We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carafa di Maddaloni B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carafa di Maddaloni B&B
Ranked #88 of 603 Naples B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
hull
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were treated like family by the owners.they couldn't do enough for you.very friendly and a lovely clean room. We really enjoyed our stay. Would recommend to anyone visiting naples. All the sights you needed to visit we're within easy walking distance,and the metro station is a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picopeteHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    33
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
22
61
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

As a professional musician, I chose this hotel from a list of centrally- located hotels in Naples. Upon arrival, we discovered in fact, that this site had been the former palace of the powerful Carafa family and artists such as Casanova and Cariatidi contributed to the Baroque magnificence therein. Pergolesi was in the employ of this family and musical performances became a part of the life of the palazzo. World War ii devastated parts of the building, but this is being carefully restored, and the Carafa di Maddaloni hotel has created a beautiful B&B and continues to promote musical performance on their site. The ancient halls have resonated with the sounds of great musicians of the 20th century including Nikita Magaloff, Arthur Rubinstein and Jascha Heifetz. The Carafa di Maddaloni is so well situated, that it is merely steps away from all that is historic Naples - Spaccanapoli with its shops, pizzarias and historic palaces and churches. The entrance to Subterranean Naples is nearby - underground caverns begun 5.000 years ago and most recently used in WWII and is a must for those interested in history. What a find! We'll stay again. Thank you to the kind and helpful hosts at Carafa di Maddaloni! Mi fatto molto piacere di trovarti! Grazie!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15Katie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

A tour guide suggested this place to me through another guide. It's a good thing he told me, "the outside is not very nice, but inside it's beautiful." Of course, the outside is partly a reflection of Naples itself - black soot everywhere. But once you locate this B&B, walk by the construction site and up the dark, stone staircases, it's all worth it. It's a beautiful historic building with wonderful people who work there. My room was great and I loved having a balcony overlooking busy Via Toledo. I would often go to sleep to the din of the outdoor traffic and pedestrians. I think I had the largest room and not all the rooms overlook this street - I would not have enjoyed it so much had it not been this room. As for the staff, Suzi, the woman who works there in the morning, is wonderful! She is very personable and helpful with what you may want to do or buy in Naples. Signor Alberto is very charming, down-to-earth and he has a lot of knowledge to share. Breakfast was wonderful - they will make the eggs as you like them. When I go back to Naples, I will definitely seek this place out again - for comfort, hospitality and for its central location.

Room Tip: As I said, if you want to have a lively view, get a room overlooking Via Toledo. If noise bothers y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaspare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I can't really start to explain this b&b in a positive way, as i found nothing particularly positive about it, nor the location it is situated.

I guess to start from the beginning would be best. I booked directly with the B&B, who agreed to arrange transport to collect us from the airport. I sent them confirmation of our flight number and arrival time, to which I received an email to agree collection. We arrived at Naples airport on time, and made out way out to the arrivals area, in search of our driver, no one to be seen. After 10 minutes we decided to try and call the hotel on the 2 phone numbers we had from them on an email. Neither worked.

After another 20 minutes we were started to get a little worried, so tried the numbers again, incase we had dialled them wrong, and again they didnt work. As we had agreed to pay for the collection, we didnt want to jump in a cab to find at the hotel we would be charged twice, but it became very apparent to us that no one was coming to collect us, so we did exactly that.

Both my Partner and I were looking forward to staying at this b&b as it seemed idyllic, traditional and quite romantic (in the description & pictures).

The cab driver drove us through Naples which took nearly an hour & a half, due to traffic, but in some ways this allowed us to see exactly what Naples was like. (Raising eyebrows to each other in the back of the car and gripping onto anything that was worth a few quid to be quite honest). The sides of the streets were stacked high with refuse, there was gangs of lads and men hanging about looking menacing, and well it was quite a dirty place.,

The taxi finally dropped us off at the end of an alley way and pointed in to it....? We made our way up the alley, a little bemused, and passing a great amount of scaffolding emerged the other end in a busy street, not seeing any sign of the b&b.

We popped in to a little shop and asked in there, and they pointed back in to the alley, so again we walked in looking for signs, and saw nothing. Eventually we clocked a little old man doing some masonry work on this old building and asked him, and he pointed into the scaffolding. We walked through this big arch, under the scaffolding and into what seemed to be a scooter parking area.
We proceeded up so extremely old stone stairs, slightly worn and in need of some restoration, which the building was obviously having.

We reached a door with a tiny sign above it, and rung the bell. Seeings as we were already a few hours later than we should have been, and were both extremely tired, we just wanted to sit down and have a drink.
A middle age lady opened the door and questioned who we were then disappeared off into another room emerging 5 minutes later with another lady, who barked our room wasnt ready and come back in an hour.

A little frustrated and annoyed, we walked back out into the street and tried to find a nice cafe to have a sit down and drink.... walking further into Naples we soon started to feel very unsafe and aware of how rough the area was. So turning around, we walked back towards the b&b.

The area was to be frank scary. So we found a cafe, had a drink then headed back to the b&b to wait for our room.

We sat in the piano room, which should have been so romantic, but in fairness, it was dirty, dingy and the cracks in the walls, ceiling & floor looked pretty worrying. After about half an hour the cleaner came and gave us the key & allowed us into the room.

Again this should have been so romantic, with a four poster bed and high domed ceilings, but already being annoyed, tired and to be honest a little concerned for our safety, we spotted every little detail.

To start with, my boyfriend walked in to the toilet, where someone had already deposited something quite nasty in the loo and left it there for us to find (attractive). the towels were dirty, the sink had hair in it and the sliding bathroom door didnt slide very well.

The light fittings were hanging off the wall, the curtains stained & dirty. The ceiling cracked and crumbling on to the bed. And the bed, ha well.... it was a cheap, flimsy metal frame that I doubt would withstand you sneezing whilst sat on it let alone any other kind of movement.

The mattress, was about as hard as a park bench and the bed sheets were dirty as well.

My partner & I lay on the bed, trying to soak in everything around us, and discussing what had happened so far, when suddenly two very aggressive Itallian women started barking at each other, and we both jumped in shock thinking they were actually in the room somewhere. We looked at each other in disbelief and then my partner walked out the room, assuming they were outside the door, but they were not. At that point we realised there was a double door leading from our room to a public room, which meant these women were a matter of feet away from the bed.
There was a serious lack of privacy in the room.

We eventually decided that we didnt feel safe, the room didnt feel secure and well neither of us were happy at all about the surroundings. We were aware Naples was a rougher city, but jeez, not this bad.

We managed to book a flight home that evening and called for a cab.

Once at the airport, we witnessed a number of people get mugged and the police do nothing about it. We also witnessed a young lad get knocked off his scooter by a car, and again the police seemed very oblivious, and shoo-ed the lad off the road as he was causing a hold up????

In my opinion, this is not a good place to visit, and not a safe place either. I am sure there are nice parts somewhere.... but we just couldn't be bothered to risk walking the streets to find out!

Room Tip: Just dont!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lesleypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

The B&B is situated in probably the best location in the city - via Maddeloni is a side street off via toledo (the main thoroughfare of the city centre) and is a very short walk from piazza Dante and piazza Gesu (with a safe and lively nightlife).The tourist bus has a drop off at both these piazza's and there is a metro stop at the former also.
It is situated in a Palazzo that is undergoing renovation to its exterior but it didnt detract from the experience at all - the windows are soundproof and believe me when you open them to the noise of the streets you will see how good they are.
Albergo and the team are a delight to meet and Susie's fresh cooked eggs at breakfast are the best in Italy. There is a active Scoula in the B&B where children perform to a small audience and it is a delight to hear the performances in the early afternoon,and Albergos son (concert pianist) playing classical music.
We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDougl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were met by Alberto at Naples airport who gave us a very warm welcome to Carafa. The first impression on arrival is that it is a building site with renovation work going on all around. However, as soon as you step into the interior, its a transformation. The building is very old and inside is magnificant. All the rooms are individually decorated and have been kept almost to the original designs. Our bedroom was just as the photo appeared and was perfect. Very quiet and comfortable bed. Alberto and his team were willing to do anything for you, but not intrusive. Carafa is situated in the historic part of Naples and within easy reach of all the historic buildings, restaurants. We have no hesitation recommending Carafa.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaroa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

My son and I arrived at the airport and were collected on-time and as arranged by the owner of the B & B.

Our two rooms were exactly as shown on their website. Very comfortable and spacious. In spite of the major building works being completed on the building we were made very comfortable indeed and the friendly, knowledgeable and helpful assistance given by the owner and his staff was invaluable and time saving for such a short trip and allowing us to see all that we wanted to.

Centrally located with easy access to the Metro and with a no. of excellent and very value for money restaurants in the surrounding squares.

We found Naples both cheaper and friendlier than Rome and Milan - both of which I had visited only a month before with my wife.

Breakfast was continental as stated in the B & B blurb but well presented and fresh.

Would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mxyzptlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
B and B Carafa Suite
B and B Carafa Suite
#199 of 603 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Maison Degas
Hotel Maison Degas
#79 of 603 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Pendino
Miseria e Nobilta Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
NeapolitanTrips
NeapolitanTrips
#40 of 603 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Pendino
The Bellini House B&B
The Bellini House B&B
#5 of 603 in Naples
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Pendino
Salotto Borbonico
Salotto Borbonico
#106 of 603 in Naples
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carafa di Maddaloni B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carafa di Maddaloni B&B

Property: Carafa di Maddaloni B&B
Address: Via Maddaloni 6, 80134, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 603 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carafa di Maddaloni B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A little, big jewel box full of charm and magic, a “Maison de charme”, more than a bed and breakfast, at Carafa di Maddaloni rooms with all kind of conforts are available, furnished with antiques, and made precious with floors of ‘800 and refined objects collected during the centuries.Room Toledo : a crossed voult 6 metres high, a piano, furniture which are like sculpturesRoom Spaccanapoli. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Carafa di Maddaloni B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing