We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but that's all”
Review of Hotel Il Convento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Il Convento
Ranked #4 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK, but that's all”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in Naples for 3 days at the start of May. Naples is, depending on your point of view, exciting or scary, quaint or shabby, vibrant or downright noisy! Not recommended if you have small children (you will be scared they are killed by a Vespa) but recommended if you were once a student backpacker who wants a small frisson of excitement in middle age. The hotel reflects Naples - it is a noisy (or vibrant) area, is more quaint than shabby. The staff are pleasant and speak good English. The breakfast is OK. The room we had faced the road and, if you are a light sleeper (which I am not) I expect you could have found relaxation difficult. Our room was a top floor room with outside patio, and this was delightful, I expect even more so in the height of summer when, quite frankly, you would be barking mad to go to Naples. Overall, I think the hotel is OK, if somewhat overpriced. I'm not sure it deserves such a high rating as it has, but everyone takes a different view.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with outside patio on the top floor. Keep away from the road side of the hotel, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magoo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    385
    47
    13
    4
See reviews for
221
466
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Botwood NL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased with this small hotel. Our room was small, but comfortable. Breakfast was very good and generous indeed. Obviously they had heard previous complaints and took steps to correct the situation, which shows the value of sites like this one. The staff were very nice and helpful. The one thing we did not like that much was the location on a super busy street. There's also a fish market two doors down, so we had to keep the window shut. And the traffic, particularly the scooters, were exactly as described by other reviewers. But I guess it's all about the color and the character of Naples, so we put up with it. Also, there are a couple of excellent restaurants very close to the hotel (just check TripAdvisor) so it was good not having far to walk back at night. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived at Hotel 11 Convento after a VERY long day. It was an Italian holiday & everyone in Naples was partying - and not all the trains had been running!!! Anyway, staff was VERY nice, we were thrilled to find the mini-bar, room was adorable & bathroom one of the nicest we'd had in Italy. Walked the busy streets to a delicious dinner of pizza & beer. Street scene was somewhat loud outside our room, but not too bad & it was sort of background noise. Breakfast was a little differend, but good & very nicely set out. All in all, a taste of Naples - an interesting place. We liked it alot.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

First, let me say if this spartan little hotel been in a nicer city, I might have been able to overlook its shortcomings. However, Naples is filthy, loud, trash everywhere, graffiti on all its historical buildings, hucksters trying to take advantage of tourists at every turn, not at all charming. (As an example, on a downtown city sidewalk, when I side-stepped to avoid a feminine hygiene pad on the ground, I almost stepped in dog crap --- THIS is Naples.) The noise and trash makes Rome look pristine in comparison.

So, it was hard to overlook the many issues at the Hotel Convento.

This hotel is really more along the lines of a youth hostel...very plain, dated, drab. For the price I expected it to be just a little nicer. There was supposed to be air conditioning and in-room wifi -- neither was working while we were there (we were told there was a law against turning on the AC before a certain date in May, but we went into other shops on the same day that had AC running). It was very hot one of the days we were there, and lack of A/C would not have been an issue if we could have opened the windows without being assaulted by the mind-bogglingly LOUD street traffic --- motor scooters and people yelling outside until 1:30 a.m. - then church bells clanging RIGHT OUTSIDE THE WINDOW for 40 seconds every morning at 7 a.m. and again at 7:30 a.m. (hear it for yourself! I uploaded a recording I made at http://blairblanks.com/share/convento.m4a). Earplugs were of little use. I suggest having many drinks before bed in order to get a good night's sleep!
The staff was friendly and tried to be accommodating, offered to move our room, but really, there was not much they could do.
The room was clean but drab. The towels were very thin; the bedding was just OK. Blankets looked worn out. Breakfast pastries tasted stale and there was some very odd meat that I actually had to spit out (and I am a pretty adventurous eater). And did I mention it was LOUD? (this point can not be underscored enough!)

It boggles the mind that this hotel gets such glowing reviews, and frankly makes me a bit suspicious.

We were in Naples to see the start of the Giro d'Italia bike race. In retrospect, we should have stayed in town only for the day of the race and spent the night elsewhere, then moved on instead of staying three night like we did. Live and learn.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room (actually 4th, as ground floor counts as "zero") was loud. Perhaps top floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelilconvento, Direttore at Hotel Il Convento, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Naples is a lively, busy, dirty, noisy, mysterious city as everyone knows. Once Andy Warhol said that Naples is like New York: a city with garbage and transvestites, a city that's falling apart but nonetheless happy.

If you'd spent more time looking up instead of on the street, you would have noticed lots of ancient buildings, churches on every corner (of course, each of them ring bells every time there is a mass), you would have been immersed in the belly of the city . But you preferred looking at the ground, loosing all the beauties that Naples has to offer to those who can seize them...what a pity!

Ours is a small hotel-style monastery, simple and friendly. We are in a 1600 building so we decided to deface the facade of the building with air conditioning and we preferred to use a central air conditioning plant. This facility is subject to municipal rule power to limit CO2 emissions. I understand that the problem of the enviroment is not in the sensitivity of all ... that's why the Earth is in this condition! In those days you were the only one asking for the air conditioning, and for this reason we proposed to you to move into a junior suite with private roof garden (rooms that have their own air conditioning, not dependent on central plant) at no extra costs but you, inexplicably, declined our offer.

Your words about Naples made ​​us understand why: you simply were not where you wanted to be!
Next time you decide to visit the south of Italy we suggest you to go to the Amalfi Coast or Capri or Ischia, which are great places for tourists. It's bettere to leave Naples to Travellers.

", Naples surpasses everything... I apologize to all those to whom the sight of Naples does lose consciousness!" J.W. Goethe

Best regards,
Hotel Il Convento
Maria Chiara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Simple but clean room with all the amenities they advertise (tv, mini bar, A/C, wifree),
very friendly staff,
nice breakfast. Breakfast room extremely small and not enough space for all the guests, but you can order breakfast to your room with no extra charge, so they fixed this problem nicely :)
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasa2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

An oasis in the "Quartiere degli Spagnoli" one of the most lively and typical places in Naples. Excellent location in the historical and commericial part of the city. (Via Chiaia, Via Toledo at the footsteps). You feel the real heart beat of the city. Fantastic coffee for Breakfast. Very helpful staff. Close by you have a great restaurant: Ciro di Santa Bridiga and a simple but excellent Trattoria Antica Capri (family run).

Room Tip: Ask a room not facing Via Speranzella but the inner court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger1Winterthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohain, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel lies in the bustling Spanish quarter. They had given us the address of a nearby garage to leave the car (strongly recommended in Naples!). We had booked what proved to be a pleasant top floor room with a roof terrace. Everything,was fine except for the bathroom. A complicated installation had been put up in the bath shower with the purpose of squirting from many angles. The problem was not so much that it did not work (we did not mind), but that it affected the direct flow to the shower, which was little more than a trickle. Our complaint fell in the weekend and we had to wait two days before the flow to the shower had been restored with the instruction not to dream of touching the super squirt. .Breakfast was no more than OK. There were meats but these had been cut rather unappetizingly (e.g. low-quality Mortadella a centimeter thick). All in all, we retain a good memory of a well located, friendly hotel, but with weaknesses..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,076 reviews
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
435 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,417 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Convento

Property: Hotel Il Convento
Address: Via Speranzella 137/a, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Naples
#6 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#10 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Il Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Convento is a cute little hotel in the very heart of Naples. It's situated in the narrow atmospheric streets of the Quartieri Spagnoli only few meters away from the main shopping street (Via Roma/Via Toledo)In a palace of the 1600, skillfully restored, with the aim to re-create its original look it feels a bit like living in a castle (lit candles and brickwalls). The hotel is filled with beautiful furniture have a cute breakfast area and free wi-fi in breakfast rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Il Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Convento Hotel
Il Convento Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing