We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to tears”
Review of Camping Spartacus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pompeii
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Spartacus
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Pompeii
roma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“close to tears”
Reviewed August 18, 2010

we came there with the biggest smile on our faces and left nearly crying.
the room was nice, clean but very small. everything was fine and we enjoyed our selves company but the bad thing was the service!!!!!!!!!!!!!! to begin with, we were informed on the telephone of something that was absoloutly opposite of what realy was. when we came we were told that there weren't any rooms availible but after a bit of talking we were told to come back later that day. in the meanwhile we called to check if there was a room available, and they said "we are completely full". anyway we came back and got our room. we were informed that we had to leave the room at 10am but when we came down to payments we saw written at the desk that the room had to be left at 11 am.
In all, the receptionist was very cold and unwelcoming and we almost felt like we weren't costumers.
greetings, and with all our hearts we hope that you guys will lift your head up and swallow your strange pride. bye

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanieleG89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    39
    26
    21
See reviews for
43
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Cumbria, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Staying in the high of summer (early August) we made a pre-booking for our large tent but when we arrived midday we were shown a number of places that were just not big enough. We ended up being placed on a pitch alongside a caravan and had no option than to block the entrance for our fellow travellers.
The site is within easy reach of the ruins, and a 10 minute walk into the centre of town (less than 5 minutes to a supermarket) however the road & railway noise is above an acceptable level.
We had booked to stay for 4 nights, however after the 2nd night the ants had got the better of us, all over the inside & outsides of tents, vehicles & the washrooms. We had no option but to cut short our stay and spent half a day at the next site killing ants. Over seven days later, and many cans of insect spray, even back in England live ants were still being found inside the van.
Also worth noting is that wild dogs roam the streets of Pompeii, a number of times the dogs came onto the site, having young children it was a cause for concern.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CollinsFamilyGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompeii hotels

Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Immediately across the street/highway from south entrance to Pompei scavi, friendly and helpful management, only E9 for a campsite but cozy spaces, fellow tourists were frequently noisy and inconsiderate until the wee hours, good showers, laundry but no lines for drying, wifi but no computer terminal, pizzeria opened for the season during my stay, supermercato is 250m down the street. Stayed four nights - also touring Capri and the Amalfi Coast - because the place felt like home, in spite of its short-comings.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We had booked 2 chalets, from the outside appeared very nice but on the inside very different. One smelt as if it had been smoked in for many years and a draw had a large hole. The other was not as bad but was very tired looking with cigarette ash in the draws, obviously my things stayed in my case. The shop was closed and the internet not working, though I was allowed to use the office computer to send an email to our next destination (we were touring Italy). My biggest concern is the use of the Le casette next to us which are similar to the chalets and appeared to have frequent guests, coming and going throughout the day and evening with staff ensuring bedding was changed between visits. The web site said we would have a change of towels daily, in the three days we stayed they were not changed and the largest towel was no bigger than a hand towel. Would not visit again which is a shame because the location is very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Camping Spartacus is a comfortable camping site in Pompeii, located just across the road from the entrance to the excavations. The location is excellent - easily accessible from the Autostrada, as close as you can get to the excavations and there's a good supermarket about a five minutes walk up the road.
The campground in general is reasonably well maintained, and the sleeping facilities are good - we stayed in a chalet and our daughter had a Chiocciola (caravan) and both of them were in good condition. The showers in the rooms were fine - plenty of hot water, although there weren't enough towels to begin with (more were supplied upon request). There is a railway line that runs behind the campground which is rather noisy during the day - but the trains don't seem to run at night, so this was not a problem.
There is a laundry room with washer and dryer - very useful! The public showers for the tent dwellers, although we didn't use them, seemed to be very clean and tidy.
The one drawback was that despite being specifically mentioned on their website - none of the other facilities were available. The cooking facilities were "out of order", the internet was "broken", the grocery shop and pizzeria were "closed"...etc. Maybe it's because we were there in October - but there was an air of "end of the season" about the place (although the campground was pretty full most of the time).
In short - nice campground, great location, lot's of potential for being perfect if they would put a little more effort into the facilities.

  • Liked — Overall ambience, location, rooms
  • Disliked — A lot of the facilities were closed/out of order
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WanderingFungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pompeii
0.9 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
1,524 reviews
10.5 mi away
Villaggio Santa Fortunata Campogaio
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#10 of 25 in Pompeii
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camping Zeus
Camping Zeus
#19 of 26 in Pompeii
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Spartacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Spartacus

Property: Camping Spartacus
Address: Via Plinio 117, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Pompeii
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Camping Spartacus Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing