We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Umberto

Umberto
Reserve with
Umberto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #153 of 3,098 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chiaia
Description: The history of our restaurant began in 1916 when Ermelinda and Umberto Di Porzio opened a little trattoria, known to most as "Don Umberto". Our menù is rich and varied with its main section built on traditional Neapolitan recipes. Seasonal variations are made throughout the year, our traditional Neapolitan pizza menu and the exquisite family atmosphere all form part of the 'Umberto' identity. During the year we offer a variety of degustation menus to accompany cultural events and local festivals, revising classical Partenopean recipes with an often contemporary twist. We dedicate several areas of our restaurant to Neapolitan and foreign artists with a bi-monthly change. We organise food and wine courses with highly respected organisations such as Slow food, The Authentic Neapolitan pizza and Sommelier Association. Above all we endeavor to continue to care for customers with the dedication expected from a family with over a century of experience in welcoming, recommending and delivering dishes according to the Partenopean tradition.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came here due to the recommendation in tripadvisor. Location was ok, but the service was not great. But the worst was the food. Old chicken only half cooked and probably not fresh prepared, several days old antipasti, untasty sides, pasta not al dente, .... we all felt bad after this dinner. We left more then 50 % of the food ... actually we should have left immediatedly after the antipasti desaster.
Needed afterwards a lot of grappa to get rid of the bad taste.

1  Thank Hallo_everbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Owner at Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2013

Dear Customer, sorry for what you think was a bad experience. I'm surprised of what happened to you, as we prepare most of our food at the moment. You wrote that you drink a lot of grappa at the end of the meal, and probably that was the reason of indigestion you were talking about. Sorry anyway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 149 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Had a great salad, but honestly. The meal that one of our party ordered was totally inedible. the other three were just passable. I don't understand why Umberto's has good reviews in guide books. The local pizza places are better and more fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rachel_Maitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Rachel, honestly I'm really surprised of your review. It must be one of our worst day, as it's so unfair and strange that our food is mentioned as 'inedible'. I can't immagine it. Anyway it's your opinion, and I respect it. During that Christmas period we served thousand of people and I don't remember anyone complaining and sending that horrible and inedible food back to the Kitchen. Sorry for that, and please accept our apologise for you and your family. Our restaurant is mentioned in the guide book and from Neapolitans because it's one of the oldest in the city and me and my sisters are always trying to satisfy customer about food and welcome. Our Apologize again for not doing that in your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Having dinner at Umberto is always a new and unforgettable experience. I strongly recommend "baccalà arrosto" which is such a delicious dish.

1  Thank Giacomo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Giacomo, thanks for your wonderful review. We and our "baccalà arrosto' are waiting for you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great pWood ovenizzas and great food!!!! we went there twice!!!! The antipastis where very good as well!

1  Thank Stephniz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thanks for reviewing our restaurant. We are so glad that you were happy with our food and wait for you again. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This place was next door to our hotel so we ended up there a few times because it was easy and it was good. More varied than the pizza places and everything was just fine.

1  Thank Lizponi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RistoranteUmberto, Proprietario at Umberto, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Customer, thanks for your review, We wait for you again if you come around naples. Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umberto also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Umberto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing