We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a somewhat bleak neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza
Ranked #50 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a somewhat bleak neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

We chose this hotel on the basis of our previous good experience with Best Western hotels in Europe and because of favorable reviews on this site. The hotel is very good and a very good value. The staff speaks English and is very helpful. The downside is that it is in a somewhat bleak neighborhood without much choice of restaurants. We were recommended to one across the piazza, the Principe Umberto, with great tasting food but very spotty service. We did not have the sense that the neighborhood was dangerous. The hotel is within short walking distance of the central railroad station. A nice touch was two free computers in the lobby, which we could use to access our email.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tudomany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    368
    201
    68
    46
See reviews for
143
325
56
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. They provided us with toothbrushes, toothpaste etc as the airline lost our luggage and were always ready to answer any questions (ferry schedule to Capri, location of this or that sight and so on.) The room wasn't big, but it was comfortable. The breakfast included cold cuts, cheese, cereals, pastries, eggs (only hard-bolied) and very good coffee. As for the neighbourhood, it wasn't as awful as many people describe. It was very littered, but we never felt unsafe there, even after dark.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank ramblergirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

I spent 3 nights in this hotel. The room was small but clean. The staff was very nice, and most spoke some English. The breakfast was very good. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the train station. The area around the hotel is a pit. Dog droppings, broken bottles, organic and inorganic trash everywhere. Naples as a whole is a hole, but the area around hotel is about as bad as it gets. The hotel restaurant is open for breakfast only, unless you are member of a large tour group. There is a decent restaurant across the square from the hotel. My recommendation, try to find a hotel in a nicer area of the city.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asnakebite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

We were arriving at Naples airport and spending the majority of our time in Sorrento. We wanted to spend a few days looking around Naples and to visit Pompei and Herculaneum before chilling out in Sorrento. Our aim was to accomplish all this by public transport so we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. We caught a bus from the airport to Naples railway station and the BW Hotel Plaza was less than 5 minutes walk away. It was easy to catch a train to Pompei and Herculaneum from the station and ultimately to Sorrento when our 4 day stay in Naples was over.
So apart from being in a very convenient location, what of the hotel itself? Spotlessly clean, comfortable and with friendly, helpful staff. The room a little on the small side but with great air conditioning and wonderfully efficient double glazing, which elimintaed all outside noise and led to very peaceful nights sleep. Breakfast was adequate but nothing to get excited about. Bear in mind that the hotel is located in a very scruffy area but Naples is a bit like that all round. Watching the 2 hookers operating in the piazza outside from our room's balcony was an interesting diversion. If you can handle the less than salubrious surroundings (and we were never troubled by anyone at all), you won't find a better value, more conveniently located hotel in Naples. We couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gbmrod1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is what you would expect of a Best Western - clean rooms, comfortable, small, with confused staff. The breakfast was included, but very simple. You cannot beat the price for the comfort that you get. Unfortunately the neighbourhood around the Central Station (Garibaldi) is not good and I felt very unsafe. I think this is the reality of Naples though and I could not find any other neighbourhood in my 4 days there that was any better. The hotel is nicely located to go to Pompeii by train and only a 10 euro taxi ride to the port where the ferries to the islands leave.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonhadores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hjärup, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Nice hotel, good room and a nice breakfast buffet. The neighborhood is not so nice though. Comfortable distance from the train station.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
243 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

On arrival in Naples by train, you need to cross the Garibaldi Square (keep to the right hand side of it) and then walk on for some 2-3 minutes in direction north-west to reach the hotel located at some side square named Piazza Umberto. This route is the first schock you get. It not only a total chaos (Naples traffic - just one of the things you will need to quickly get used to), but also a crowd of... questionnable folks of all origins on your way (beware of pickpockets!), and the overwhelming dirt all over the place (at the Umberto Sq. in front of the hotel even more visible than at Garibaldi Sq.) that will make you want to immediately leave. Don't run away! Put up with it for a moment and once you've reached the hotel you find yourself in a different world.
The hotel, despite the red light district ambiente around, and its location in the area of the largest piles of junk on streets you see in Naples, is a really good one. It presents a kind of an island in this part of the city and fully deserves its 3star rating.
The interior is nice and clean, so are the rooms, too. Spacious enough and air-conditioned, equipped with a nice bath and a minibar. The hotel staff is polite and ready to help, even if their help with obtaining information cannot sometimes go beyond what you can read yourself in most guides or on internet websites.
The hotel has one free internet corner in the lobby, however the way it (does not) operates seems to be a mystery even to the hotel staff. Nevertheless, if you're patient enough, sooner or later you get your "free hour" there.
The breakfast is served on the top floor of the building in a nice spacious breakfast room. It is of good quality and variety, although nothing extraordinary.
All in all, this hotel is a good choice, especially if you want to stay in this part of the city. A big plus of this location, despite its suburbian run-down "charm", is the proximity to the Garibaldi Sq. (from where many buses go to various parts of the city) and to the Railway Station that also houses an underground station (Metro Garibaldi) and the Circumvesuviana station (a suburban railway that brings you to i.e. to Pompei and Vesuv).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vannegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Ramada Naples
#43 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Grand Hotel Europa
#47 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
ibis Styles Napoli Garibaldi
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 189 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Stelle Hotel
#28 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza
Address: Piazza Principe Umberto 23, 80142, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Naples
#35 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Plaza is a comfortable hotel situated in the immediate neighbourhood of the city centre and the modern business centre in a recently restructured 19th century building. After careful works of modernisation and restoration of the building and facilities and with a complete restyling of the furnishings in the rooms and the public area, Best Western Hotel Plaza is ready to welcome its guest in a refined and comfortable setting. Located at 200 metres from the central railway station, at the back of Piazza Garibaldi from where it is possible to arrive in any area of the city thanks to efficiency of the Metropolitana and Circumvesiana, the hotel, because of its favourable position, is certainly the ideal place for families visiting Naples and for men on business trips. The port of Naples and the international airport of Capodichino can be reached in a few minutes with the special shuttles departing from Piazza Garibaldi. Best Western Hotel Plaza give its guest environments that unite the warmth and welcome of large hotels with a modern and serviceable furnishing. 56 rooms and 1 jr.suite, all soundproofed and equipped for maximum comfort: air-conditioning, direct line telephone, satellite television, Internet access, safe and hair dryers. Each floor of hotel has a room carefully furnished for handicapped guests. WI-FI FREE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plaza
Best Western Naples
Naples Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing