We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel of my life” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Potenza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Potenza
Ranked #120 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worst hotel of my life”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

You had to ask the staff for anything at least 3 times.
Both sinks didnt drain.
Got to our room only to find old hairs in both of our bed linens. Asked to change rooms, the next room was just as dirty so we have up.
Table in te room had dried up food grime that the maid tried to pass off as 'dust from outside' even though it was hard and sticky.
Breakfast = cheap bread, butter and jam, yogurt. That's it.
Everything has a filthy feel, receptionist smoking inside...
No fan in the washroom so our room was always humid.
Right by the construction so always noisy with trashy people always around. Definitely not a safe area. The 'chef' of the hotel restaurant tried to hit on me even though he's as least twice my age!
Overall gross, wish it was refundable cause I would have left in a heartbeat. My family and I dreaded being there!
No value for money. Would never recommend !!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieFox44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    38
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
17
30
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolu, Turkey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After some days in Rome where we had to spend a LOT for basic services and food; Napoli has appeared like an oasis. And Hotel Potenza is no exception. Very affordable with a helping staff and reasonable next-door restaurant makes this hotel a good find. Rooms are not wide but have high ceilings. Due to lack of floor cleaning there were lots of hairballs everywhere but fortunately linens and towels were clean enough. Location is close to the station; it is a positive aspect. But the never ending renovation works it the Piazza Garibaldi blocks all the beatiful view. The breakfast is really scarce, almost no variety. Inspite of the criticism, Hotel Potenza is still more on the positive side.

Room Tip: Just one floor. probably all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Coming into Napoli, a notoriously crime ridden city, it was a great comfort to get a room right next to the train station that made me feel secure. If you're worried about it being far from sights, don't worry. Its a very short walk into town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crosby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyrenia, Cyprus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

It has been a great pleasure to stay in Naples. Hotel Potenza offers small but cozy accommodation next to the main train station. Only thing that was upsetting for us is that rooms are not sound-proof and you can hear everything that is going on in the corridor. WiFi in the lounge is an advantage for all. Breakfast is absolutely the same every single day which makes it not very enjoyable after 3 days...
I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for economy place to stay in a central location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
325 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We needed a place close to the station for an early morning departure and, after spending a long day walking all over this lovely city we found a perfect spot in the Potenza. It's very close to the station, right on Piazza Garibaldi. The walk to and from the station is maybe 3 minutes. The hotel has a tiny lobby, barely room for two people, and no elevator that we could see, but it is spotlessly clean, has AC, offers a basic breakfast and amenities like a safe and minibar. The TV is microscopic, but seriously, who is going to sit inside and watch TV when the city awaits! This is a fine solution for budget minded travelers who want safe, secure and comfortable lodging. I don't doubt that I will be back to the Potenza again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfreak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Naples. Let me start by saying that the hotel is incredibly convenient to the train station. I was traveling with my parents and two children, and we had no problem dragging the bags - maybe a 5 minute walk. Okay - the construction project in Piazza Garibaldi is MASSIVE and the traffic is...well...overwhelming. However we were not disturbed at all during our stay. The rooms are clean and serve the purpose. Breakfast is meager and disappointing. We went to Pompeii and also to the Vomero (a much much nicer part of Naples and worth seeing- great shopping). The hotel has a restaurant just next door - run by the same family - and the service and food was excellent. Piazza Garibaldi is dirty (garbage everywhere) and the vendors and loitering there does make you want to clutch your bag a little tighter - however the convenience the hotel offers to the train station made it worth the stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 2dogsinmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crotone, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel was right by the train station and many bus stops, but I would never go back. The bed was clean and comfortable enough. The television was very small. The room stank of cigarette smoke all day and night which was not too surprising as there were ashtrays all over the hotel. There is massive construction going on in Plaza Garibaldi and it starts bright and early at 7am and goes all day until about 7pm. We were not in our room much during the day but whenever we were it was noisy and smoky. The bathroom was dirty with mildew all around the shower and the shower drain had problems draining the water out. The toilet smelled strongly of sewer and the furniture in the room was quite dusty in general. There were little ants all over the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank callejera_perdida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Clarean
#143 of 190 in Naples
3.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Mercato
Luna Rossa Hotel
Luna Rossa Hotel
#105 of 190 in Naples
3.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Hotel La Stazione
#78 of 190 in Naples
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Sayonara Hotel
#53 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Hotel Ideal
#144 of 190 in Naples
3.0 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Hotel CineHoliday
#43 of 190 in Naples
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Potenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Potenza

Property: Hotel Potenza
Address: Piazza Giuseppe Garibaldi 120, 80142, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Mercato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 190 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Potenza 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Potenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Potenza Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing