We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Moving food... something I've never seen before” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Comandante

Il Comandante
Ranked #209 of 2,766 Restaurants in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Il Comandante is a gourmet restaurant awarded 1 Michelin Star since 2012. Il Comandante was the title given to Achille Lauro. And our restaurant was his palace, the historical site of Lauro's naval fleet. We like to imagine this place as the ship's bridge from where one dominates the bay of Naples, the port, the ships that arrive and depart in a never still landscape, never identical. Our kitchen evokes the charm of a trip: the great muse is the Mediterranean "mare nostrum", a melting pot of people and cultures tastes and traditions, where our Chef Salvatore Bianco elaborates the ingredients with respect and passion. Enjoy the experience.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Moving food... something I've never seen before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Bianco served up 2 Signature Dishes if our menu degustation, both were brialiant from the new “experimental - Heston” style cooking. 10 courses not including the fancy nuts with our apperatif on the terrace overlooking Naples bay and Vesusius.
3 raw prawns (SD), salmon eggs, fried egg on sheep cheese, crayfish foam on pasta , red mullet, waving fronds on ox tail pasta (SD), pork, fragolet, raspberry mousse, 8 petit four. The fronds actually sat on the ox tail pasta and waved about for about 2 minutes. Eat your heart out Heston. I have never seem moving food before (I’m not counting setting light to alcohol as moving food), although oysters sometimes cringe when you put the lemon on them... but that’s too easy, they are alive. I wish I’d had the forethought to video it, or at least ask Bianco how he did it.
The view from the fancy 10th floor of the Romeo hotel is stunning, and great fun to watch the ferries glide out to sea all lit up, with Vesuvius in the background.
This restaurant deserves at least one more Michelin star.
A bargain at £300 including 2 bottles of wine, desert wine

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Major L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    56
    36
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

The food was just amazing. Service and atmosphere spot on! Beautiful view from the 10th Floor. We enjoyed our New Years Eve in this restaurant very much.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magdalena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A true Michelin star restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

This was my first time at the restaurant and my second 1-star restaurant visit in Naples, by far this is the better of the two (the Sud). The staff speaks English and our Chef's special dinner was absolutely a wonderful experience and beautiful work of art.
I will come back again with my husband.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly, cozy, delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Il Comandante, situated on the 10th floor of the Hotel Romeo on the port of Naples, delivered generally what was expected for one of two Michelin starred restaurants in Naples. There are three set menus and each of the dishes on the set menu is available a al carte. Two of the menus are themed - I think one is land, one is sea. The third is the chef's menu, which rather predictably (and somewhat disappointingly) promised an array of dishes made from market fresh ingredients selected that day by the chef, and turned out to be a selection of dishes from the other two menus. That aside, every course was delicious, especially the savory and rich 65 degree egg (order it and find out for yourself). One of the seafood courses was a simple selection of fresh seafood (prawns and fish) cooked to perfect tenderness with fresh greens and a turmeric sauce that complimented the seafood without overpowering it. The dessert was delicious, especially the fresh berry gelato. The service was friendly and mostly informal. The staff kindly spoke English to us, and the sommelier gave excellent wine recommendations - and, in true Neapolitan fashion, applauded our choice of a less expensive bottle rather than acting like a snob about it. We were seated in a smaller room with no view of the port, but we did have a nice view of the kitchen through a pane of glass, which suited us better at any rate. The biggest minus, in my view is that there actually is no bathroom. You have to get on the elevator and go down a floor to the bar, explain hurriedly that you are dining on the 10th floor and they sent you to use the bathroom... all a little more discussion about my need to urinate than I had bargained for when I stood up from the table and murmured "excuse me". So, this place is excellent, certainly deserving of praise (and, probably, the michelin star), and perfect for both groups of friends and romantic couples evenings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuvak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having booked the placed a few days earlier we arrived three minutes before the opening time of 8.00 pm. We were asked to wait rather than pointed to our table. This worked for us as we absorbed the excellent panoramic view of the city and the gulf down to Sorento.
The menu provided an excellent choice for every course. We were impressed by the quality of food and offer to cater vegetarian choice to one of our party. The choice of breads was wide and taste was enhanced with the quality of local olive oil and the choice of salts (four) and peppers (four). The recommended local wine complemented the courses we had chosen.
The journey to the washroom is a journey – by lift to the floor below.
Overall experience – good – we were impressed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank safarisurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Comandante also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 
Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Il Comandante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing