We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location with some minus”
Review of Caravaggio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caravaggio Hotel
Ranked #97 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Rome
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location with some minus”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

As most of the previous guests already said, the hotel is in greatly located in the very heart of the old city of Naples. A few blocks from Forcella and the Cathedral, you could not be more central. The buidling in which it is located is an old one and this is probably the reason for some of its problems.

The staff is really very good. The rooms a bit less. Clean and well kept they would need some extras (I would suggest a larger TV set) to make it a four star hotel.

The most important thing that needs to be renewed is the air conditioning... I would "warmly" suggest changing it soon.

Room Tip: If you visit inthe summer ask for a room with the single A/C (not connected with the central system.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudioMario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear guest, we are very sorry to not be able to meet its needs. Not having a spare bedroom with a balcony overlooking the square we have shown, before making any changes, a room that could meet their needs and she agreed the change, saying he was so happy. Completely new there are complaints regarding the beds and clean rooms which did not mention during his stay.
Franco Russo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    65
    41
    31
    27
See reviews for
53
69
21
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Caravaggio is a simple, rather ordinary hotel, perfectly clean and decent but nothing special -- except for the location, which I love and for which it gets an extra star. It is on the Via Tribunali, set back enough to be insulated from street noise. This is the main street through the old part of Naples, where the street life is colorful, bustling, and at times more than slightly chaotic. This is the true heart of old Naples.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had such a wonderful time in Naples, and it was partly due to the warm, friendly and helpful staff at the Caravaggio! Great location-under the Duomo! Extremely reasonable pricing, amazing, beautiful, comfortable room, incomparable service-really, we couldn't have found a better place to stay. We will definitely stay at the Caravaggio if we ever have the good luck to return to Naples.
Thank you all so much! You all have figured out how to do it, and do it well. Va bene!

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace-we had a lovely one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSally2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The 'beautiful people' in question are those who will look after you if you stay here. The three guys working on reception went out of their way to be helpful and were able to give us good advice when needed. The person serving breakfast was courteous and amiable, and our room was always cleaned and tidied really well. I was very happy with the service I received at the hotel. The Hotel is also very well placed and within walking distance of many historical sites. The narrow roads leading on to the Piazza were incredibly busy with cars, vespas, and pedestrians jostling for space!! Alarming and wonderful all at the same time. A real adventure. I am left with the feeling that I want to experience it again and again, and if I do go back I would choose to stay at the Caravaggio once more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryse D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Responsabile reception at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciated it! You have been such a good Guest. We really do hope to see you again very soon. Warmest regards
Caravaggio Hotel's Personnell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We have recently returned from 2 weeks in Italy, the last 3 days in Naples. We selected Caravaggio for its location, in the historical center. The entrance to the hotal is a bit off-putting: the tiny piazza where it is is rather grungy. However, it has a secure entrance and staff on duty 24/7. The staff vary in their ability to speak English but were very accommodating. The bathroom shower was one of those European affairs: a hole in the floor with a curtain around it--very messy and surely not good for the grouting. But the room and common areas were attractive, and breakfast selections were ample. We thought it was good value. BY reserving and paying 3 weeks in advance, we got 3 nights for the price of 2.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore generale at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Mr Norman

thank you for your message. it's a pleasure to read your words about our structure. Sorry if you found some discomfort but having the structure under management from less than a year we are still working to make the necessary changes. However, we hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards
Francesco Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very very close to the duomo (main church San Gennaro), in the middle of the storical centre, good accomodation, good breakfast at italian standards (but there wasn't nutella), no wifi at room but yes at the comfy bar. Very polite staff at the breakfast room. My room has no views to the main square, has views at an interior patio but with a lot of light. Quiet hotel. Will be a good idea to uphoolster the chairs of the breakfast room and in the bathroom tub to clean/repaint some glazed tile unions.

If I turn to Napoli, sure I'll be back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chabeliuxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore generale at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Mr Chabeliux,

is a real pleasure for us to read his comments regarding the hotel. We are delighted that the location and the tranquility of the structure was to his liking. Thank you for the effective advice, definitely apply them as soon as possible.

Hoping that you go back I send best regards.
Francesco Russo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My colleague and I booked this hotel for a 2 night business trip to Naples. We selected Caravaggio as it was right in the center of the old city and we would do some sightseeing apart from work.
For travelers who like it lively, this is a good spot, right by the dome.
The bad part is that there was no WiFi in the rooms, probably due to the concrete building.
The worst was the breakfast!! Apart from the minimal selection of foods, it turned out that some was not even edible as the bread had huge, green MOLD parts! Apparently the kitchen staff tried to hide this by spreading some unlucky tomato residue on top of the slices. I did not bother to tell the staff, because honestly this foul was pretty obvious.
Stay away and stay somewhere where they care about you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buganos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaravaggioNapoli, Direttore at Caravaggio Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Dear Buganos

thank you for your message. We are very apologize for your review. We explaine you that the
wi-fi is available only in the common area because our building dated back to the VXII c., so it's a storical building and it is not possible to get wi-fi in the rooms. Our breakfast is typical! You think that our bread is not good and with mold but the green part that you see is a typical italian cheese: the name is Gorgonzola (if you want you can see photo by internet); The lady prepared bread with tomato and bread with this cheese in the same dish, so it's possible that the bread with tomato smeared with cheese. The main goal of our staff is to treat the customer, so his opinion seems very unrealistic, in fact all of our customers praise us for the care that my employees have toward them.

Best Regards
Franco Russo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Neapolis Hotel
#64 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Pendino
Hotel des Artistes Naples
Hotel des Artistes Naples
#41 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Mercato
UNA Hotel Napoli
UNA Hotel Napoli
#20 of 186 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#11 of 186 in Naples
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Hotel Suite Esedra
#136 of 186 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravaggio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravaggio Hotel

Property: Caravaggio Hotel
Address: Piazza Cardinale Sisto Riario Sforza 157 | Spaccanapoli, 80139, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > Pendino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caravaggio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently inaugurated, it occupies part of a XVI century noble palace and has been restored - respecting its former style - using the most contemporary standards.The well-designed rooms offer the most modern comforts in a warm and friendly atmosphere.The Hotel, besides, is provided of a spacious hall for breakfast buffet with typical Neapolitan products, a bar, a reading room and a conference room for small meetings.The large and spacious rooms are all furnished in modern style, sober and functional, in order to grant the Guest a relaxing and overwhelming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Caravaggio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravaggio Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing