We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great but normal Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Angers, Pays de la Loire, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great but normal Hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

San Francesco al Monte is good but not exceptional ...also the value for money must be thought.
The highlights are the view, instead of the breakfast place and the breakfast itself (continental - very goord).
The rooms are ok but if you look at the details of what is average for a hotel of this standard ....
This is a big ship to be difficult to maintain.
Access to the city below requires either a taxi or the funicular. We did not eat at the hotel.
Check your bill. When we set a meal for two was added. An error probably exceptional. There was no difficulty for this fixed.
The reception is normal.For French, a person at the reception speaks our language and gives good information to start discovering Naples .. a program ....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clisson Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna S, Proprietario at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Mr Clisson,
Thank you for your review and we are happy that our staff was helpful eith you speaking fluent French. It is our practice to let you check your bill with a proof before issuing the final receipt in order to avoid erroneous charges and infact we have now reversed the mistake!
We still hope to have you as our guest in Naples

Rita Pagliari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    276
    106
    51
    34
See reviews for
137
422
17
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

we had booked this hotel as a special offer on another website. £80 per night with b&b from £206. what a deal we thought and we were right. The hotel was very large and a great place to explore the city below.The hotel rooms were lovely. big beds nice linen and reasonable bathrooms. all rooms done in a distressed Neapolitan style.

The staff were excellent friendly and well informed. we arrived after the roof top pool was closed for the season, what a shame as this would be a fantastic place to relax after a days walking in the city. they also have a wedding venue on the hotel roof. wish we had known as this again would be a talking point for the rest of the guests as the view from the roof was amazing.

If you dont like a good hike into town then take the underground train just along the road from the hotel entrance. i would say that to walk through the narrow streets down into town is a must.
the hotel restaurant was very pricey . but the food was very good and nicely presented.

But there was not a hotel bar to relax in before hand so we had drinks in our room. a hotel with no bar ?

talking of which the views are amazing look at the shot i took from our room window. the second night we ate in a little pizza restaurant down the road again turn right from the entrance. it is a friendly family run place and has typical italian feel. Chaos, noise and humour, we loved it the food was plenty and good value. give it a go if you dont want fancy food and dressing up for dinner. just great regional cooking "Regine dello Zio" was its name 081405183 its number.
WHAT A CITY !

Room Tip: ask for classic double with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our Italian holiday. The desk was staffed by an efficient but not very welcoming gentleman.

Interesting hotel with stairways cut into the rock and lots of curious spaces left over from its original use as a monastery. Would be good to have information about its history and transformation.
We had a superior room with a balcony, which may have been shabby chic or just shabby, not sure. The room had a bit of a damp smell, the bathroom definitely needed an upgrade and the terrace was tired and soulless.

Upside were fabulous views, lovely restaurant staff and good food and the absolute oasis of the roof top pool which, despite advertised as closed at the end of Sept, was open. We had planned to spend the day at the Archaeological museum in Naples but as it as closed so decided to spend our last day relaxing by the pool, a beautiful escape from the noise and bustle of Naples.

Would consider returning but also explore other options, although the pool was delightful......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a wonderful week at this hotel overlooking the Bay of Naples. The location in the hills was quiet and peaceful with two funiculari nearby. The amenities were great, especially the restaurant and pool area. I especially loved the artwork, both modern and traditional. Around every corner was something to behold. Antonio was so helpful with suggestions and making arrangements for us. All in all, a very good choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Went in 2011 in October. Weather was favourable so made the whole trip even more memorable.

The staff were friendly, the rooms were spacious, super comfortable bed and lovely and cool from the dark wood. Lovely bathroom and view of the bay and vesuivius.

Didn't eat in the hotel but used the terrace for a glass of wine and enjoyment of the view!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is amazing for both its views and history. Everwhere you look there are old frescos and architectual details that make it interesting. The pool is absolutely beautiful, as are the views from the rooms and the breakfast area. Breakfast was very good, as was the service by all staff. The reception staff was always willing to call and arrange taxi service to various areas and the surrounding markets are fantastic! We will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had an execellent one week stay in this hotel. Nice views from our room and from the restaurant and bar/swimmingpool over the bay of Napels and the Vesuvius. Very friendly staff, in particular Antonio at the check-in counter is an endless source of advice and information. Breakfast was included in our reservation, The buffet was varied and once we indicated that we would like a pot of italian coffee, the shock of american coffee during the first breakfast was quickly forgotten. The hotel is situated outside the main hustle and bustle areas of the city but the main attractions remain easily accessible by the funiculari and on foot. All in all a very pleasant experience.

Loek and Maria B

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,383 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#43 of 186 in Naples
2,435 reviews
Romeo Hotel
#21 of 186 in Naples
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Oriente
#9 of 186 in Naples
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Property: Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing