We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Restaurant ”

Da Donato dal 1956 Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria
Ranked #46 of 3,596 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed June 11, 2019 via mobile

As a group of 4 adults we visited this restaurant twice during our stay in Naples.
It is located just away from the bustle of Piazza Garibaldi in a side street.

The staff are friendly and the service is efficient. The menu is in Italian so it helps if you have rudimentary understanding, but the staff will help.

So in two nights and 4 different meals none of us were disappointed, although the seafood linguine probably was the best.

The pricing is reasonable and it has a good wine choice.

It is popular so book to avoid disappointment, if we had we would have eaten there 3 times, but they were fully booked the first time we tried to go there.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Q4975KArobertl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,782)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 2,782 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2019

This was no doubt the best restaurant we experienced in our 10 days holiday in Italy. Anything we tried from the menu was outstanding and the service very friendly. If we return to Napoli, this will be the first place we will think of. Thank you very much.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank JosuePoeira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

We have booked the table in this family pizzeria for dinner under the recommendations in TripAdvisor. And that was the correct decision. The restaurant was full of local people which I think won’t go to the bad place. The Napoli pizzas differ from those we have had in Rome, but were really good.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Palych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2019

Not a pleasant experience. The waiting staff kept on ignoring us. Forgot to bring us the wine and when told, after the starter. they did not apologise. Pizzas came at different times. Forgot to bring us cutlery. They ignored us completely after we finished our pizzas. We asked for the bill and never came back to take the payment. We had to go to the till. Not the same treatment for the girls or other Italians next to us who were full of attention for.Treated as insignificant and unimportant tourists.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ivanromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

My wife and i took the train from Rome to Sorento and had to stop in Naples. We decided to stay in Naples for lunch. This restaurant distance from the train station was ideal. As soon as we stepped in the restaurant we knew this was a Gem. When locals are having lunch there it’s a great sign that food is great. We weren’t disappointed. We both had pizza and a bottle of wine for 29 euros. Ingredients and freshness was impressive. The food was probably the best pizza i had in my trips to italy.

We will stop again on our way back. Worth stopping , store your luggage at the train station and walk to have lunch at this family owned restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank pascall618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Donato dal 1956 Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Da Donato dal 1956 Antica Trattoria e Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing