We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent city Oasis”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #20 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights before before travelling on around the coast, cannot fault the hotel at all. The roof top restaurant and garden space were just fantastic, excellent breakfast. We ate out both evenings just to see the real Naples, it was fine we didn,t feel threatened or worried in any way. As it is just a few minutes from the main train station perfect for onward travel.

Room Tip: perfect for onward travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,880 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night. travelling down from Rome then heading to Sorrento the following day. Wanted to stay close to the train station, this hotel was perfect, just a very short walk away. We found it to be clean stylish and very comfortable. The bar is on the 6th floor giving lovely views of the city and versuvius. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Area abit rough around the edges but found some restaurants accross the road which were inexpensive and samples a naples pizza, delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skingsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel Una was an early constructed stylish, minimally-designed, boutique hotel. Although it is starting to show its age - in terms of design, it remains a very pleasant property, with friendly staff and clean accommodation. At the time of its opening, it was a trend setter. Now, it's a thoroughly comfortable and great place to stay.
Its location is abysmal, but serves a purpose. It is an easy reach of the airport and at the front door to the train station - great for Vesuvius, Caserta, Pompeii and coastal areas south. After countless years, the construction of the metro continues - due to corruption and mis-management. This "construction" is at the front door of the hotel.
Have stayed at the Una three times and will no doubt visit them again.
The location of the hotel is not ideal - but if it compliments your travel plans, it's the perfect launching pad.
Fashionable roof terrace.

Room Tip: Corners are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Well, after reading other reviews, the hotel lived up to it's reputation. Great hotel, rubbish area. But then that same statement could apply to many parts of Napoli. I stayed here as I arrived on a late flight, wanted to be close to the train station to get to Pompeii the next day, and it was within walking distance to the Museo Archeologico Nazionale di Napoli. (Where you will find all of the valuable stuff removed from Pompeii).
The area has been hit by the ugly stick.... several times.
Graffiti, grimey, lots of peddlers selling counterfeit label bags and glasses everywhere, and as it's across from both the train and main bus stations, the area is busy.
That said...............
The hotel is lovely. Really lovely. (see photos attached). I didn't feel threatened at all by all of the peddlers, and the area is very busy with tourists at all times of day and night.
As I say, if you need to be near the train station - go for this hotel, it wasn't expensive, it has a lovely rooftop terrace you can have breakfast on, and the breakfast choice (which was inclusive) was pretty extensive from breads, rolls, toast yourself, cereals, egg, sausage, pastries, coffees, juices and bottled water.
The staff weren't the most welcoming out of the 3 hotels I stayed at on this trip, but I did stay at UNA hotel twice, once on the way to Pompeii, then a few days later, on the way back up to Rome.
Rooms however, were the best I've seen in italy so far for a 3/4 star price/rating.

Room Tip: Had a room at the back and the front on both trips - there are wooden shutters - so even in the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ozzie_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel was a little bit of luxury and comfort in the middle of a vast city of dirt and activity. Naples is an interesting place. Coming from New York City, I was not put off by the dirty streets and bustling hawkers. This hotel is centrally located and relatively easy to get to (in a cab) from the airport and right across from the train station. The service was excellent and the room very nice with a beautiful view. We had to leave too early for the breakfast so they provided a box breakfast for us. The hotel is walking distance from the Duomo (which closes at 5 or 6, I can't remember which) and the famous Antiche Michele Pizza (get there before 6). We didn't have time to go anywhere else. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornelia199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

No need to discuss the location once again since so many previous reviews already have. At the end of the day, pros and cons of Piazza Garibaldi are rather balanced, and safety issues linked to pickpockets only are of real concern when using public transportation or standing still in a crowd: the neighborhood by itself doesn't make things better or worse..
The Hotel UNA stands out as a fine mid-size hotel combining all modern amenities (Wifi Internet access, adjustable A/C, cable TV with major international channels, stocked in-room mini-bar, stylish bathroom fixtures, laptop-friendly safe, magnetic doorkeys, double-paned windows, etc..) with the charm of a period building that was fully renovated.
You can choose both the size of room you're looking for and the type of beddings you need, king, twins, etc.. The buffet breakfast (either included in the rate or at a cheap extra charge) is more than satisfactory: wide selection of cold items, a few warm items, made-on-order beverages for real Italian coffee amateurs. And you can have it in the stylish dining-room or on the rooftop terrace with a gorgious panoramic view, or in your room, almost throughout the entire morning. Bellboy service, luggage storage are efficiently provided, taxi calls reliable.
The hotel restaurant offers a short yet enjoyable menu with a variety of typical Italian dishes for a sensible cost, with fast and courteous waiting staff.
A special mention for the front-desk team, who, unlike some other big-city hotels in Italy, is extremely efficient and helpful. They really go a long way to make your stay a pleasant one and to comply with any particular queries. Congratulations to Angela and the entire staff for being so efficient and so welcoming. I'm more than surprised by the few negative reviews about this note. Guess you can never please everybody. This was my second stay at the Naples UNA, and both experiences have been very satisfactory, grazie. Just try it for yourself, I bet you'll agree with me.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank frequent_dinerParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. We had a living social deal (still €100 per night so not exactly deal of the century). Not really sure if the reception staff are like this with everyone or maybe because we had a deal it labelled us as second class citizens. But regardless, 3 of the 4 people working on the reception desk were unbelievably rude.

Just to clear things up, I'm not one of these random 'complainers' you get on tripadvisor. I've never written a complaint before. However it was almost funny how ignorant the staff were here.

Example: On the first day I asked for a map, to which the lady looked at me as if I had three heads. Eventually she shuffled over, grabbed a map, threw it at me without making eye contact and said nothing. When I asked if she could show us where we were on the map it was as if I had asked her for a foot massage!! Staff behaviour tends to be a group thing in most hotels and evidently this hotel is not run well.......horrible people!

As regards the rest of the hotel:

Room was nice.

Breakfast good.

Rooftop terrace was a bonus.

Location was terrible. Its literally dangerous. Left the front door at night to be greeted by two hookers on the footpath and drug addicts lying around the square out front. The train station area just aint a nice place to be in Naples. If your visiting stay down by the water front.

Sorry for complaining....but ya know what?.....sometimes ya gotta!!

Room Tip: Seems to be a business hotel. If your on business then drive on. Anybody else stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2IrishTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,071 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
471 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#10 of 185 in Naples
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#13 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#22 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $112 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing