We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly staff”
Review of UNA Hotel Napoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
UNA Hotel Napoli
Ranked #22 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Hotel was excellent with good service from reception. We got the hotel as part of a discounted weekend package so it was value for money. Not sure what the actual room rates are like though.

Pros:
Reception was very friendly and helpful when recommending activities and giving directions. Their advice was invaluable to making the right choice for the limited time we had available. Little extras such as choice of pillows are a nice touch. Good location next to station.
Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Cons:
Restaurant was pants. Don't even bother if you're really tired and don't want to go out. Best not to eat! Service in restaurant terrible. Food was sub-standard for a poor UK pub and priced like a top notch hotel restaurant. Breakfast in there is ok though.
TV reception a bit poor but then you're not there to watch TV really!

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room. Rooms are pretty sound proof which is essential given the road noise...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lewis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,841)
There are newer reviews for UNA Hotel Napoli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

618 - 624 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

You wouldn't expect it from the outside, but this hotel is really nice. Be careful: open the window shutters or else you could sleep your trip away!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daren l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

I agree with many of the reviews, this hotel is not in the best part of Naples and there is work going on in the piazza. However, we did not encounter anything unpleasant during our 4 day stay here. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the porter however couldnt manage a smile despite a tip! Our room was modern (4th floor great view of the square) - i think we were upgraded as not many guests end November/beginning December time.

The hotel is well placed for the Alibus from the airport 6 euro per person. Beware when you pick up the Alibus to return to the airport you need to go to the stop outside McDonalds near the station, it doesnt pick you up from the square.

The room and marble tiled bathroom were clean and you really dont hear the traffic once the shutters and windows are closed. The glass lift is a fun ride as you see more of the interior of the building. The breakfast was adequate offering a choice of cereals, breads, cakes and pastries, and cooked eggs, bacon and sausages. I didnt like the juice tho, it tasted liked powder watered down too much! They managed to bring in some soya milk at my request after the first day.

The hotel is well placed for travelling on the circumvesuviana railway to Sorrento, which also stops at Vesuvius, Pompei and Herculaneum - just walk across the square and it's next to the main rail station. Beware if you are visiting Vesuvius, in the winter at least, there is no transport up to the volcano after 1pm. Suggest you get the train to Ercolano and then book the taxi van which is 5euro each way plus a few euro for entering the walk up to the crater. Try and pick a clear day. CHeaper than a taxi! Sorrento is definitely worth a visit.

Taxis were very unpredictable in their pricing - even those with a meter - we were charged very varying amounts to go down to the marina.

If you want a pizza I recommend Sorbillo and also La Scialuppa on the seafront for fish. See separate reviews.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Merlins_mistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

The only reason why I decided to stay within walking distance to Naples Piazza Galdibaldi is only due to easy access to the train station. If this is your first time in Naples and are visiting here for vacation, I highly suggest finding a hotel within the historic area of Naples. The area surrounding Piazza Galdibaldi is not only dangerous at night but trying to cross the street can be extremely hazardous to your health.

On with the hotel review. The UNA Hotel Napoli is very clean and well management hotel. Although the surrounding area outside the hotel is a chaotic mess, the hotel is quiet and clean. I was given a room facing the piazza. With the windows closed, I was able to sleep well without any issues. I booked a single room and everything worked as expected. The room was clean. The bathroom was huge and had all the amenities one expect. The only issue I had was the water pressure from the shower was a bit weak.

Breakfast was wonderful. They served hot and cold food.

Check-in and check-out was speedy. I didn't bother with the hotel receptionist or acquire any services so I can't comment on the quality of service. However, don't expect too much from Italian hoteliers to offer friendly service. It's a mixed bag.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TP2WXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The location is directly across the piazza from the train station. While not an upscale area by any means, it is easy walking to this hotel. Most areas of Naples are safe to walk in during the day and not at night, so just be smart about it. The interior of the hotel has been redone and is very modern. Rooms are extremely large and the closet is a walk-in! The bath is also very, very large and all in marble. The beds are standard Italian-issue twin beds that run on the hard side, but that's pretty standard Italian as well. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and it there had been a UNA hotel in any of the other cities we stayed at, we would have chosen the UNA there as well (there are other UNA hotels, just not where we were traveling).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaydee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

the UNA Hotel is such a beautiful hotel. Very modern and clean. The staff were very helpful. The location of it is very close to the Train Station so it's ideal if you are travelling by train. That area is very rough however once you get inside the UNA you feel right at home and safe.
The train station is fairly far from the nicer area (port) of Napoli so you will have to walk quite a distance to see the water.

I would go back to a UNA hotel definitely... maybe just not in Napoli...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Pros: Good location close to the main train station (if you're only passing through). We got a free upgrade to an executive room which was lovely - clean and comfortable room with all the trimmings (great bathroom). Great soundproofing so no problems with noise from neighbours or the horrendous traffic below. Breakfast was ok though nothing memorable.

Cons: The wi-fi is only free for the first hour. The staff were quite rude - we were asked for our room number after asking a question and when we replied (with a number for an executive room) the man looked us up and down in distaste and said "that can't be right" and then checked it on the computer. There was a general air of arrogance from most of the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yenniva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#12 of 185 in Naples
497 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
454 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 185 in Naples
1,040 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Napoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Napoli

Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 9/10, 80142, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Naples
#13 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#14 Luxury Hotel in Naples
#22 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $108 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Napoli 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A six-story historical building in a central position opposite the railway station, accurately restored to its 19th-century grandeur. The interiors, recalling local traditions - decors, rough tuff stones, Pompeian red, Pulcinella shapes - with impressive architectural design, give life to 89 well appointed rooms, a bar, and a restaurant on the panoramic roof garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your UNA Hotel Napoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing