We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cockroaches.”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #20 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cockroaches.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Upon check in i found 4 cockroaches in the bathroom of our room, number 508, the hotel tried to tell me they were mosquitos to my face despite the fact i caught one and showed the porter (I didn't need my PhD to know they were cockroaches but it helped) and the only way we could move rooms was to upgrade and PAY EXTRA. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DrSMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaglione, Direttore at UNA Hotel Napoli, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We regret to see that you didn't enjoy your stay at our Hotel. As reported by several members of our staff, the insects you found in the bathroom of your room were actually gnats and not cockroaches. I can assure you that we take extremely care of the cleanliness of our rooms and similar episodes are unknown among our guests.
Hoping that in the future you will give us another opportunity to show the truly professional care of our services, best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    799
    168
    36
    32
See reviews for
243
859
108
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lovely, very beautiful renovated rooms, and a fab breakfast in their rooftop restaurant, but the location is not great. I felt really uncomfortable walking even during the day, lots of beggars on the streets.

However if you're looking for a great pizza we would highly recommend Sorbillos - easily the best pizza I've ever had!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shielseey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I did choose this hotel because of the reviews on here as well as it's location near the train station. As some of the reviewers say on here, the area is a construction site in between the hotel and the train station. Also the area is very poor and quiet rough in places. At night I felt rather uncomfortable too.
You can quite easily get the tube or bus to the centre rather than walking it, which doesn't take long.
Having said that, the hotel is amazing. It feels quite posh inside and I was pleased to see it was in the "luxury hotels" section of my travel book.
Our room was a superior with a large bedroom and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and I did sleep very well.
When I asked for extra hand towels as they had forgotten them, the staff seemed suspictious and motioned to search my wardrobe. He seemed annoyed and rude. But he gave us some anyway. This, I wasn't happy with.
As the hotel is near the busy train station, the roads outside are very busy. You have to be very careful crossing them, like most Italian roads. The windows are sound proof but a little noise does come through. I am a light sleeper and I didn't have any problems sleeping.
My only criticism is with the bathroom door.... it slides shut and doesn't close properly. It is also has misty glass in it. This is particularly annoying if one of you goes to the bathroom during the night. The bedroom lights up.
The windows have shutters on to prevent light coming through, however if you want them open to let the breeze in, you will not have any privacy as there is not net curtains.
The breakfast bar on the roof is outstanding. The food was good as well as the staff, who were very helpful.
Eventhough the area isn't great, I would staff there again. Although I wasn't the biggest fan of Naples itself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, which isn't silent but is quiter than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisW1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Don't stay at this hotel. They treated myself and my traveling friend with disrespect and discriminated against us.
They had no excuse for the embarrassment they caused on checking in at the desk. I recommend avoiding the potential for similar embarrassment by a desk manager who needs a lesson in customer service and manners.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level Contributor
300 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

There are many good things to say about this hotel but the best, by far, is the rooftop terrace, views over the town one way and Vesuvius the other. An ideal location for your breakfast, lunch or dinner, morning coffee or afternoon beer. OK it's not cheap but it is decent value and there's always a bonus with your drinks, say a pastry or biscuit with coffee, peanuts or crisps with your beer or devils on horseback or olives with your aperitifs. Hardly need to buy food! Staff are friendly and have enough English to cope.
The rooms are not huge but modern and very stylish, huge king size bed, decent lighting, marble bathrooms with decent water pressure, some with baths some with showers. Reasonable workspace with power, big wardrobe but an acute lack of drawers, i.e. none. So the beds are very firm but we slept well on them, helped by the quiet and efficient air con.
Hotel decor is modernist and minimalist but sits very well in this tastefully restored building.
Reception staff are friendly and helpful, particularly with booking cabs, even comping our wifi for which there is nominally a charge, with good reception throughout including aforementioned terrace.
The area is not wonderful but safe enough during daylight and who wants to walk the streets at night if everything you need is in the hotel or a short cab ride away?
Super hotel in a wonderful city.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank manofekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This Hotel looks great,is very reasonably priced and is well situated, roof top bar fabulous. The beds were the worst in our three week holiday in Italy - beds too, too hard and despite pillow menu - a very bad nights sleep. On the positive side the breakfast was all you could want.

We didn't find the area dodgy and really enjoyed our time in Naples.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

You can read a lot of bad reviews about this hotel and a lot of good ones. The good ones usually talk about the good rooms and the bad ones about the staff and the dodgy location. Are they right ? Yeah, mostly.

The location is near the main train station, about 5 minutes by foot. It's a VERY dodgy area. Please be aware of that fact. It's somehow interesting by day, but not really feeling safe by night (well, i often stay in these areas, but this one was really interesting). You will find a bit of everything the later the night becomes in this area. Please also be aware that there might be some pickpockets around in this area, as one tried to follow me (quite poorly), but was scared off when i went around directly facing him. But in overall the location is pretty convenient for any onward travel (be it to Pompeii, Vesuv, take Circumvesumviana for both) or to the rest of Italy by train. There is also a bus and a tram stop directly in front of the hotel. The metro and all other trains go from the central station. Well, it's not pretty, but convenient.

So what about the rooms ? Are they good ? Yes, they are. They are pretty good.

The rooms are spacious, tastefully furnished, with a desk, a wardrobe, a TV, air conditioning of course, a great bed and a very nice bathroom. I especially liked the bathroom, as it was very spacious, too and also looking great. Our room also had a small balcony (which was very loud, as it looked down to the square).

The rooms are great, have everything you would need (if they do not have it by standard, like slippers and bathrobes, you can call the service and they will deliver it without costs) and are easy to like. One thing you might dislike are the thin blankets (in fact only a linen), which made me call reception to get a real blanket (which was delivered within 2 minutes !), the noise from outside even with closed windows (there is really hell going on with the traffic outside, the whole night and you will hear a lot of it !) and the cleaning. If felt that the cleaning was always a bit superficial, though the room looked very clean in the main areas.

But all in all i had a great time in the room. Once you wake up you can go to breakfast, which has a very good selection for an Italian hotel, with good quality food (okay, English breakfast might not be as good), good coffee (to order) and a beautiful terrace on the top of the building, which is really splendid for a breakfast in the sun, overlooking Napoli. This was really beautiful and a great start in the day.

So, what about the other negative all the other reviews wrote about, the staff ?

Well, it's a mixed bag. We were greeted by an older guy who didn't really want to talk with us, made some bad jokes on our expense and was clearly not really trying to be helpful. On the other side, other people from reception were much nicer, more helpful and even after my call from the for another blanket it took only 2 minutes for them to bring it too me. Personal record i must say ! The breakfast staff on the other hand was a bit muffling and it took a while for them to warm up, but then they were quite hearty.

All in all, i liked my stay here very much. The location is handy and dogdy at the same time. The staff is a mixed bag, providing medicore service, the rooms are great, but noise and the breakfast on the rooftop terrace is just great. I would recommend this one!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3d-razor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Property: UNA Hotel Napoli
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#12 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing