We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down the best pizza in Naples!”
Review of Di Matteo

Di Matteo
Ranked #90 of 2,914 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $9
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Pendino
Rome
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Hands down the best pizza in Naples!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Slowly but surely I have been trying all the most famous pizzeria in Naples and for several years this has definatley been my favorite. The pizzeria only services marinara (red sauce) or margherita (mozzerella) pizzas in a very small location. The pizzas are cheap (EUR4.50) arrive piping hot and melt in your mouth. When I visited, my boyfriend and I each got a pizza. I was full after the pizza but it was so good I was tempted to get another.... can't wait to go back. A word of caution- don't go around lunch or dinner time on the weekends when the wait to get a table will exceed 2 hours.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusiBarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,842
    1,641
    556
    254
    202
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Some of the best pizza I have ever eaten. Chased it with an ice cold beer. Yum! It was also very reasonably priced! A happy experience all around!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CrozetDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magione, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the Top Pizzerie of Naples”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

I have been going to Di Matteo for a pizza since 1985. The quality has never changed. Having a pizza here is an unforgettable experience. The best pizza ever.

Helpful?
Thank Giacomo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Good Pizza”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Visited in November 2012. Via Tribunali is an interesting street with many restaurants. Pizzzeria Di Matteo has two floors. It is easy to overlook so watch the numbers. They serve take away foods at the front door with the pizza oven right behind. Margarita pizza and prosciutto version are both 3.50 euros and are both delicious. There was no cover or service charge. Pizza was the best we had in southern Italy for the two weeks we traveled. Highly recommended.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank JR2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magnifico :-)”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Di Matteo needs no recommendation from a guide book, the crowd of locals outside the take-away serve-over speaks volumes. Inside, to the left, there are a few tables for a sit-in pizza. Prices between 3 - 6 Euros an 18" pizza, you'll struggle to finish one yourself (a challenge, especially if you've also had an antipasti - which are HUGE in portion size). All the pizza's are simply delicious. If you eat in only 1 place in all of Naples, make it Di Matteo and you will not be disappointed! YUM.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elley1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Matteo also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Di Matteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing