We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyable ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parco Archeologico Pausilypon

Parco Archeologico Pausilypon
Ranked #13 of 372 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pausilypon was the Villa d’otium build by roman knight Publio Vedio Pollio. When Pollio died (15 b.C.) it was given in legacy to the emperor Augustus, becoming an official imperial estate. It is located in one of the most fascinating places in Naples with a fantastic view over the Bay of Naples.The gateway to the villa was given by the monumental Seiano’s cave (a tunnel 770 meters long caved in the hillside of Posillipo).
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Very Enjoyable tour. Our guide was well versed on the history of the site and gave us lots of time for photos and questions. Not recommended for mobility challeneged but fantastic otherwise.

Helpful?
4 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    473
    94
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Pompee was fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our private tour guide was wonderful and it was amazing to finally see the site we had heard about since we were kids- quite a large place and interesting. A bit hard to walk on some of the paths, as the stones were big and there were gaps between them. Would highly recommend a visit but not in the heat and humidity of July which we had!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank starsky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a very suggestive place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

is a bit difficult to reach but is a very suggestive place with a delightful atmosphere and flavor of previous lives history, secrets and mysteries. do not miss it if you are going to naples, in the summer hosts interesting concerts.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank twiggy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a real winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

escape the summer heat of naples at this interesting, fun, manageable, & glorious setting. stand onstage of the theaters augustus saw plays in - it was one of his favorite summer getaways. a sequestered site accessed thru an 800 meter grotto with an incredible view of ischia, procida & capri with breezes blowing. charming tour guide antonella lead myself & a friend & 4 neopolitans thru a leisurely tour of the site (we had the entire bucolic place to ourselves) & afterwards my friend & i descended to the beach below where i had a long swim. then 100 meters from there was the bus back to the train station, where we had a beer while waiting. we were back in the center of naples in plenty of time to get on with our evening's plan. you must reserve in advance, but the charge per person is only 5e - such a deal!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank jwojda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

very few tourists - amazing tunnel thru the mountain to the Roman
ruins sitting high above the bay...Amazing history (recommend
a guide)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank waterbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parco Archeologico Pausilypon also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Parco Archeologico Pausilypon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing