We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with amazing views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Francesco al Monte
Ranked #21 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This hotel was the perfect place to relax and unwind. The staff could not be faulted in anyway whether it was the reception staff, the restaurant staff or the man who looked after the pool. everyone was so friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We were in room 65, it was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The bed was really comfortable and the views from the bedroom and bathroom were fantastic. The shower was very powerful and there was plenty of hot water to have a deep bath or jacuzzi.
It was lovely to relax by the pool and there were plenty of sunbeds for everyone, it was a shame that it wasn't open after 5pm.
The breakfast was fine and the food in the restaurant was very good. It was a bit expensive but worth it. Do be careful if you eat out, one night we ate in the marina and were charged 10euro's each for table charge - rip off or what?
Naples itself was very dirty. There was litter and graffiti everywhere and when walking it was hard to know whether to look at the ground to avoid falling over the uneven slabs and all the dog's mess or look up to avoid the low washing lines that hung out of the windows.
All in all l would say that the hotel is definitely worth coming to.There is so much to see if you go exporing down all the different staircases. Even if you don't eat in the hotel it is definitely worth going to have a nightcap on the fourth floor or if you don't fancy a nightcap, just go and sit and take in the stunning views.
I only have two negatives to say about the hotel. Firstly, the mirror behind the bathroom door hadn't been cleaned when we arrived and still hadn't been cleaned 5 days later when we left. Secondly, It would have been nice to have an information booklet in the room telling us things like how to use the safe and the jacuzzi. Although when we went down and asked reception, they sent someone up straightaway to show us. It would also be useful to be told about things like the operating times of the fenicular and approximate costs of taxi's etc. Although the staff would happily answer any questions, l do like to have a local information booklet to read.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkerly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 930 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

we booked the hotel partly because of the terrace with the pool but arrived to find out that it was off-limit for the whole stay due to weddings which had privatized the terrace, without so much as a warning upon booking or apology upon arrival from the hotel.
we had also booked transport from the airport. it never showed up. when we complained at the reception, staff all but insulted us.
one of the lifts was broken so that we had to queue to go to our room, with the cleaning lady taking precedence over guests.
the restaurant has a nice view of the bay, with the hideous tower sticking in the middle of it.
service in the hotel and the restaurant is appalling.
the hotel is basically a good reflection of Naples : dirty, noisy, derelict, with people shamelessly trying to con you and steal from you at every possible occasion.
for a nice vacation, avoid Naples. if you have to go to Naples, avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sotrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Judging on the rates per night I expected a nice hotel at least, but got dissapointed really. Speaking English during check-in, the bellboys did not expect us to understand Italian and started a conversation about us. I was hoping the room with a jacuzzi would make up for it, but the room was nothing impressive. Worn out rooms and the jacuzzi was unclean, not worth the extra money. The only good things I found about the hotel was the stunning view from our room looking over the city of Naples. The location is good and relatively quiet, if you don't mind to be a 15 minutes-walk away from the city centre. After dark I recommend taking a cab. Restaurant was booked for a wedding party, didnt bother to ask wether they had another restaurant. Found much cheaper and delicious spaghetti at Piazza Dante instead.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faustino_Asprilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marianna S, Proprietario at Hotel San Francesco al Monte, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Mr Asprilla

From the statements made we are sure that your review does not concern our hotel, as well as we believe incorrectly post a review with a year's delay.
Among the things you established showing that certainly has not been our guest was that you found the restaurant closed for a wedding.
I want to inform you that the hotel has three dfifferent restaurants so even if we had a private event there would have been no problem to accomodate you.
Best regards
Rita Pagliari
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

From the first meeting at check in service was excellent with a firendly and amusing greeting together with a guide book to the converted monastery building ( we were told we would have a test of our knowledge later!). The room was large with views right across the city of naples. Bathroom left a little to be desired and I thought could have been cleaner. We were only staying for one night so didnt feel the need to complain, had I done so I am sure the excellent staff would have dealt wih it. The room felt a bit "rickety" with all the furniture feeling a bit "home made" and unfinished.
The pool area on the 7th floor was jaw droppingly lwonderful with fantastic views across thy whole of the bay of Naples toward Sorrento and Vesuvius. The waiter on the seventh floor was incredibly friendly and made an effort to speak the lanuguage of his guests whatever that might be. We followed his recommendation to visit "his" city and were really glad we made the effort although all the reasons not to do so were ringing in our ears. The city itself was beautiful the architecture stunning but very dirty and unkempt and I didnt feel over safe.
Evening meal in the restuarant was in a beautiful rooftop setting with the wonderful views but felt a bit old fashioned in terms of both food and silver service.The maitre d was faultless and again exceptional service with an effort to make each guest feel welcomed and valued.
Check out was again excellent with every little thing checked and double checked.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeNe72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel San Francesco al Monte for a week in August and had a lovely time. The hotel is clean, the pool is relaxing and the views are out of this world. Oh and the shower is great, definitely a plus. The hotel is based way above the hilly streets of Napoli so you have to be prepared to walk through the Spanish Quarter to get anywhere unless you want to pay taxis (which cost a pretty penny, including extra costs on top of the meter). The Spanish Quarter is a really cool area with tiny, almost vertical streets, hanging laundry, chatting neighbours and noisy mopeds. Warning: Don't wear heels, of any height. Maybe wedges if you're talented. Definitely a great hotel to stay in. Check out the views at the pool level - Napoli is spread beneath you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddlemug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous! It was fun just to wander around the hotel stumbling upon different rooms within the hotel (was an old monestary). We stayed on the 3rd floor-we had great views of the city from our window. The room was gorgeous was well-it had a chandelier with ceiling paintings-was very roomy-had a jacuzzi shower-roomy bathroom-big roomy bed-beautiful windows to open, a little sitting area to read-a mini fridge and a safe-a writing desk...oh and a.c! ( It was a hot one while we were here so the a.c. was heavenly). The room and hotel as a whole was very clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast area was very nice-good views of the city-and the food was pretty good. The swimming pool was great! it is alittle smaller but was not crowded-and while it has very nice views of the city on the one end of the upper floor with the pool on it it also has nice little trees and flowers that make you feel like you are in a little wilderness oasis. We loved swimming in the pool....when it was open. It is only open from 9 till 5-which we were kinda bummed about the first night-we were looking forward to cooling off in the pool after walking around for a good 30 minutes in the heat with our backpacks on trying to find the hotel (it really isn't too hard to find we just got mixed up-there is a bus stop directly across the street from the hotel or if you hang a left outside of the hotel and go down some stairs down the road it leads you out to a station (probably 10 minute walk)- but once we got to our cold room we were happy enough to just hang out in there. There are a few little shops within walking distance down the road. The rooms were pretty quiet. Overall we really really liked the hotel- It was a beautiful hotel and at a decent price. I only wish that gorgeous swimming pool was open longer throughout the day!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Right from the start the staff couldn't, have been more helpful. We arrived at this magnificent hotel 3 hours before we were due to check in, no problem, we were able to deposit our cases and chill out by the wonderful pool while we waited for our room. Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and cheerful especially the chap by the pool, he really made an effort to make sure everyone had what they wanted and always had a smile on his face. The building has been converted from monastery to hotel really sympathetically and it's all the better for it. We had a standard room, which is 2 cells knocked in to 1, and it was great. My only gripe is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and I didn't have a clue how to work the safe (no instructions). Great views, brilliant location, fantastic staff, loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Romeo Hotel
#15 of 186 in Naples
1,138 reviews
Grand Hotel Oriente
#8 of 186 in Naples
1,083 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 186 in Naples
2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#4 of 186 in Naples
989 reviews
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#7 of 186 in Naples
1,519 reviews
Hotel Piazza Bellini
#2 of 186 in Naples
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Francesco al Monte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Francesco al Monte

Address: Corso Vittorio Emanuele 328, 80135, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range: $126 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Francesco al Monte 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seemingly carved into a mountain side, a 16th century monastery once home to the monks of Barbanti (due to their flowing beards) is now home to a timeless retreat. Hotel San Francesco offers serene views over the Bay of Naples, Mount Vesuvius ana Capri Island and easy access to the colourful Naples street life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel San Francesco al Monte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing