We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How often you have real great place suggested on the street?”
Review of Tandem

Tandem
Ranked #46 of 2,900 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Klaipeda, Lithuania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“How often you have real great place suggested on the street?”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

When one finds himself fed with seeing the backs at "everyone wants" Gino Sorbillo or Da Michele, one still may be approached by very friendly inviter to the place, where traditional Neapolitan ragù was stewed for 10 hours, and now is awaiting for you. And with what an attitude - guys and gals really care about food, they offer.

Before doing gnocchi con provola e ragù, I have started with grilled eggplant - and this was perfect: simple, with good deal of olive oil to wet your fresh bread, unobstructive occasional garlic was here for the zest. Loved gnocchi - size of portion and amount of cheese in it was generous, however taste could be shaped to be wider, as after being in half of it, it turned monotonous. Leaves of basilisk were noticeable helpers, as (more?) black pepper would be. I would suggest to either simply decrease the amount of cheese, since it dominates, and the width of ragù taste is not allowed to shine along, as it could, or think about using several varieties of cheese (even if all of provola) to widen taste to be enjoyable till the last spoon.

Ordering generic cup of coffee in the end surprisingly turned out to be small show on the table, even if taking longer to prepare. In no way Fanta should be suggested or ordered along that cuisine, but refreshing and rich Chinotto was excellent, even water would do fine. Tables smallish and flaky, but it's charming in a way, and you hardly can offer all top, when you just started new place. Wonderful overall, left it with exciting feeling and without pocket drama - this is tourist friendly point. It would be pity to observe lines by that place formed next time in Napoli, but team deserves success, and it's hard to see how it could be avoided, when they do what they do so well. Thank you, and best of luck!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank begedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,013
    593
    113
    33
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Solid eatery”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Read some reviews about this place and wanted to try the ragu. It was very thick and filling. Tasty aswell. The service was fantastic. English was good. The wine was cheap and good. The salads were good too. Overall a very solid place to eat in naples when you find it. Decent value too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LexLuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Ragu (but don't look for something else!)”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were approached by one of the owner as we were wondering tourist-like in the streets, and she sold us well her place, in a very enthusiastic way, so we went to check it out after visiting a church nearby.
We had a big portion of ragu with bread (which is a lot already!), with 2 glasses of wines, and 2 digestives, 17€ - so cheap!
The ragu, with big chunks of meat, could have been a little big hotter, but it was indeed delicious. Service was good and friendly, and the place is ok, clean, but a bit small.
If you want authentic house-like ragu-based food, then it is highly recommended, but don't expect anything else!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elvis_frog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

One of the best meals i've had in Napoli, or perhaps ever. Unique take on the menu- It was simple and straight forward, yet the food was so full of flavour and intensity. It was absolutely delicious. Outstanding service, great atmosphere and amazing food. I would recommend this place to anyone. Perfect way to spend the evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“When good food finds you...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I think that was the best restaurant we had in Napoli. Maybe it is because we were walking for hours in the old town, and after a while we were up for something good to eat, and exhausted a bit. However, the old town is full with narrow streets - so the restaurants are pretty small too. On the via Toledo and specifically on the crowded via Pasquale Scura we just didn't have a chance to get a nice, quiet place to sit and have a lunch.

We really started to walk like zombies after a while - and I wished a nice restaurant just come into my way and seduce me... And it actually happened. We crawled around the corner of the via Nilo when a nice guy started to talk to us about a great restaurant that they just opened a few weeks before with his friends. And they have the tipical Napolitan ragú on their menu - not many place has it. Well, first the guy was a bit suspicious that it will be another tourist scam. But A; we were absolutely off so surrendered and B; the guy didn't sound like the typical scammers. He was quite authentic. So we followed him to the Tandem.

And that was the best we could do. Tandem is a small restaurant, not on a crowded, busy street as many restaurants are in its neighbourhood. The crew is young, you can see that they put all their creativity in this place (they even shot funny movies about themselves - that you can watch on flat screens while waiting for your lunch.

They speak perfect English and French too. We could choose from 5 different combos from the menu - all some kind of ragú (stew) dishes, appetizers and coffee. Most of them costed 20 € - so it is quite cheap too. I had a ragú with gnocchi, it came with a 1/4 liter wine, a salad with walnuts, lettuce and pear (really nice) and in the end we got coffee and limoncello. My girlfriend had spaghetti with ragú, with Fanta (he asked for that instead of the wine); really nice mozzarella, and coffee & limoncello.

It was really delicious, the ragú felt quite traditional Napolitan meal that we didn't taste so far, and the crew just did a really great job. For me absolutely the best place to eat in Napoli - I truly recommend that to everyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JFejervari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandem also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Tandem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing