We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Biblioteca Nazionale Vittorio Emanuele III
Open today: 8:30 AM - 1:30 PM
Review Highlights
a treasure hidden in plain sight

We visited the National Library (one of several with this name in Italy) on our way to the Officina... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2017
gpcd
,
Greenbelt, Maryland
Serene and sumptuous - veramente ottimo

Visited here after the Palazzo Reale as it's at the back, on the right hand side of the courtyard... read more

Reviewed April 9, 2018
vessi80
,
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Read all 42 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Naples
from $80.05
More Info
from $40.03
More Info
from $80.05
More Info
from $78.91
More Info
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
21
14
0
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
21
14
0
2
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 42 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2017

We visited the National Library (one of several with this name in Italy) on our way to the Officina dei Papiri (see separate review). The Library is a find. You need to show ID in order to get in, and you should probably ask for a map, as the place is a labyrinth of small rooms, large rooms, corridors, hallways, chocked full of old books and old stuff. and most of these rooms, since the Library is housed in a wing of what used to be the Royal Palace, are decorated with delicate frescoes, or filled with intaglio-adorned furniture. My favourite pieces are several world globes dating to 400 years ago or so (see photo). One puzzling aspect of the place is the complete trust placed upon the visitor to not touch and not damage the items. I just hope nobody ever abuses of such trust.
Not mentioned in any tourbook (to my knwoledge) is the fact that in the elevated gardens between the Library and the back of the Royal Palace one can take a quiet and cool break from the hard day of sightseeing, enjoy the snack you had the foresight to pack while sitting in the shade and admiring an iconic view (see photograph) of the Maschio Angioino (castle) across the bustling car traffic.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank gpcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of experience: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: April 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019
Google Translation

Date of experience: March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews