We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small fish restaurant”

Hostaria La Campanella
Ranked #1,186 of 2,900 Restaurants in Naples
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent small fish restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Hostaria La Campanella is one of the few choices if you just would like to go for excellent seafood (no pizza). Small restaurant in an unattractive, but central location close to the harbor but you definitely would'nt walk around here by random.
Small but excellent and fresh seafood menu changing frequently depending on what is available.
Excellent value for money

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DGE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LinoPoli, Proprietario at Hostaria La Campanella, responded to this review, January 5, 2015
thanks for the your positive "trip" in our Hostaria
hope see u again in Naples and HLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    75
    24
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Good lunch Great Value”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This little spot is easily reached by Metro (Univercita stop) tucked in about a block from the piazza. The Metro station is worth seeing in and off its self.

It is ONLY open for weekday lunches and saturday evenings. We did not go early enough and while we were deciding what to order some favourites sold out, it has a busy lunch crowd of mostly locals. We took this to be a good sign.

Having missed out on the Arriabiata pasta we made do with the Broccoli pasta which was fine. One of us had grilled squid the other fried. Grilled vegetables and zucchini were good. Bread was an excellent sourdough. We had a large bottle of sparkling water and a coke.

All this for 25 euro made it the best meal in terms of food quality and value we have had in Naples.

Decor was simple and modern, enthusiastic pleasant waitstaff. A good spot for a good lunch.

Helpful?
2 Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LinoPoli, Proprietario at Hostaria La Campanella, responded to this review, January 26, 2015
thanks for the good words for us!
hope see u again for a "touristic business lunch " ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best Hostaria ever... is in Neaples”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

CAMPANELLA Hostaria combines traditional regional cousine togheter with delicious experimentations with the flavours of mediterranean sea at very little price.

You will feel at ease thanks to Lino & Gino brothers' kindness and sympathy.
Do not ask for the menu, make your choice among the dishes of the day and you won't be disappointed. Let you be tempted by delightful starters. But if you love pasta like me you will enjoy spagetti with mussels and rocket, "fettucelle" with seafood, paccheri with cickpeas and calamarelle (small squids).
Of course you will find the right wine red or wite but if you trust in me ask for the cafone's wine and you won't miss.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diego F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing food - a hidden gem!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We read about this restaurant on Tripadvisor and really wanted to eat here while in Naples. Came here on Mother's Day and were politely told that all of the tables had been reserved. Since it was only a 10-mintes walk from our hotel and just off Piazza Bovio, we decided to come back the next evening. Arriving at 7pm the next evening, we found the restaurant closed but soon of the owner's sons came and politely explained that the restaurant wasn't open until 8pm. He remembered us from the night before and let us sit at a table inside the restaurant, offering us a complimentary glass of wine and snacks. We started with bruschetta, my wife had linguini with mussels and I had paccheri with veges. We finished our dinner with a very nice salad. OMG, the pasta was so fresh and delicious. We also shared a half liter of red wine. Our dinner was so delicious we decided to come back the next night (we broke our rule not to eat at the same restaurant twice on our trip).
The following evening, my wife and I shared the combination appetizer (fritte, octopus, bruschetta, fried sardines, olives, calamari, fried zucchini) -the owner's son also remembered that we asked about bufala mozzarella the previous night and put a that on the plate too! My wife had the farfalle with vodka marinara and I had penne with tomatoes. Both were amazingly delicious for being so simple. We had a strawberry torta for dessert and were served complimentary limoncello as well! We were so overwhelmed by their friendliness, quality of food, and how inexpensive the meals were. There is nothing on the menu over 10euro!
I will definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone who is going to Naples!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank doctorbobf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“NAPOLI BELLISIMO”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We started out in Naples Italy. A first time trip to this area. I must say some people under rate Naples as you need to uncover it slowly. We ran into some local Neopolitians by the Piazza Bellini. Socialized with them that beautiful evening and before you knew it we where invited to their family resturant the next day. Which just put the cherry on the top of the cake. So we ventured forth on a wonderful Italian Sunday the next afternoon. Naples was at Peace, in slow motion. We found the resturant and was taken away first by it's clean simple beauty. We where greeted by the son Lino. No menu was given which was perfect. It was what the Chef (Farther) was making that day. That made you feel like home. So was the food. MOLTO BUONO! If your going to Naples, Napoli this is a must stop with fine local eats and great family tradition. MILLIE GRAZIE. Photos to come at a later date. Some great ones to share.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lavittabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria La Campanella also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Hostaria La Campanella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing