We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly not 4 star”
Review of Caravaggio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravaggio Hotel
Ranked #111 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Chose the hotel for its location as previously we had stayed a bit further out. Knew Naples but even by their standards the huge, overflowing rubbish bins outside were a bit much. Reception seemed fine but the room wasn't great. It overlooked a yard and what was almost a tenement block. There were empty bottles and dirty rags left on a ledge right outside the window. Size of room was ok but there were no mattress protectors on the beds and the sheets were threadbare with holes in them and were not changed for the entire 7 day stay. The shower was meant to be a jacuzzi but it was broken and dirty. Air conditioning was turned on and off by reception at whim and Naples is still very warm at the end of Sept. so was needed. There was no bar to speak of and only a couple of sofas in a very dimly lit room, not very welcoming. The advertised roof garden was closed and judging by the state of the padlock had been for a while. Breakfast was poor, orange squash and hard bread, better to eat out. It is probably ok for one or two nights but as a base for exploring the area it was awful, the only hotel I have never wanted to go back to in the evenings.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovehotelstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 255 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location is fine in via libertarian, very central and in the heart oft he old town action. The front desk was very helpful, however, the room was essentially windowless and dark and on departure we were charged a 15 euro "city tax", in cash. The city tax is actually 2.50 euro per person per night as we found out later. At least there is parking, once you find it and get through the chain link! Supposedly the hotel is in a former 17 th century palace, but you would never know it from what we saw.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the pictures I saw on the website. First of all we passed thru 10ft of garbage spread on the ground in front of the hotel before getting in. Then they took us to a separte buidling from the reception building into our room. The room looked nothing like the photos. Old blanket, run down shower room, for a price of 120Euro in March!
Our total stay there was 3hrs! we could not stand the place. We checked in at 11 and checked out at 3pm. The manager made us pay for 2 nites!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Golchi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights and really liked the hotel a lot! The staff were very friendly and accommodating! The room was a nice size and was very clean. The room was a bit cold at times, but there were plenty of blankets to use, so that was good. The breakfast was wonderful. One morning we didn't go down until a few minutes before breakfast was to end and were worried we wouldn't get anything. However they were kind enough to let us eat! The only complaint I would make would be the noise level outside our hotel room, but that isn't the hotel's fault at all. I slept with earplugs the second night and had no problems! The location of the hotel was also in a good area with what we wanted to do. It's a five minute walk to the street with all the Nativitys for sale. All in all, great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisy all night long, so keep that in mind. Bring earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Perfectly situated in the dark and ecclectic historic center of Napoli in the shadow of St Gennaros Cathedral this hotel is a great stay for a resonable price. The staff is absolutely attentive and very helpful, I would like to suggest a raise for Antonio our morning concierge. He had a delightful meal laid out for us every morning down in the breakfast room. What a great way to start our day in Napoli. The rooms are tidy and modern with comfortable beds and sleek bathrooms. There is no wifi in the room but it works just fine downstairs in the lobby and internet/office area. Napoli in the summer is swealtering, so keep in mind that you will be hot all the time. The a/c in our room did work, but the unit might not be enough to cool down the entire area. Just like most buildings in Napoli, the Caravaggio building is old, we're talking Roman times maybe Medieval? So if you're into history you'll love this place and by place I mean Napoli itself not only the Caravaggio. There is great shopping very close by in the historic center, the train station is a quick 15 minute walk or 5 minute cab ride. Many locals restaurants in the area it's almost impossible to go wrong with food in Napoli. It's all good! Buffalo mozzarella mmmmmmm...I can't wait to stay there again and spend more time exploring Napoli.

Room Tip: The cab driver won't know where the hotel is. Just tell them to take you to Via Duomo and Via Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank constantrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Even allowing for differences in standards between the UK and Italy this is not a 4 star hotel. The shower head was broken and had to be held in place by a bottle of shower gel and the water drained away so slowly that you had to turn the shower off mid wash to prevent it overflowing. The fridge was dirty and not very cold, light bulbs did not work, the roof terrace had obviously not been cleaned for some time and was covered in bird droppings. Breakfast was OK but bread and croissants had run out every day by 9.30am and were not topped up unless you asked. We were not told about the safe facilities in our room when we checked in and money was taken when the room was not locked properly by the maid. This is a conveniently located hotel and reception staff were friendly and helpful but don't expect much of the room or facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitelady16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a hotel with nice and clean rooms located in the touristy Historic City of Naples.

The rooms are clean and the staff is nice and friendly. Rooms have very high ceiling (4 meters at least) and bathrooms in good quality. If you get a room that's facing the busy street it's going to be quite noisy during night because of the many vespas and cars that constantly honk and drive fast.

Breakfast is boring. The coffee tastes worse than Nescafé. Just go outside and have a nice macchiato instead from one of the many cafés for less than €1.

I wouldn't recommend spending too much time in this part of the city though, but I can't complain about the hotel except for the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street if you value your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank linuxlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear customer,
we are happy to have met his expectations, Naples is a city sometimes chaotic and, in spite of our attention, not always able to mitigate the noise caused by traffic. We will be happy to host you again to offer, this time, great coffee.
Franco Russo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Pendino
Hotel des Artistes Naples
Hotel des Artistes Naples
#38 of 185 in Naples
287 reviews
Neapolis Hotel
#65 of 185 in Naples
419 reviews
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#9 of 185 in Naples
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Best Western Hotel Plaza
#62 of 185 in Naples
994 reviews
Pendino
Palazzo Caracciolo Napoli MGallery by Sofitel
Pendino
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
Hotel Palazzo Decumani
#11 of 185 in Naples
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravaggio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravaggio Hotel

Address: Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $101 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravaggio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently inaugurated, it occupies part of a XVI century noble palace and has been restored - respecting its former style - using the most contemporary standards.The well-designed rooms offer the most modern comforts in a warm and friendly atmosphere.The Hotel, besides, is provided of a spacious hall for breakfast buffet with typical Neapolitan products, a bar, a reading room and a conference room for small meetings.The large and spacious rooms are all furnished in modern style, sober and functional, in order to grant the Guest a relaxing and overwhelming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravaggio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing