We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #4 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Naples is a city - a very busy, chaotic at times, charming city. My boyfriend and I knew what to expect having done some reading beforehand. What we were looking for was a room to escape the hustle and bustle,and for us, this was ideal.
The hotel is in a fantastic location, just off via Toledo and you can easily walk to all the main sites - I would recommend this in fact as you get a real sense of the city you are staying in.
We slept brilliantly at the hotel, other reviewers have commented on the noise, maybe we are very heavy sleepers but we didn't notice at all! The air conditioning is great, the bed very comfortable and the whole hotel is extremely clean.
I was most impressed by the welcome and advice we had from everyone working at the hotel - we only stayed two nights but felt that they went above and beyond what would be expected in terms of helping us to enjoy our stay.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough - I loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonHolidaylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    385
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
221
466
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

In a two week tour of Italy, we spent 3 nights in the Hotel Il Convento in Naples. The room was large and had modern amenities in a heritage building. The hotel appeared to have been recently renovated and it was very clean. It is in the downtown area, which allows visitors to walk to most of the major sites, or have easy access to bus service.

The staff are the highlight of this hotel. They responded to my emails promptly, they were very helpful in suggesting places to eat and things to do. Breakfast is very good, with lots of variety. In addition, on a day trip to Ischia, I lost a full SD camera card and they have been very thoughtful and helpful in my attempts to retrieve it. I would return to this hotel and stay again.

Room Tip: We had a room in the front, with a small balcony overlooking the street. We could hear the church b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patience C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The people at the hotel made the stay, what it was, they were very good, it was like walking into a oasis, quiet, clean, and comfortable. Felt safe at the location, and it was very central to all the different activities that a person would want to see. It was Italy, corner stores only a few feet away, several restaurants within a 5 min walk, all good. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: pay more and get the rooms with the terraces, don't be cheap you will enjoy the solitude at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boatshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is in a good location and we were able to walk to the buses and to the ferry to Capri. The staff was very helpful, we were given a map when we arrived but anytime we had a question, which was most of the time the staff gave us directions, told us what times places in the area closed, etc. The rooms were a nice size and clean. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keylasmom136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This hotel is in the middle of everything.
Very nice location.
you have scooters racing through the small streets
people shouting
everything very autentic
rooms are very smal with very litlle Space for your clothes

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved our stay at Il Convento. A wonderful room for 2 adults and two kids, quiet, charming, clean. Great atmosphere. Location is in the great, 5 minutes to centro storico in one direction and 5 minutes to Lungomare in the other. Lovely little breakfast and really nice, helpful staff!
Great experience!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaPeterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at Il Convento. The 2nd night, my husband said "this is the nicest hotel we've stayed in" and I agree. Beautifully proportioned and comfortable room with balcony and excellent bathroom, very fast wifi, generous breakfast, ample and quite inexpensive minibar. Optimal location, with both the city sights and the port in easy reach, on a charming and surprisingly quiet street. Exceptionally helpful staff. Back in London this afternoon, Maria Chiara called us as we had left our camera and she immediately began to facilitate its return. There is no other hotel we would stay in Naples, and we hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsDance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,075 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
435 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,415 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Property: Hotel Il Convento
Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing