We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Il Comandante

Il Comandante
Reserve a Table
2
Sun, 9/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #146 of 3,640 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Il Comandante is a gourmet restaurant awarded 1 Michelin Star since 2012. Il Comandante was the title given to Achille Lauro. And our restaurant was his palace, the historical site of Lauro's naval fleet. We like to imagine this place as the ship's bridge from where one dominates the bay of Naples, the port, the ships that arrive and depart in a never still landscape, never identical. Our kitchen evokes the charm of a trip: the great muse is the Mediterranean "mare nostrum", a melting pot of people and cultures tastes and traditions, where our Chef Salvatore Bianco elaborates the ingredients with respect and passion. Enjoy the experience.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

I tried the tasting menu and it was not exceptional. I asked for a wine pairing and ended up being charged almost 100 euro more. That's a little pricey for a tasting of 4 wines.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank EmiliaS640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear EmiliaS640,
thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
So displeased that your dinner at il Comandante restaurant did not meet your expectations.
Probably it was just a matter of taste.
Hope you will come again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 504 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

Come early for dinner to enjoy the view of Mt. Vesuvius before sunset, truly an impressive setting on the top of Hotel Romeo.

The food is beautifully presented and thoughtfully prepared. I opted to order ala carte (two surprise tasting menus are available) because I wanted to be sure to try the signature egg dish (good but wasn’t as impressive as I expected ) and the chiocciole in “istiana broth” ( a beautifully composed rabbit pasta dish which included truffles and baby asparagus).

The “lamb solo” main course was an interesting preparation of every piece of the lamb served with some microscopic vegetable pieces and asparagus purée. The plate looked beautiful but at least as the veggies were concerned, was a bit light on portion.

Plenty of chef surprise amuse bouche items and petit fours to round out the evening. The server recommended an excellent primitivo by the glass and was attentive and friendly throughout the evening.

Overall highly recommended !

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank dsc815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Dear dsc815,
Thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor. We are very proud of our reputation of excellence and it is a pleasure to hear that we were able to make your visit so truly memorable and that you had an enjoyable experience at Il Comandante restaurant.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at our restaurant.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

If you’ve been to other Mechlin restaurants around the world then you will be disappointed with this one for sure.

The food was good but no surprise, pretty standard for a fine dinning restaurant. Service was way below standard, Vileria was the only one who serves with a Michelin standard (serves plates and towels with gloves, very polite, introduce each courses etc). So well done to her.

The whole dining experience was horrible, especially with the waiter called Ciro. Clashing plates and cutleries while placing them on the table, never introduce the dish, literally dropped and left. He did not even bother to ask if my husband has finished his course and took away his plate immediately WHILE I was still eating, a Michelin restaurant for sure would wait till both persons have finished, ask and take away at the same time.

Notwithstanding bread crumbs were left at the table till we had our petit four, no one bother to clean up but Vileria. The manager seems to be very lazy as well, it’s also his job to make sure the team is up to the standard, but instead he just leave it as it is.

We were completely in shock this is a Michelin restaurant, we’ve been to a lot of Michelin restaurants around the world but this is the worst I have to say.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank franceschoii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Dear franceschoii,
thank you for sharing your experience with the online community.
We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your experience at il Comandante restaurant because of our staff attitude. We are really surprised because they are used to look after our guests with a respectful behave, being always ready to satisfy our customers needs impeccably.
Please be aware that we have discussed your comments with the appropriate heads of department to avoid situations such as these from arising in the future.
Even if during your dinner we could not meet your expectations, we hope to welcome you again and have the chance to show that we normally serve a high level of service.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

The food and setting are truly fabulous. We had the 9 course tating menu and one course (their signature egg dish) was a dish I will remember for the rest of my life. Truly the second best single dish I have ever eaten.

Service could be improved with just a small lack of attention when glasses were empty. But overall a thoroughly enjoyable meal.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank AJD71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Dear AJD71,
thank you for sharing your experience at il Comandante resturant with the TripAdvisor community.
So pleased that you loved the food, especially our signature dish, THE EGG. It is the most requested course by everyone.
We will share all your comments with our Restaurant Manager, in order to improve our service more and more.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

Dont get me wrong, when in magical company, even street food tastes like royal feast.. However, Il Comandante made sure that fine dinning is redefined.. Amazing dishes, imaginative presentation, meatless ragu, dreamy desserts.. it was superb gastro experience on so many levels.. drinks matched to perfection only equal to impeccable yet friendly service...

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank DLWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager_Romeo, Direttore generale at Il Comandante, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Dear DLWarsaw,
thank you for your special review, really appreciated.
Hope to welcome you again here in the beautiful Naples soon.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Comandante also viewed

 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Il Comandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing