We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel With Spectacular Views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

A very nice hotel converted from a former 16th-century monastery with wonderful views from the bedroom windows across the Bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius. On the forth floor is the terrace where you can have continental breakfast under sun shades also affording the same spectacular view across the Bay of Naples. This is a quiet hotel and you cannot hear the traffic noise from the road below. The roof garden is a surprise, and is really beautiful and well tended and not to be missed, also this is where a small swimming pool is.

On the minus side the bedrooms do not have anywhere to unpack your suitcase, just two bedside cabinets with two draws each on each side of the bed. The wardrobe has about six hangers to hang your clothes on and no shelves, so be prepared not to unpack your suitcase.The bathroom floor and bath/shower is very slippery when wet.
We requested a rubber bath mat for the bath but were given a couple of cotton bath mats which the maid took away after a couple of changes The hotel do supply paper slippers to wear presumably to stop slipping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harveyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 943 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014

I am very unhappy with our stay at the above property . When we arrived there on 15th May to check in , I asked whether the room allocated had a bath and bay view ( as requested through the expedia booking system ) only to be told that they had not been notified of my request , and there was only one room left with a bath , but no view ( in fact it landed up having a view of the wall of the building next door .!)
Then we found was no hot water unless you ran the water for 20 minutes , in which case the water was tepid ! The shower / bath was dirty and I found a long black hair in the bed !
NO telephone in the room meant that we could not request help from reception without walking all the way from the top floor attic to the downstairs reception . !
The hotel is dowdy , dark and depressing inside .
Absolutely awful experience at this hotel ..

Additionally the staff at breakfast were surly ,and there is no parking nearby so we were charged €25 per night for parking.
Quite frankly this hotel has only one redeeming feature it's view over the Bay of Naples from the level of the dining room .
My husband who is not normally as fussy as I am , hated staying in your hotel and couldn't wait to leave -

Update : When I contacted management with a written complaint , my issues were brushed aside , and I was told that I should have reported my complaints to staff ( in fact I had done so ! ) and I was told that I would hopefully have a better experience elsewhere on my trip !

In my opinion this hotel needs a complete overhaul including the staff !

Room Tip: Don't stay here unless you can handle off hand service and have a penchant for dark gloomy rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evieb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Spectacular view from the terrace at the forth floor where you enjoy a nice breakfast. Naples at your feet. Really. Room was ok in an old reconverted monastery. Good location close to downtown. A bit of ancient atmosphere with a touch of modernity. Nice to come back.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank razorgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

No matter the Napolitean chaos outside, no matter its changeable weather, this hotel offers peace, serenity and most of all an amazing view (both from the rooms as from the restaurant). A perfect starting point for a city trip in an area that is close to the city centre and safe (even after dark). Rooms are clean and bathrooms suprisingly big. Staff is very attentive. Restaurant is slightly overpriced for what it has to offer

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We had been in Italy for 2 weeks. Naples was our final visit.
Cons for this hotel. Only one place to eat outside the hotel within walking distance. The hotel restaurant was pretty pricey. They say AC, but their idea of AC and an Americans version, not the same. The in room internet, sketchy at best.
Pros, incredible view from the room The room itself was pretty big. Wonderful painting, decorating, furniture, doors, etc.
The roof top garden. Totally made the hotel our absolute favorite on our whole trip. Number 1. Stunning views. Flowers. Loads of seating areas. Explore. So beautiful.
Explore the whole hotel. Nooks & cubby holes.....beautiful places you will not expect.
As I said, this was the last place and we were missing home and desperate for a burger and fries. Jokingly, we mentioned it to the manager. He made a call up to the fancy hotel restaurant. And we got our burgers and fries. No buns. But they were awesome. Really a great job!! The fries and burger were terrific. The people that worked up there were a long way from welcoming. But the chef made fantastic food to accommodate us. And we very much appreciated it.
The roof top garden is not lit at night. But we still went up as the views were stunning. We saw sporadic small fireworks displays here and there. We asked someone there and they said it was common to celebrate with fireworks. Marriages, graduations, babies, release from prison. LOL That is exactly what he said. No joke.
We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a fabulous hotel. The area around it, zero stars out of 5.

Room Tip: They say all rooms have a view. Only some are bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here for four nights last week. What an amazing place. If you are looking for 'Americanised' have a nice day corporate stylie then this is not the place for you.
The staff are lovely and very helpful. Rooms clean and sheets and pillowcases changed every day. My only complaint about the room would be the hair dryer. One of those old fashioned Hoover style things. Room with a view is an understatement.
The first night we ate at the restaurant. As others have said not a wide choice but what we had was lovely, beautifully presented and fresh.
Breakfast was lovely with views to die for. The roof garden is an oasis of calm in one of the craziest cities I have ever visited.
There is little in the way of local bars and the hotel doesn't have one. However you are close to two funiculars which take you to a range of bars and restaurants. We bought a bottle of wine and had it in our room.
We will definitely return and very soon I hope

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank JBelle1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna S, Direttore vendite at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear JBell196
thank you for your comments on TA. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Naples at our historical property. We only want to let all know that we have a bar on the 4th floor adjacent the restaurant. Of course our best selling point is the view and the magnificent terraces we have at the 4th and 7th floor where Clients always prefer to relax for a drink. iT is strange to know that our restaurant have a limited choice of proposals: we have 5 choices of starters, 3 choices for soups, 5 choices for pasta, 5 choices for main course with meal, 4 choices for main course with fish, 5 choices of dessert and a weekly tasting menu called Omaggio a Napoli at euro 29.00 per person.
We wish to welcome you soon
best regards
Marianna Sarno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our room, #45, was a very nice room in a very atmospheric hotel. I don’t think anyone had been in our room for a while, as the first night it was extremely humid and damp – but after that, it was fine, and probably would be fine in the summer and during high season. The room had great decoration, from the beautifully carved marble door surrounds, to the painting on the ceiling and the hand-painted doors, to the framed paintings and fireplace, to the HUGE bathroom with shower, giant jaccuzi tub, two modern sinks and dressing area. My only complaint was the dim lighting in the room, especially in the bathroom – very dark indeed. The beds were small twin beds, but so soft and comfy, it was like sleeping on a marshmallow – wonderful! Our room also had its own private terrace, which had a table and chairs, and a great view of Naples. The free wifi worked fine, the fridge worked great, the tv also worked fine. There was also a yummy pizza place down the street. All in all, it was a great hotel experience, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RavennaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Romeo Hotel
#16 of 186 in Naples
1,151 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#10 of 186 in Naples
1,098 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#42 of 186 in Naples
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiaia
Hotel Palazzo Alabardieri
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: $140 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing