class purchased on the day cost 86 euros for a return ticket with reserved seats - if you book in advance at the Trenitalia website you can pay as little as 19 euros). You arrive in Napoli Centrale. Out of the station and down the stairs (or escalator) you find the local train station of Garibaldi, where you catch your train to Pompeii (platform 3). You need to look for the Sorrento train. The stop you need is Pompeii Scavi. Unfortunately on the day of my visit all the trains seemed to be going to Poggiomarino, which actually isn't a problem. You just catch this train and get off at Torre de Annunciata, cross to the correct platform and continue to Pompeii Scavi (the next stop). The site entrance is about 100 yards from the train station. Trains to/from Pompeii Scavi run every half hour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful Pompeii”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

It is true what they say about Pompeii being a city frozen in time. The streets, shops, houses and public buildings say their story. It is too bad that it lacks plates with site markings and details. When we arrived there was just one obnoxious guy offering guided tours so we skipped him and went solo with a Rick Steve's Guidebook, which was better than the offered guide but lacked coverage of some interesting places. I advise that you come equipped with nice detailed description of the different attractions and a large map that you can read easily and quickly. Unfortunately the House of the Vetti with its erotic frescoes remains closed and you can only peek through the main entrance, but the there are still many treasures to explore. Definitely worth dedicating at least 3 hours.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelbaLajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Really worth using a tour company/guide as the ruins of Pompeii are absolutely huge and you would miss so many interesting things without them. It is a fantastic feeling to walk down the cobbled streets and cross them using the stepping stones knowing that they are the exact same streets and stones that people walked upon nearly two thousand years ago. It is like stepping back in time but realising simultaneously how advanced, civilised and cultured these people really were. Our guide gave us a fantastic mix of history, information, humour and such energy. I was enthralled. No audio guide could have done that for me and it would not have been the wonderful experience that it was. The only disappointment for me was how they have removed the artefacts, which would really have helped to make the buildings come alive in my mind and remind me that this was a vibrant city up until its last moments.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yevragca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scavi di Pompei also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Ercolano, Province of Naples
 

Been to Scavi di Pompei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing