We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with great potential, but neglected and run by arogant person.”
Review of Villa Julia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Julia
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lets start with the good things:
- Free WiFi.
- New and nice furniture.
- Nice garden in the back and a large balcony (but see the issues in the following).

Unfortunately, there are some severe drawbacks, as listed in the following:
- Terrible and disguisting bathroom! Only shower and the water temperature fluctuates during the shower from too cold to burning hot. The water flow is too weak. Broken parts.
- Dirty and poor maitanance all over (broken plastic furniture on the balcony, mold in the bathroom, etc.).
- Beware of the local siesta, because nobody will let you in during this time (in spite of what is published). We arrived at 1:30 and waited in front of the gate till 3:55. We called and they told us that they will come in 15 minutes, but this did not happen. The person who came at 3:55 told us that he does not care of what is published or promissed, and there is no chance that he comes during the siesta.
- Very arogant and unpleasant person at reception. Don't bother to ask him any questions. We asked for directions and he replied: "Listen carefully because I'll lell you only once". He spoke so fast that we did not understand, but his atitude was such that we were afarid to ask again.
- Very difficult to find the address (even with GPS) and nobodyb there can help. It is located in a long and very narrow road, where only one car can pass.
- Walking along this street is dangerous, because it is so narrow. Nobody walks there, so use your car.
- We booked a room for 3 people and it was very small.
- No power sockets for charging your phone/laptop. You have to disconnect the lamp.
- No safe in the room.
- The lamps are glued to the tables, so you cannot move them. It gives an impression of a cheap hotel where they do not trust their guests.
- The breakfast is an Italian style. Small variety and not enough products. If you do not wake up early they might run out of many products.
- Distance to Pompey ruins is 35 minutes, not 20 minutes as published.
- I am not sure but my impression is that the neighberhood is not a safe one. All houses have heavy gates, alarms and barking doogs. Most windows are with iron lattices.
- They do your room every day, but they do not change sheets and towels. No soop or shampo are provided, just some liquid soap in a dispenser.

My final conclusion is that if possible, try to avoid this hotel. If you must stay there, minimize the interactions with the staff, try to fix the broken parts by yourself and enjoy.

Room Tip: take only the rooms on the 2nd floor, which have a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isrgbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Villa Julia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

This villa looks fantastic on the web site but please BEWARE! It is a 15 euro, one way, taxi journey from the station - if you can get one. There is only space for 2 taxis outside the station and everytime we came out of the station there was no taxi in sight.
We were aware of their closure policy 1-4 but as our flight from England landed at 11.00 we felt we would be fine. The bus to the station took ages to load as no one had the right change and it waited until even the standing room was full. Across to the station and on to the circumvesuvia which stopped at every station it passed through. Thinking we might be slightly late we rang and left a message at the villa to say we might be 10 minutes late.
Eventually we got to Pompei, no taxi, but we were pitied and offered a ride in a private car. We arrived at the villa at 1.10 - gates locked. We rang the owner, our driver spoke to him. He refused to come back and said we would have to wait on the roadside till 4.00. Our driver was so annoyed he said he would take us to a hotel in town where we would be welcomed. He did and we were. Fortunately our holiday then started to improve, no thanks to Villa Julia.
Apart from the back of the Pompei site itself this villa is a long way out, and as said before, an expensive taxi journey. Not suitable for anyone without a car.
The owner contacted us later in the day and when we complained again, his comment was "Rules is rules." That might be true but not our idea of good service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Glynis55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I don't think the photographs on the website show how nice the Villa Julia is. There is a wonderful view of Vesuvius from the lovely big garden. We had 2 adjoining rooms and a lovely big balcony. Breakfast was nice and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. I would definitely go back and recommend it highly. It was quite difficult to find and I would recommend that you take very good directions with you. Also it would be advisable to perhaps have a car, though I suppose it is only a short taxi ride from the station. Secure and quiet, though very quick and easy to get into central Pompeii.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at this seven roomed ex-family villa. Our car GPS was extremely useful in finding the location.
We arrived at 5pm and the owner gave us keys for the electronic security gate, the front door and our room. From our balcony we had a marvellous view of Vesuvius. We had chosen this B&B because of its central location to Naples, Pompei and the Amalfi Coast.
In this, it didn’t disappoint.
The room itself was spacious and heated with an air-con unit (it was December and cold). An extra blanket was supplied on request.
We were given maps of the area and a voucher to park all day at the Zeus Campsite in Pompei for €5……. and, at €2.50 per hour, this is a bargain. We used this for our visit to the ruins and for a day in Naples by train……the station is close to the parking (take care to use the correct train line on your return).
Given the time of year, the breakfast room was cold. Breakfast itself is very Italian but the owner supplied us with rolls and cheese/salami when we requested this.
Unfortunately, the advertised internet wasn’t working but the owner let me use his 3G connection on his ipad.. At €50 per night we were happy with the Villa Julia.

Room Tip: A Vesuvius view if possible.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhbrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

The inn and grounds are indeed a nice oasis, but can be difficult to get to. I'm very good with maps, but so few streets in modern Pompei had street signs that I had to get out and ask directions half a dozen times - and had to use my limited Italian every time. There are two ways to get there, and the scary, single-lane approach is the secondary one.
At the inn our night was noisy because a Spanish family in the room next door had a challenging child (as we saw the next morning at breakfast). Breakfast was just okay. We, too, got caught up in a situation where I had left our dossier with reservation info in their office, and had to wait around during the three hours (1-4 pm) that no one is there for them to return. Doesn't sound like much, but it's irksome.
We dealt with a young man in the office who was quite helpful; he didn't have much English but we could both speak French assez bien. Reference an earlier review; I don't see how one could walk to the ruins in 10 minutes - it seemed to us that that would only get you to the locked rear side of the ruins. If you have limited time in Pompei, I'd suggest one of the hotels closest to the entrance to the ruins.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

On a narrow lane at the back of the old site, with a view of Vesuvius. Small but pleasant rooms, better than average breakfast (eat in or outside) and very helpful staff. We were given a note to give to a car park next to the site entrance which gave us a day's parking for a very low rate. Opposite the entrance to the site is a railway station from which we went into Naples (and could have gone to Sorrento). An excellent location and good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 007PBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Hotel Julia.

The service was excellent and when you are on the hotel grounds it feels like you are secluded from everything.

Our balcony had a great view of Mt. Vesuvius and the hotel grounds seemed to go on and on forevre as they are connected to an orchard that never seemed to end and allowed for a nice peaceful walk.

We all really ejoyed the breakfasts and in fact I think that the bread that I had with my breakfast was the best bread that I have ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeaconBrodie276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.8 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#3 of 26 in Pompeii
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pompei Resort
Pompei Resort
#5 of 26 in Pompeii
1,369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Pace Pompei
Hotel Pace Pompei
#8 of 26 in Pompeii
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 26 in Pompeii
1,561 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa dei Misteri
Villa dei Misteri
#20 of 26 in Pompeii
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Vivinatura
Agriturismo Vivinatura
#9 of 56 in Pompeii
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Julia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Julia

Address: Via Vicinale Giuliana 4, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Pompeii
Price Range: $59 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Julia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Julia is a farmhouse/b&b that stretches for about 14.000 square meters in the hearth of ancient Pompeii. The Villa is surrounded by a charming garden and by a campaign rich in citrus fruits, nuts and vineyards in the atmosphere of mystery and fascination for the nearby presence of archaeological excavations of Pompeii and for the enchanting scenery offered by Vesuvio. In an unreal silence the villa Julia is the ideal place for lovers of the nature, relaxation and culture. *** Contact us for last minute offers *** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Julia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing