We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Domus Gemi B&B
Nearby Hotels
$170
$160
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Romeo Hotel(Naples)
$419
$406
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$314
$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$193
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$175
$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$162
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$248
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$676
$239
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
318
108
11
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
108
11
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairspastrypizzasan gregorio armenobit noisy at nightcorner roomdirectly across the streetcentro storicoair conditioningnever felt unsafetrain stationhistoric areaa great place to stayroom was spaciousvisiting napleshot watermin walk
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 441 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Right in the heart of the historic old town, beautiful large rooms on the 4th floor with amazing views and far enough above the city to not be noisy. Great host who accompanied us to breakfast on traditional neopolitan fare in a local cafe. Fantastic pizza recommendation too!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LFCROCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Domus Gemi is a diamond in the rough. If you want to experience the real Naples stay here. Pasquale is a consumate gentleman and although he speaks no English his love of Naples is perfectly clear. The beds were clean and comfortable and the small en suite was quite new and also spotless. Although a noisy part of town the double glazed windows keep out the noise at night. During the day the noise is part of the city and should be heard. I would highly recommend this quirky B&B. Thanks Pasquale for looking after us so well. Sue, 56, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

A great experience that I had not expected. Let me start by saying that this would be a perfect place to stay for anyone with a little Italian. Pasquale (the owner of Domus Gemi B&B) doesn't have a lot of English, though he tries hard. You could probably do this with a phrase book and a little patience.

When my family arrived it was a rainy Sunday and everything in Naples seemed cold and forbidding. All the shops were closed, and, combined with the black (local) stone in the streets and sidewalks, the steel shutters made this feel like an off-putting town. So genial was Pasquale, however, that we decided to stick it out, and we are very glad we did. The first morning there, we got a taste of Neapolitan life when Pasquale called down to the bakery on the corner and then lowered a bucket four floors to haul up our morning's pastries. They were, by Neapolitan standards, merely local stuff, but they are better than anything I've had in any US city. And they were hot.

From Domus Gemi, you have an easy walk to the train station; from there you can take the Circumvesuviana (think: a subway-like train that never goes underground) to Pompeii, Herculeanum, and Sorrento (the last stop on the line). You can also walk to either of the two piers (they're practically together) to take a boat (fast or slow) to Capri, Ischia, Sorrento, or one of the other towns on the Amalfi coast. The Archaeogical Museum is well worth the visit, especially after you visit Pompeii--it has a number of Pompeii's best artifacts. If you go, buy a guide (or read up on it) in advance, as it's not an easy museum to understand without help.

The street itself (Via de Tribunali) is as narrow as a U.S. alley, but the scooters and taxis give you a polite honk if you're in their way. I found myself amazed by the dozens and dozens of shops lining this and other streets. There's city life here that you won't see in other places commonly visited in Italy. As you walk around, there's shop after shop offering pizza, pastry, books, clothes, and other things for native Neapolitans, all with laundry hanging off balconies over your head for many floors up.

This is a "real" city, as opposed to Rome, Florence, or one of the other popular draws, and is probably not for the timid traveler. The Neapolitans' idea of hospitality, for instance, is warning you to be careful so that other Neapolitans don't pick your pocket. But I never felt unsafe on any street.

A final tip. If you go, ask Pasquale to draw a big dot on your map to locate the B&B. I had it wrong in my head for days (my fault) and made a few long trips because of it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DB2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We stayed at this new small hotel (opened April 2007) at the end of August and were delighted by our choice. The hotel is situated right at the heart of the old city. At first the exuberant street life of Naples can seem overwhelming. After a couple of forays we realized we were in safe and fascinating neighbourhood, and we loved every minute of it. There is so much to see and only a short walk away. The location is noisy, but the experience of being at the centre of the city more than makes up for this.

The hotel is small, but the rooms themselves are generous, newly furnished and well equipped. Our room was en-suite, had air-conditioning and a flat screen TV. There are steep steps up to the hotel which is on the fourth or fifth floor, but the owner rushed down to help us up with our baggage. The hotel was hard for us to find. For some reason the street numbers on the very long Via di Tribunale go up one side of the street and down the other! Of course we went the wrong way. It turned out to be on the Piazza Lorenzo, and this is what to ask for when getting directions or a taxi.

We can wholeheartedly recommend this hotel. We found it to be the ideal base for exploring the city. You are a short stroll away from numerous important and incredibly beautiful churches, as well as the unmissable Archeological Museum.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ryen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews