We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Complesso Museale di Santa Chiara
Book In Advance
More Info
$23.82*
and up
Napoli Art and Food Tour: Santa Chiara, San Gregorio Armeno and Sant Angelo a...
More Info
$23.82*
and up
Napoli Art and Food Tour: Gesù Nuovo, Santa Chiara, and San Domenico Maggiore
More Info
$95.29*
and up
Naples Segway Grand City Tour
Ranked #12 of 505 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Monumental Complex of St. Chiara, including the Church, the Monastery and the Convent, had been raised since 1310 to 1328 by the will of the King Roberto d’Angio and his wife Sancia of Majorca. The sovereigns, both devoted to St. Francis of Assisi and St. Chiara, wanted to build a Franciscan citadel that housed in the Convent the Clarisses and in the contiguous Monastery the Friars Minor. The Church, central nucleus of the whole complex, rose with the title of Saint Host or Sacred Body of Christ, dedication suggested by the Eucharistic Miracle of Bolsena, happened in 1264; the denomination changed immediately in Santa Chiara, probably for the extraordinary number of Clarisses introduces in the Convent.
Heraklion, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Santa Chiara is a really beautiful francescan cathedral and monastery witjh a history dated back to 1310 AD. The most unique part of this museum complex is the cloister of the monastery, made of hand decorated terracota tiles (maioloche).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stathis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,634
    586
    101
    19
    10
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
159 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“A restful garden in the city”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Within the monastery is a cloister made of majolica tiles. They are intricate and I am not into pottery but these are something else! There are little orange trees in the centre and a sense of calm. The cloister was designed between 1739-1742.
There is a little souvenir shop and a rarity while dashing around Naples, bathroom stop opportunity.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roaming13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west central Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Cloister!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I spent only 2 nights in Naples, so we had to carefully select which sites would earn our time and tickets! I am so glad that we made time for the Cloister. I found the tiled scenes to be charming--little segments of life from long ago. If I ever return to Naples, I will make time to go here again. The museum was okay, but we were tired. Enjoying the cloister was my favorite part!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frugal-Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morey Saint Denis France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Cloister”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is one that you can only appreciate once you are inside. I have never seen anything at all like it

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellamobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Remarkable cloisters that are worth a visit”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Unfortunately we could not get to visit the church since it was closed, and I have to say that the museum is just OK.
But the cloisters with their beautiful tiles (maioliche) and the frescoes deserve a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Complesso Museale di Santa Chiara also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Complesso Museale di Santa Chiara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing