We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning, Rip Off, Don't Stay Here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Suite Principe Umberto B&B
Ranked #559 of 802 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I booked this hotel and when I arrived I was told that they had overbooked and told me they had another property nearby. After a 20 minutes walk in the pouring rain I was taken to an awful street and in a residential block 7 floors up, the lift was not working so we had to walk up, we were shown a room which was more like a 1 star it was horrible and really basic with a shared bathroom in a hall way and not en-suite and the owners actually lived there and in the evening we heard them shouting and auguing until the early hours! DO NOT STAY HERE IT IS A RIP OFF, they tell you, you are booked in their B&B and actually send you to the slums for the same price!!!

Stayed: February 2009
2  Thank conticonti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 94 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2007

Let me begin by saying
Do not book this.....
B&B Art Suite Principe Umberto would have you believe that it is a rather gentile and classy suite on the edge of Naple's Centro Historico, the reality could not be further from the truth.
I booked this hotel through the Otel website and currently waiting for them to get back to me re a refund. We found the hotel at the address on my booking, itself a rather shady area, rang the buzzer and were greeted by an English woman who it seems translates for the 'gentleman' that I assume is the owner. Quick to take our passports and the pre-pay voucher we were then informed that we would not be staying at that address but another equal in value. When we asked where that was we were told she wasn't very good with maps but it was all fine, they would take us there by car. That should give you some indication of how nearby it was.
They then took us to an awful street at the side of the station that looked plain dangerous even in Naple's terms and worse still to a tower block. Seven floors up we were treated to a pokey little room as far removed from any pictures we had seen as could be, it looked like changing rooms had been round to a council estate.
I picked up our bags and walked out content to take my chances finding a room elsewhere than be shafted in that manner. I'm waiting to hear if OTEL will refund me.
In case you think I might be a trifle melodramatic I have travelled all over and never once complained or tried to get a refund before. Everywhere else I had booked in the region was fantastic and would happily recommend. I will get round to writing the good reviews but wanted this one up first as a warning to others.
Be warned, if you like to get what you pay for you won't get it here.

Stayed: September 2007
3  Thank raal57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art-Man-Napoli, Marketing at Art Suite Principe Umberto B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2007

We had some problems with one of our rooms and had no choice but to transfer the client to another structure 10 minutes from our B&B by foot (we transferred this client by car for their comfort and the trip was approximately 5 minutes).
The room offered to the client, had he given us a chance to show him, actually had a separate kitchen and bathroom, much bigger than our rooms at the B&B and is furnished to an equally high standard. I understand that the client was tired but unfortunately problems occur from time to time and we made sure the client was not left without accommodation for the night.
I would also like to mention that I assume the majority of hotels ask for clients documents upon arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2006

One of the best options to stay in Naples is with no doubt the newly opened Art Suite Principe Umberto.
I have been to Naples over 20 times and this is the best place that I have ever stayed in.
This luxury B & B enjoys a very central position in the historic center and not far from the main railway station. Run by an artistic family, it is really somewhere out of the ordinary. It has georgeous rooms with sattelite TV LCD, PC with internet access, built-in kitchen, mini-bar and safe. The staff is absolutely amazing: they speak all possible languages and can provide most of the services that one can think of. It was like staying in a delux 4star hotel with an intimate (and very artistic)touch for more than reasonable price.
I will be definitely coming back!!!

2  Thank eki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Antonella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Clara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lucamonica2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Giada M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Fuorigrotta
Best Western JFK Hotel
Best Western JFK Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
704 reviews
Hotel Suite Esedra
#142 of 186 in Naples
178 reviews
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#48 of 186 in Naples
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Suite Principe Umberto B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Suite Principe Umberto B&B

Address: Via Principe di Napoli a Ponticelli 35, 80147, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #559 of 802 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: $51 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Suite Principe Umberto B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Art Suite Principe Umberto is situated in the historic center of Naples, in an elegant building of the 19th century. Each room is decorated in its own individual style, with beautiful antique frescoes and has all the modern amenities that can be found in a luxury hotel, such as private bathroom, air conditioning, satellite tv, minibar, safe and wi-fi internet line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Suite Principe Umberto B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing