We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best staff ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant'Eligio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant'Eligio
Ranked #153 of 525 Naples B&B and Inns
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best staff ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The neighborhood is not for folks who are uncomfortable in a large,urban,downtown area. It is very close to the train station which makes it great for seeing all the local attractions like Pompeii-Herculaneum, and Sorrento. Accommodations are basic, but very clean and staff was incredibly attentive. Croissants and coffee served in your room each am at no charge! Owner himself showed us local attractions and could not have been nicer. Thanks for everything, Steve-Mark-Farran

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    63
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
33
59
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Small B&B in an ancient, renovated building located in the historical centre of Naples. Finding it can be a bit tricky even with a GPS because of odd one way streets. Staff is professional, friendly and helpful. The lobby and common areas are decorated with ancient furniture. The room was perfectly clean, reasonably sized (for European standards), with a fully renovated bathroom, also spotlessly clean. Modern shower cabin - hot water, pressure impeccable. Breakfast is served in a gazebo on the rooftop overlooking the roofs of Naples, really enchanting. The location is not the best possible in Naples, but that's because the historical centre in Naples is not the best place to be. However it's just a 5 minutes stroll to the best pizzeria in town, Da Michele a Forcella (seen "Eat Pray Love"?). The streets nearby can look sketchier than they actually are at night, while in the day they are really fun to walk around with plenty of activities going on, including some fish sellers, etc. . If you come by car, they can park it for you during the night for about €15 to avoid tickets.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Homme_Libre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roveredo in Piano
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at the beginning of April (booked through booking.com for 60 euro a night). It's not exactly in the most convenient location, but then it doesn't seem like anything in Naples is convenient. We weren't really sure where we were going the first night and walked around a little more than we needed to and the streets are a little scary at night (but then all of Naples is scary at night). We took the Alibus from the airport and luckily the driver was super nice and dropped us off a little closer than usual. We were able to find the hotel because the restaurant next door has super bright lights. The day we left to go back to the airport we took a taxi which cost slightly less than 20 euro.

The reception was very friendly and the two young ladies speak pretty good English. They took our reservations for breakfast in the morning (part of the price) and offered us a map of the area. The breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, juice, and a croissant.

The room was really clean and pretty spacious and the bathroom was decent sized (stand up shower). We had little or no hot water though and that was pretty annoying. The beds at first seemed comfortable, but then proved to be kind of hard as my arms fell asleep. At no fault of the hotel, there was a child crying in the apartment next door to the hotel all the time. Almost like the parents kept their child on the balcony and ignored him. The room did have A/C though so we shut the window and turned it on to drown out the child.

The restaurant next door is really good and the owners/staff are super friendly. They even offered us some of their own food to try. There's not an awful lot in the neighborhood except a few other pizzerias. We did book a trip through viator.com though and they picked us up at our hotel which proved to be convenient because the streets in Naples are so confusing (and the driving is terrible).

I'm on the edge as to whether or not I would recommend this hotel. Because of the restaurant, the price, and fact that the viator trip picked us up I'm going to...otherwise I probably wouldn't.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank areyouserious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

We were recommended to stay here by friends in Naples as it was central and we could walk to lots of areas of interest within 10 minutes. This was completely the case. We were just minutes away from the Old Centre of Naples and the Duomo and 10-15 minutes from the Palace and Castle the other way. The staff are always helpful, if, as others have said, their English isn't extensive but they take time to work through what you need in terms of advice etc and are always charming. The breakfast is in bed or you can take it up on the roof terrace which is a good space with no real views of anything except the neighbours! However, this was not really an issue as just sitting outside and hearing the nearby church bells chime - at any old time with no logic - was fun and relaxing. I was placed in an adapted room which therefore had a larger bathroom and more space than my friend but both rooms were a good size. The hotel is very clean and the small pizzaria next door is also great.

  • Liked — Central and comfortable
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liffy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

This little hotel was all that we had expected. The rooms were comfortable and clean - and actually had bathroom ammenities that were a welcome change from our Spartan digs at same price near the Pantheon in Rome.

Aldo and Suzanna were gems and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Suzanna even called the Ferry company and negotiated our overnight crossing to Palermo for us as a courtesy. This is what I call helpful!

We enjoyed our simple breakfast on the roof patio and it was nice to meet the day in this alfresco way. The venue trumps the food and coffee but one doesn't expect much for only $85E for a double per night right in the heart of town.

We did wonder if there is a more interesting neighborhood to be in, however, since this one had virtually no restaurants- save the one next door discussed by an earlier post. Our room came with table and chairs so we went to a local deli and stocked up on salumi, cheeses and a pizza from Da Michele and had a feast in the comfort and peace of our own space. A real nice change from being in a restaurant. I would stay here anytime!

  • Liked — Helpful Staff and good price/value
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurants and noisy street
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BeachyGal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2007

The room was by far the cheapest we found during our two trips to Italy. Comfortable enough, very quiet. Elevator available.

The location is close to the historical center, but IMO the historical center is not really the best place in Naples to be close to, unlike most other Italian cities. The 45-min to 1-hour walk to the Piazza Plebescito area, where most of the better restaurants and important sights are, was a bit challenging due to horrific traffic, smog/fumes, and often-obstructed sidewalks. It would be impossible for anyone with mobility impairment or children - like most of Naples. A cab ride to this area is about 7 Euro, but could be more in heavy traffic. The cab ride from the train station is 10-12Euro, including tip. Our cab drivers did not know where the hotel is, so be sure to have it circled on a map and some directions (near Piazza Nicola Amore).

BTW, it's Via Bernadino Rota, not Bartolomeo as shown at the top of this page.


Sylvana, who was there during the day, spoke good English and was very helpful.

Breakfast was adequate (croissant, toast, OJ, and pretty good cafe americano - I do not recommend the capuccino, which was mostly odd-tasting milk with a tinge of coffee.

The neighborhood looked a bit sketchy but was safe enough, even at night.

The lobby smelled strongly of cigar smoke because the owner/manager smokes inside. Not a problem for us, but it might be for some.

Two complaints:
1. The towels looked and smelled really dusty/musty and parts of the room (like the area rugs) seemed like they'd never been cleaned.
2. Re. the hotel's restaurant next door: we had pretty good pizza for lunch the day we arrived. We went back the same day for dinner (no other restaurants nearby) and had the worst meal we've ever had anywhere: soggy spaghetti with one or two fatty chunks of mystery meat, tasteless salad with hard green tomato slices. They also refused to show us the menu and the prices we were charged were higher than they had been at lunch.

Overall, if budget is a major consideration, then this is a good place for you. If not, I'd recommend a hotel closer to the Piazza Plebescito area.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and found it good value for money. Great location being only a few minutes walk from the historical centre of Naples, which is beautiful. Very large room with king size bed. Staff very helpful and friendly. Recommend the family run pizzeria next to the hotel, great traditional food and very reasonably priced. The only disappointing thing about this hotel was the breakfast which I felt was quite poor (no choice, cold coffee). However, everything in consideration I would stay here again and not hesitate in recommending it to others. I was a bit wary of visiting Naples with all the negative press I have read, but I found it a fascinating and beautiful city. I am sure there are areas that tourists should not visit after dark, but just be sensible and enjoy this fantastic and vibrant part of Italy!

  • Liked — location and room size
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliemtalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Garibaldi Naples
#47 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#73 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Hotel CineHoliday
#45 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Pendino
Albergo del Golfo
Albergo del Golfo
#76 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Schilizzi Hotel
#80 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant'Eligio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant'Eligio

Property: Hotel Sant'Eligio
Address: Via Bernardino Rota 36/38, 80133, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant'Eligio 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sant'Eligio arise in 2013 in one of the oldest neighborhoods in the city next to one of the historic churches of Naples ... The Church of St Eligio Maggiore.Located in the heart of the city, is a direct line between the port, railway station and historic center.The rooms are all equipped and comfortable with Air Conditioning, LED TV, Telephone, Mini bar, Warm Radiator, Private Bath and Hairdryer, with Superior Rooms available for the most demanding! The hotel is also equipped with bar, restaurant "O' Peccat è Sant'Eligio " and a large terrace on the top floor where you can have breakfast and relax in the sun.Free Wi-Fi is available in the entire structure.For your stay in Naples treat yourself a dip between past and present! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sant'Eligio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimora Sant Eligio Hotel
Dimora Sant Eligio Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing