We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coolest little B&B”
Review of Donna Regina B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donna Regina B&B
Ranked #373 of 743 Naples B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were visiting Donna Regina on a night, where they actually weren't open. But they accepted our stay anyway. We were greeted by a very nice host at 12 pm with an apology for not having any dinner for us (we weren't expecting dinner). Breakfast was really good and very local. Additionally, the interior was very distinct and incredibly cool. Paintings and art covering the whole apartment. Rooms were nice too but shouldn't be the purpose of your visit to Donna Regina.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorenalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 84 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed just one night in the B&B Donna and we were not impressed. First the elevator was not working, the B&B is on the top floor 4 or 5 floors up in a beat up old building. The owner/host was not very welcoming and we felt we were not particularly welcome to sit in the general area of the B&B, seemed it was more for the family use than the guests.

The bathroom in our room was up some rickety steps that felt if they might collapse. We were informed that the elevator was being repaired but it was still not working the next day. The breakfast was a bright spot in a otherwise tedious place. The staff who prepared the food and served us were very good and friendly and food was good.

I would never stay here again, even if the elevator was working!

Room Tip: Yes stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burnabytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

PROS: helpful owner, delicious breakfast, good air conditioner, room ok, near metro station
CONS: terrible shower, scary elevator, the surroundings of the hotel and the city itself

Naples city center is not exactly clean, pretty or friendly, and neither were the surroundings of this B&B. Even though I was told it was safe, I didn't feel comfortable to walk at night (and during the day I felt threatened by crazy drives). I understand everything is old in the city, but some care and new paint on the walls wouldn't do any harm to it. The entrance and elevator were weird, more like a horror movie! Inside the B&B it was ok, although there was TOO MUCH decoration for my taste. The owner was really helpful and lovely and his breakfast was just wonderful. The guests sat together at the same big table, which was an excellent opportunity to meet new people.
The bathroom is upstairs in the room, which is a low point for older people or people with disabilities (I myself have a bad knee and it was really hard). Besides, the shower worked terribly and the towels looked more like pieces of an old cover sheet.
Although it's full of history, I wouldn't visit Naples again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tata_Paulista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Donna Regina is a small B&B just around the corner from the Duomo in Naples and within walking distance of most attractions. The hotel is located on a small side street off a main thoroughfare and can be missed if you are not reading the street names located on the buildings. Upon arrival, there is a small elevator (lift) which will take you and your luggage up to the fourth floor of this old, but renovated building. The hotel is decorated with numerous pieces of art and antiques and presents old world warmth and charm immediately as you enter the reception area.
The bedrooms are spacious, unique and interesting. Ours had a circular staircase leading to the washroom facilites above. Wifi was available in our room, although better recption is in the front desk area.
Breakfast is served simply and interestingly. Good, simple and ample fare to start your day.Part of the Naples experience and ambienace is in sharing your daily experiences with fellow travellers over breakfast.
Domenic, the host is always pleased to point out the attractions of 'his city' and where to find the best meals, etc. Trust him.
This facilty is good value for money and offers a charming and different Neapolitan experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert1884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Donna Regina B&B is a remodeled flat in the historical center of Naples, the narrow streets and dark alleyways of this area may be intimidating at first, but the easygoing and always stylish locals are reassuring in that this is not a cause for concern. Donna Regina is a gpod metaphor of naples because it is unassuming on the outside but full of wonders in the inside. This high-ceilinged flat is crammcomened full of paintings and antiques, and the proprietor and his mother run the business with a smile and are both full of good tips andknow the city well. Trust them when choosing where to eat and drink. Donna Regina is worth every penny for the warm hospitality, prime location and the owner's knowledge.

Breakfast was simple and italian (cakes, toast, coffee, fruit but also had good omelettes) but very homey and pleasing. The room was very clean, shower pressure could be better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Agustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A friend and I were at the Donna Regina B&B at the end of February and very much enjoyed our stay. This is not a 5 star hotel and it does not fit the needs of those looking for luxury and the (un)pleasanties of a large hotel. This place is a hidden treasure, something I have hardly encountered in my travels. It is centrally located in the city and in our four days we hardly used public transportation to get wherever we wanted to go (you can even walk to the Central Railway Station) and it is very close to the Dome and great restaurants and pizzerias are around the corner.
The B&B is on the 4th floor of an older building and the exteriour of the building does not let you guess what you will expect inside. Gracious rooms with lot's of artwork - our room was large enough with bathroom and shower on a mezzanine (a bit of a climb so you may think twice in case you have little children or if you are in any way challenged to climb stairs). The bathroom is alright - one could have wished for a bit more luxury there, but it has fit our needs. The people running the place are very friendly - sometimes it's challenging to have a conversation in Italian (if you don't speak it), but we managed with a mixture of English, French and Spanish.
The breakfast served is sensational. I don't remember ever having better coffee in any hotel (between no star and 10 stars). The Bruschettas served with tomatoe and olive oil are great and the best omlette ever with Mozarella cheese. In addition you can have sweets and all is there in plenty. The breakfast alone is worth the price of admission.
In the lobby you'll find books and maps on Napoli. We weren't using the help of the proprietor to get around (Pompeii) and we also have chosen our own restaurants, but we heard that the owner gives very good advice in this respect.
All together this was a very good and unique experience and I would come back any time. Beats a hotel anytime. And the price was right.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natanTel_Aviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

If you're looking for a B and B that is ideally located, has lots of charm (5 meter high ceilings -- it's a former monastery on the 4th floor of an ancient building), offers a full breakfast with excellent coffee, has excellent wifi and is managed by someone who cares enough to offer an amazing intro to Naples, then this place is it. If these elements are important to you, just two words: stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DTRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#46 of 185 in Naples
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zia Maria Home
#91 of 743 in Naples
198 reviews
Tribu
#370 of 743 in Naples
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donna Regina B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donna Regina B&B

Address: Via Luigi Settembrini 80, 80139, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 743 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range: $106 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Donna Regina B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B DONNA REGINA The perfect place to be in Naples.For slow travellers, tourists and artists.This exclusive bed and breakfast is part of the “Donna Regina Vecchia” convent built in the XIV century according to the willing of the Queen Maria of Hungary. Nowadays a family of artists welcome their guests in this elegant and comfortable B&B situated at the 4th floor of this historical complex.B&B Donna Regina is situated in the heart of the old Naples: the Duomo,the Archaeological Museum, Spaccanapoli, and the most important monuments as well as some of the best Restaurants and Pizzerie are reachable in a few steps. At B&B Donna Regina, on request, you can experience a traditional Neapolitan dinner served in the warm and artistic atmosphere of the antique kitchen.Each room, furnished with original and antique furnishings belonging to the family, has its own individual identity and offer the personal artistic touch of Donna Gabriella.All rooms are spacious and have ensuite private bathroom with shower.B&B Donna Regina offers:Double Rooms, Triple Rooms and Double single use.Two of the double rooms have an overhead gallery with other two single beds.B&B Donna Regina is located in the heart of the old town centre of Naples, close to the Archaeological Museum, the Duomo, Spaccanapoli, and the most important monuments as well as some of the best Restaurants and Pizzerie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Donna Regina B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donna Regina Bed And Breakfast
Donna Regina Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing