We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The B & B Donna Regina is an absolute delight!”
Review of Donna Regina B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donna Regina B&B
Ranked #342 of 732 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 10, 2007

Rarely have I been able to enjoy a place as much as I enjoyed my week's stay here over Christmas. It was beautifully decorated; my room was warm, clean, comfortable, and laden with artwork. Senora Donna Gabriella was wonderful and Mimo, her restorer son, was most informative and helpful, as was daughter, Anna. Don't miss a chance to stay in this unusual and most beautiful home with only four rooms which may be rented. You'll feel welcomed and loved as only Italians can make one feel. Breakfast in Senora's traditional kitchen (with lots of antique tiles) included blood orange juice, omelettes and wonderful fresh bread. Such a glorious place to spend Christmas! (Don't miss the antique cradle - it's a real star). Strongly, strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank salina5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Donna Regina B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2006

Everything was satisfactory. Very nice location-- seemed very safe. Nice Breakfast. Nice room. Dominick, the proprieter, loves his city and was very helpful. Our belongings were safe the entire time.

Our room anyway was not for the elderly, infirmed, or obese. There was a steep spiral staircase from the bedroom the bathroom-- it was charming but not for the handicapped.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, UK
25
Reviewed July 14, 2005

Although my girlfriend and I only spent a night at the Belle Arti, I would have quite happily stayed a couple of days longer.

The B&B is full of character - owned and run by a family, one of whom is an artist, the walls of the huge communal living room are adorned with literally hundreds of the owners' paintings.

Our room was large and comfortable, with a very high ceiling. A spiral staircase led up to the bathroom (obviously not suitable for anyone who might have difficulty climbing a steep staircase!), which admittedly could have done with a facelift.

Breakfast was great - all guests sit together at a large table in the kitchen, and help themselves to pastries, breads, fruits, bruschetta and coffee.

By far our favourite thing about Belle Arti, though, was Dominic, the son of the owners, who took the time to tell us all about different parts of Naples, where to eat and drink, what sights to see, how to get from place to place, and so on. His passion for and knowledge of his city was impressive, and left us wishing we had more time to explore the town.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2005

We spent three nights at B&B Donna Regina in June and enjoyed our stay. It is very convenient to many of the sites in the historical center of Naples.

This small four-unit B&B is in a 700-year-old building that is part of the former Donnaregina Vecchia convent complex. The fourth-floor flat housing the B&B is the former mother superior’s quarters. It is now owned by a family of artists, and paintings, statues and other objects fill the walls and furnishings throughout.

Each room is decorated in a unique manner. Ours – the blue room – had about 16 foot ceilings, with a circular metal staircase leading up to a loft that includes two additional twin beds. It is equipped with TV and air conditioning, which came in handy in late June. Overall, the room was spacious and comfortable, and it was kept very clean. The bath could probably stand a bit of improvement – it was spacious, but the shower was quite small and didn’t always produce hot water, but it did have a door. Breakfast is served at a communal table and we enjoyed morning conversation with the other guests.

The proprietor was very helpful. He spent a half hour with us after we arrived to go over a map of Naples and to provide a variety of excellent recommendations for dining and activities.

Re the area: this B&B is located in the historical center, in the area known as Decumano Maggiore. Although it is important to use good sense throughout Naples, we did not find this area to be particularly uncomfortable or seedy. The street (Luigi Settembrini, perpendicular to the Via Duomo) is closed off – thus, not a lot of traffic. The building entrance is a bit austere – huge wooden doors that are open during the day, and a somewhat grim common entrance way (there are a number of apartments in this building) leading to a tiny elevator that, at best, holds three people; thus, the ground floor entrance feels as if you are entering an apartment building, not a hotel/B&B. Moreover, this area does not appear to be a big ‘tourist’ area. There are a couple of other hotels a bit down the Via Duomo, but not a lot of restaurants in the immediate vicinity. It is about a 10 minute walk to the real heart of Spaccanapoli. We took all the recommended precautions, and did not feel at all unsafe here.

The location/setting (i.e., the lack of a dedicated ground-floor entrance) is probably not for everyone, but it was appealing to us and we particularly enjoyed staying here. It was convenient for our plans in Naples and offered a very unique, home-like feel.

We very much enjoyed our time in Naples, and wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ms_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Maryse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 185 in Naples
911 reviews
San Ferdinando
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
#25 of 185 in Naples
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zia Maria Home
#91 of 732 in Naples
197 reviews
Palepoli B&B
#223 of 732 in Naples
112 reviews
Belle Arti Resort
#71 of 185 in Naples
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Regina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Regina B&B

Address: Via Luigi Settembrini 80, 80139, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 732 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: $108 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Donna Regina B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B DONNA REGINA The perfect place to be in Naples.For slow travellers, tourists and artists.This exclusive bed and breakfast is part of the “Donna Regina Vecchia” convent built in the XIV century according to the willing of the Queen Maria of Hungary. Nowadays a family of artists welcome their guests in this elegant and comfortable B&B situated at the 4th floor of this historical complex.B&B Donna Regina is situated in the heart of the old Naples: the Duomo,the Archaeological Museum, Spaccanapoli, and the most important monuments as well as some of the best Restaurants and Pizzerie are reachable in a few steps. At B&B Donna Regina, on request, you can experience a traditional Neapolitan dinner served in the warm and artistic atmosphere of the antique kitchen.Each room, furnished with original and antique furnishings belonging to the family, has its own individual identity and offer the personal artistic touch of Donna Gabriella.All rooms are spacious and have ensuite private bathroom with shower.B&B Donna Regina offers:Double Rooms, Triple Rooms and Double single use.Two of the double rooms have an overhead gallery with other two single beds.B&B Donna Regina is located in the heart of the old town centre of Naples, close to the Archaeological Museum, the Duomo, Spaccanapoli, and the most important monuments as well as some of the best Restaurants and Pizzerie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Donna Regina B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Regina Bed And Breakfast
Donna Regina Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing