We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hostel ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Controra Hostel Naples
Ranked #3 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hostel ”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My first stop on my trip around Central Europe and pleasantly surprised! We stayed in a 10 bed mixed dorm all beds had own plug socket and light. Big kitchen & common areas & bar and seating area outside and a washer and dryer. Free breakfast in the morning. Very helpful and friendly staff everything you could need from a hostel

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moneybags123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    83
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
5
39
80
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The staff were super helpful, the rooms, kitchen and bathrooms really clean and the hostel was close to a supermarket, metro station. The breakfast was good and they had some good deals at the bar.
Really enjoyed my stay there and would recommend it to anyone!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank rlr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have been travelling quite a lot and so far this is definitely the best hostel I have been in. The staff is very friendly and they will help you with all your concerns. The free breakfast is a big plus.
The staff is arranging some activities almost every night. During my stay in La Controra the football world cup was going, so they were showing almost all the games in a big screen. The garden is a really nice place to just relax or have fun with the other people in the hostel. During the night you don't need to leave the hostel to have some drinks, because they have their own bar inside the hostel! Easy to get there by metro, from the main train station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasselpuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was travelling to Italy for 12 days with a friend and Naples was our first place to stay at. I can honestly say having been in many hostels worldwide this is amongst the elite! The quality of the staff, rooms, food and atmosphere are worth it and some! I also loved they found me entertaining and offered me a job! But seriously the stay was great, i met so many people and had such great experiences, the only thing they missed out was paying me for this review!!! I highly reccomend staying at La Controra in naples.

Award Winning Author
Vishal Morjaria

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed with a student group (29 people) in La Controra for four nights. In prepartion Mugurela and her team were very helpful in planning our trip. The bedrooms are clean and everyone slept well. The inner garden is really nice. Salvator Rosa metrostation is close to the hostel, which is situated in a old neighbourhood. The breakfast could be more extensive with some better coffee, but was sufficient. We really enjoyed our stay at La Controra!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRBCRBCRBCRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I really loved my stay here! It was such a nice place, with a nice garden to get some sun, a fun bar, and always something exciting going on! It's the perfect place to explore Naples from, and to come back to after a day out in the city. It was so clean, and the staff is the best!!! Everyone is very friendly and helpful, they really made my stay great :) I'll be going back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbk2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

the place is very clean, in a good location. It is an hostel so you need to be prepared (especially the showers and toilet areas are very small), but it is a very good choice if you are travelling on a budget. Breakfast is not special.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank free-spirit2273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#45 of 186 in Naples
887 reviews
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#20 of 186 in Naples
564 reviews
Hotel Lento
#65 of 186 in Naples
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Europa
#50 of 186 in Naples
1,174 reviews
NH Napoli Ambassador
#56 of 186 in Naples
2,091 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Controra Hostel Naples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Controra Hostel Naples

Property: La Controra Hostel Naples
Address: Piazzetta Trinita alla Cesarea 231, 80136, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep down in Naples, La Controra is a monastery transformed into a backpackers hostel. Better than a Stargate: La Controra with its garden is a place where you can relax yet right in the middle of the bustling town around you. La Controra's recently renewed rooms are decorated by art sculptures placed in the floor tiles featuring sea shells, Neapolitan coffee pots, garlic and chilli peppers, “ex-voto” and red coral horns (ethnic Neapolitan esoterica and good luck charms!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Controra Hostel Naples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing