We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights and had a mixed experience. The room the first night was disappointing and we complained. The hotel responded well and moved us to a better room for the remaining nights. Breakfast was a shambles some days with food not replenished or tables cleared. If you arrived later in the allocated breakfast period the tables were uncleared with no plates or cutlery - people simply gave up and went elsewhere. We were offered dirty cutlery - some staff training and supervision is needed in this hotel. On the other hand the hotel put on free cakes every evening.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    514
    141
    59
    9
See reviews for
218
528
67
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very good location with easy walking to Sea, Royal Palace and City Centre. A small hotel with miniscule eating area for (not very good) buffet breakfast. Our room overlooked the Via Chiaja, which is a very busy, very narrow street. We stayed for 1 night only - a Saturday - & It is the only night in my life when I haven't slept a wink, as noisy motor scooters drove past all night.

Room Tip: 1. Do not accept a room overlooking Via Chiaja & ensure the a/c works 2. We made the mistake of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grambob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I researched this property on Trip Advisor and except for the usual one or two complaints, it looked very good, it is not. The location, though probably safe is a bit off putting when you get out of the taxi and have to walk up a narrow, dark street. The hotel is behind a large door and then up stairs. We stayed there on a hot day in September which contributed to our issues. The air conditioning was not on in our room when we arrived, after trying to get it going, I had to ask the staff several times for assistance. When it was finally turned on, it failed to cool the room. It was not a pleasant evening. Water pressure is uneven in the shower. The sheets had holes in them. The bright spot was the coffee at breakfast, the rest of breakfast was very mediocre.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for only one night, on our way to Pompei and Amalfi Coast. We were very disappointed with the hotel. We booked based on price, the reviews and the location. Here are my comments.
Location: It is in the middle of a pedestrian street, so if you are driving, take into consideration you will not be able to take the car near the hotel, and the closest street was always packed, so I had to walked to the hotel to check-in and get some help with the bags, while my husband stayed in the car. The hotel description says they offer parking, what they don't say is that it is over 500 yards away, and on a steep street, so be ready to walk. It is in the downtown of old Naples, but not a very nice neighborhood to walk at night.
Staff: Extremely helpful. We arrived late at night, and since we had to take the car to the parking the manager guided us with his scooter to the parking.
Breakfast: Was average. Capuccino made at the moment, Naples pastries, fruits (not the best looking). What I enjoyed the most from our trip to Italy was that all hotels had mini Nutella (or hazelnut chocolate spread) and toast. I could live out of that and coffee...
Rooms: The shower tiny. The bed way too hard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am a price conscious person so my statement "great" should be noted with that in consideration!
Naples has a startling effect on one. When you arrive at this hotel, you think "oh god where am I". You are actually in quite a good neighborhood... Don't let the occasional dead cockroach in the middle of the street fool you. once you get accustomed to where you are, you see that the location is great.

The rooms are very spacious (I know ours was and I admit to peeping into some rooms when housekeeping was visiting) The bathroom was new and clean. The bed was large and comfy, the minibar was nicely stocked with reasonable prices.

The staff were helpful. The breakfast wasn't much of a charmer but there are mnay places you can go to very close by. Overall, considering the price and location this was a really good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilkeaksoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We arrived on a Sunday evening and the whole of Naples was shut including the front timber gate of the courtyard of the hotel. Arrived inside and the amazement began with the lovely hotel and the lovely staff who were always helpful and spoke good English including the charming owner. We were traveling by bus and taxi so the location was great. Lovely breakfast every morning and lots of resteraunts around to choose from. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We only saw our room so cannot compare
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Second time staying here. We spent part of our honeymoon here 10 years ago. Great location, beautiful building, great staff,lovely rooms, and personal touches like little cakes waiting in the lobby at tea time. Give breakfast a miss one morning and go to Gambrinus for it instead, treat yourself! Great hotel, Good value for money. We'll be back !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
962 reviews
Chiaia
Hotel Palazzo Alabardieri
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#3 of 186 in Naples
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiaja Hotel de Charme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiaja Hotel de Charme

Property: Chiaja Hotel de Charme
Address: Via Chiaia 216 | 1° Piano - 1th Floor, 80121, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#20 Business Hotel in Naples
#20 Family Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiaja Hotel de Charme 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chiaja Hotel de Charme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiaja Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing