We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, Secure and Convenient to Port”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Ranked #23 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Quaint, Secure and Convenient to Port”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

My son and I stayed five nights at the Chiaja Hotel, which was recommended to us by its sister hotel in Naples. Located on a pedestrian-only street (Via Chiaia) and without a prominent sign out front, it may be a bit difficult to find, especially at night. We, however, found it without problem. Like others who've reviewed this hotel, we found it very safe: one has to go through a locked and monitored door to get to the front desk, and another locked and monitored door to get to your room, if you are on the second floor. The staff was very polite and professional. The lounge and breakfast room are the sort of quaint, "grand tour" common areas that encourage a convivial atmosphere among fellow guests; it felt right out of an E.M. Forester novel. Breakfast, served from 0830-1030, was included and was quite good. The hotel rooms are on two floors, the main level and the second floor. I recommend a room on the main floor; the hotel's wifi did not reach our second floor room at all, which required us to spend a lot of time in the lobby to access the internet. Our room faced the street and had a small balcony overlooking Via Chiaia, a bustling, noisy street. Light sleepers should ask for a room on the interior. We slept fine. Our room was simply furnished: two twin beds, two night tables, dressing cabinet, and chair. The bathroom was larger than most and has been updated recently with modern appliances. It turned hot when we arrived in mid-June; the AC in our room kept it cool at night after we struggled to figure out the remote control. The Chiaja Hotel is a 10 minute walk from the ferry port to Capri and the other islands, is very close to fine shopping, and is close to several traditional restaurants. If you want a hotel close to the train station or airport, however, I recommend looking elsewhere.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    494
    130
    55
    8
See reviews for
203
500
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent our first night in Naples here when our main hotel (Decumani del Charme) had a burst pipe. We turned up at the Decumani who put us in a pre-paid taxi over to the Chaija. The hotel is situated a short way up a pedestrianised street, and, like its sister hotel the Decumani, you enter a courtyard and climb up to the second floor to reception. Fortunately, they were expecting us, and our room was ready straight away. The room itself was dark as it looked out on to a narrow street and had dark furniture, but had a large, wonderfully comfortable bed, and a beautiful writing desk as well as a large wardrobe with a safe and minibar. We didn't mind it being dark as we only planned to sleep in the room. The bathroom had a whirlpool bath with shower over. It was clean enough and had good towels.

Breakfast was fine, fruit, yoghurt and pastries but no savoury meats or cheese. Jugs of coffee but staff were happy to make one from the machine.

The hotel location was excellent, and within easy walking distance to the port and ferry terminal to the islands. However, if you plan on taking a train to Pompei or Herculaneum, you will probably need to get a taxi. However, we walked from the hotel into the Centro Storico quite easily. Lots of bars and restaurants around the hotel as well. The hotel recommended the Locanda 'Ntretella just around the corner for lunch - it was excellent. Lots of other bars and restaurants around as well.

Naples is a large sprawling city - few hotels will be quiet at night. People and bikes buzzed up and down the street at night - although I was amused when a large crane stopped outside our window at midnight and started cranking up to do some work. But it was gone by 4.30am and we pretty much slept through it.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fleet-resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were only able to stay in the Chiaja Hotel de Charme for one night. We had already been in Italy for 3 weeks and were ready to head home to Oregon. We'd found this hotel on Venere.com and one recommendation was from a single woman travelling for business. She said she'd stayed here because it felt so safe. We were sold on that comment and couldn't agree more. We were warmly welcomed each time we came in and with the massive entrance to an inner courtyard, accessible only by intercom, we too felt safe. The hotel is right on the upscale pedestrian-only Chiaia with lots of pizza restaurants and galeterias. It's just a block or so from the historical Gambrinu cafe, great for a cappuccino or late night dessert. The hotel is well located, near the harbor and on Sunday, we took a stroll along the waterfront, which was closed to traffic. The hotel's ambiance was old world charm. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, the day my husband and I flew into Naples for what was to be a 7 day trip,we had to plan our return home due to an emergency. We checked into the hotel during the late afternoon and decided to make the most of our stay before having to leave for a very early flight the next morning.
The hotel certainly lives up to its name... truely a charming place to stay in a great location! Everyone was welcoming and friendly. We loved our room, #114, spacious, comfortable and spotless...with a small balcony that looked out over the Via Chiaia.
Naples is a city that is so full of life! It makes your heart smile! Hopefully, we will return again soon, and when we do, not have to return home so quickly!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizabethRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sora, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This hotel is the former residence of a Marquis! It is very characteristic of the area and despite my room overlooking the street I was not disturbed at all. The staff were very helpful, spoke English and bent over backwards to make our stay pleasant. Some lactose free products at breakfast would have been a real bonus. (Milk for cappuccino and yogurt).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatanna25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is small charming hotel located in a perfect location in Naples. Spacious rooms, love the bath tub, excellent wifi and the list goes on. Alex, Rosy, Dario (also Claudia) thanks for making this a memorable trip. The staff is professional, they go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and very helpful with anything that you might need.

Room Tip: The hotel serves a light breakfast but does not have a full service restaurant. However, within a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were placed in this hotel by its sister hotel for two nights. On arrival we were shown to a small scruffy room containing a bed and two bedside cabinets. On complaining I was told the hotel was full. When we complained the air conditioning did not work they suddenly found us another room. Room 107 is next door to the breakfast room and we were woken each morning at 5.30 a.m. as the staff began breakfast preparations. The staff are unhelpful and seem to think the hotel is run for their benefit and not that of their guests. The Rough Guide states it is furnished with antique furniture - 'junk shop finds' would be a kinder description.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiaia
Hotel Palazzo Alabardieri
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiaja Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Property: Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Address: Via Chiaia 216 | 1° piano - 1th floor, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiaja Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chiaja Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiaja Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing