We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but very tired site”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping Spartacus

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pompeii
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Spartacus
Ranked #17 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Pompeii
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location but very tired site”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here one night based on the reviews and yes it is in a sensational location for access to to the Pompeii ruins.
It is a very tired and run down site and the train goes right past the rear of the site regularly from 5 am through until 11 pm.the shower block is tired and the washing machines have seen better days.
Very average staff,who did not seemed to be too motivated to make our stay a good one.
There are other sites in the area you may want to try.
It was also a good place to stay for its proximity to MT Vesuvius.

Room Tip: The cabins are right next to the train track and only separated by a concrete wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    38
    38
    25
    21
See reviews for
42
64
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

A 'campsite' with cabins and small caravans to rent opposite Pompeii scavi (the ruins of world fame). small grassy pitches with electricity and clean functional showers, toilets and sinks. There is a washing machine and dryer for a nominal sum too. We stayed in our VW camper for three nights spending a day in the ruins and a trip to the top of Vesuvius (ticket office opposite the campsite). The staff (Archangelo in particular); were the most helpful and kind people we had the pleasure to meet in just over three weeks touring Europe. The site could'nt be better placed for seeing Pompeii. Should we return to Italy we will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spuktoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed in a small air conditioned bungalow (Casette) for 2 nights while we were visiting Mount Vesuvius, Pompeii Ruins and Herculaneum Ruins.

The bungalow could more appropriately be described as a hut, only large enough to accommodate a double bed and small table, with a small en-suite shower, toilet and sink.

Our bungalow was situated directly next to the train track. I'm quite a heavy sleeper so this didn't disturb me too much, however my partner didn't get as good a sleep because of it (if booking here it might be an idea to ask for accommodation further away from the train track).

The air conditioning was also stuck on a very cold setting so it was either too cold or too hot in the bungalow and we had to take it in turns during the night to turn it off/on when the extremes in temperature became intolerable (I think we were just unlucky with this).

On a positive note tho, all the staff were very friendly and helpful (a family run campsite) and went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The onsite pizzeria was very reasonably priced and offered very good pizzas.

The location was also very good. We were just over the road from the entrance to Pompeii ruins, the train station (which we used to visit Herculaneum Ruins as we were told it is all but impossible to find car parking nearby), and a few other nearby pizzerias/restaurants (outside the entrance to the ruins). There was a large supermarket only 200m down the road, and it was only a relatively short drive away from Mount Vesuvius.

Overall if you are on a budget, then this is good value for money. We would consider staying here again (however would make sure we asked for somewhere further away from the train track!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't next to the train track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaonyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompeii, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We where here in juli 2011 for 10 days.
Its a nice litle camping whit all the things you need for a camping vacation.
We staid in a big bungalow, me, my wife and our little boy.
The staff is verry nice and helpfull.
The most we enjoyd the swimmingpool thats open from 2 pm at 8 pm.
Camping Spartacus is on a nice location in Pompei, near the "circum vesuviana" a train that brings you to the most nice places of the region Napoli.
This year we will come back at 3 juli untill 16 juli.
We can't wait!!
Greets Fam. Cherillo

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Franco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

The ruins were cool. But whatever you do, do NOT stay in Pompei. It's a second world country. Drunks passed out on the train. Credit card machines out of order. WiFi never worked but no refund. Locals trying to rip off tourists. Train and highway noise until all hours. We made this mistake. Learn from my mistake and stay in Sorrento.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pompeii hotels

Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Pre-booked a pitch for our VW camper website. Chosen solely on proximity to Pompei. Used to UK club sites so was a bit taken aback by size of pitch and closeness to neighbours. Right next to all amenities, pool, restaurant & ablution block. Just fitted in van & awning and had great 3 nights using pool and eating in site restaurant. Very friendly and informal. Pool was smaller than expected but great to be able to use it whenever. Children loved the 'pop-up' pool and preferred this site to our next nearer Rome despite the bigger pool and on-site entertainment. Would definitely return if we come back to area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank aphrodite330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here to use as a base and location is great. Right outside Pompei ruins and only a bus ride away to the volanco and also cheap and regular trains to Sorrento ...
Great base, a little quiet in the evenings however pefrect for a couple.
Campsite clean and friendly. We stayed in a caravan however moved after 2 nights as kept getting bit and wanted air con but they were really nice and moved us striaght away!

Great for families and a great location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ewey06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#9 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#7 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iside
Hotel Iside
#10 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#19 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Spartacus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Spartacus

Property: Camping Spartacus
Address: Via Plinio 117, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Pompeii
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Camping Spartacus Hotel Pompeii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing