We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel, but not easy to find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pompei Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pompei Resort
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but not easy to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Hindsight is a wonderful thing! Pompei has 3 train stations, we arrived at Pompei Scavi, bad move, got lost & took over an hour to find the hotel & that was only by luck finding the hotel's shuttle bus. From Naples train station we should have got off at Pompei Sancturino which is in the centre of Pompei & a 20 min walk to the hotel (if you know where you are going). The hotel is on the very Eastern edge of Pompei, adjoining Scafati & on the southern road which appears to be mostly industrial area with car showrooms & garages. It's very run down & the last place you'd expect a hotel to be. Unfortunately it wasn't on Google street view, which made it harder to find. That said, the hotel was lovely & all of the staff where very helpful & friendly. As others have said, on the few occasions where we where up in time for breakfast, it was very basic, but again the service was excellent. Had dinner in the hotel one night & was ok, but the vegetables are served cold which we found unusual, but the desert could have been on Master Chef it was that well presented. Mosquito's where a big problem, so be warned! Overall great value for money & would stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peladon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    421
    132
    27
    23
See reviews for
277
538
29
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day visit to Pompei, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pompei Resort hotel. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, were very friendly and spoke good English! Breakfast was good and room very clean, could just about see mount Vesuvius from the balcony ;) The hotel was a little way out of the main square but still an ideal place to stay to visit the ruins which were only a 15 min walk away - so no need for taxis. It was also only about a 10 minute walk into the main square with shops and restaurants, and the walk felt very safe. The hotel reception booked us on trip to Mount Vesuvius, we would recommend this as it was cheaper than the tours offered outside the ruins entrance, and the tram picked us up & dropped us back right outside the hotel. Overall we had a fantastic break!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel visit was the first of many on our tour of Europe. Aside from the difficulty in finding the hotel (streets have no signs and our European GPS was no help), we enjoyed our stay here. The room was very nice with a balcony and a wonderful bathroom. We had a lovely dinner on our arrival, which was expensive but we were too tired to venture out that late. Included breakfast was enjoyable. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caf49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We travelled as a couple to Pompeii for 3 nights and stayed at the Pompeii Resort Hotel. The hotel was further than we thought from the train station Pompeii Scavi,it was around 3km which we ended up walking and it was difficult to find, it is much wiser to jump in a taxi to this hotel which costs around 11 euros. Once there the hotel offer a free shuttle bus to and from the ruins which was an excellent service as no other hotel in the area offers this.

The staff at the hotel were absolutely lovely, kind and helpful, Ornella Gramaglua and her team were professional, approachable and polite on every level.
The room was comfortable with a large bed and fresh linen everyday. We slept very well indeed.
We ate in the hotel restaurant every night as the food was very reasonable and delicious. We had 4 courses plus wine for 18 euros each, offering a different set menu every night, which was excellent value and the restaurant manager was brilliant, again so friendly and approachable.
Breakfast was very sweet, cakes galore plus the usual cereals, and continental meats, cheese etc. Food was fresh and the restaurant was clean and pleasant.

Overall we could not fault this hotel and would recommend it to anybody planning a stay in Pompeii.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivienne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value , definitely 4 * standards rooms very very well equipped even toothbrush & paste ! No tea/coffee making but room service prompt & not expensive. Free car park .Staff very helpful & friendly , hotel exceeded my expectations it is the place to stay if visiting pompeii within walking distance of ruins , restraunts osteria etc

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jazztrack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Had overnight stay at the resort. Found the resort to be very clean, check-in was easy, free wifi was great and room/facilities were excellent. Highly recommend it for the price. Only negative is that there is nowhere in the hotel (or surrounding area) to buy bottle of drinks or snacks.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Calypso501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

On arrival we were upgraded to a suite which was a lovely start. The rooms are modern, brightly coloured - quite kitch and the bathroom has a capsule-like super shower with jets everywhere.

The staff are very helpful - we had a problem with the safe and it was fixed immediately. After Pompei we were heading to Sorrento and Capri and the guy who works nights gave us lots of information and when we came down for breakfast he presented us lots of print outs from the internet, ferry timetables and a rail timetable booklet.

The hotel is about a 1km walk to the ruins and there aren't many places nearby to eat - most restaurants are nearer to the ruins so either eat when you exit the ruins, or eat at the hotel. After walking all day we ate at the hotel and had a good meal with no long walk home.

This is a friendly, comfortable hotel that is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Innspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pompeii hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Forum Pompei
Hotel Forum Pompei
#1 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Diana Pompei
Hotel Diana Pompei
#2 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
1.7 mi away
Costa Hotel
Costa Hotel
#3 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel del Sole
Hotel del Sole
#8 of 25 in Pompeii
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bosco de' Medici
Bosco de' Medici
#5 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Visagi
Hotel Visagi
#6 of 25 in Pompeii
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pompei Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pompei Resort

Property: Pompei Resort
Address: Viale Unita' d'Italia 16/A, 80045 Pompeii, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pompeii
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Pompeii
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pompei Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10-minute stroll from Pompeii's ruins, stylish and modern Pompei Resort offers a convenient location near the motorway, the main railway station and the Circumvesuviana line. A free scheduled shuttle takes guests to the town centre. The luxurious rooms are beautifully decorated and well-equipped, containing hydromassage showers and saunas as well as standard amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Pompei Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing