We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best pizza in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pizzeria Starita a Materdei

Pizzeria Starita a Materdei
Ranked #27 of 2,765 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best pizza in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

the best pizza in the world. One of the most delicious pizza in Naples. right prices and quick waiters .. all great11

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tyna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,934
    1,664
    528
    168
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We visited this pizzeria on recommendations off trip advisor.we found it fairly easily the staff were friendly.we ate early and there seemed to be a lot of staff.the pizza was very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank picopeteHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

One of the most delicious pizza in Naples. Great. Quick waiters, right prices. Pizza Stock is my favourite one.,

Helpful?
Thank Cecco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Why is this now my favorite pizzeria in Napoli?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pizza at its base is a very simple food. Why has Starita displaced Pellone, another wonderful pizzeria in a city full of them, as my favorite? It helped that Starita is famous for its role in classic Neapolitan film; that the 400cl beers come in elegant, unique Starita glasses that I wanted to steal (but didn't); that my amica Napoletana ordered us seemingly strange pizzas which turned out to be stunning flavor combinations: the Montanara and especially the Noci e Fiorilli; that I also got to try the Pizza Zingara, which is more conventional, with a mouth-wateringly perfect mix of veggies and cheese; that their trademark Angioletti are simple, tasty, gimmick-free antipasti; that SSC Napoli was playing (and won 2-1 on the road against Fiorentina, always a difficult proposition); and finally that the proprietor is a principal member of the Associazione Pizzauoioli Napoletani (with good reason, judging from the flavors he is turning out). A must visit off the beaten tourist path for those who want the best in Neapolitan pizza (no resvs - be prepared to wait, the locals already know!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Salsasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The world's best pizza?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Napoli supposedly has the best pizza in the world and we were advised that this is the best pizzaria in Napoli so that makes it the world's best pizza, right? We have to admit that we've never had better. The pistachio pizza was exquisite, but so was the more traditional Margherita. Friendly service too. And very good value.

Helpful?
Thank Farnham-Family-of-4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Starita a Materdei also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Pizzeria Starita a Materdei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing