We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Totally worth it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catacombe di San Gennaro

Catacombe di San Gennaro
Book In Advance
$229.65*
and up
Half-Day Tour to Naples
Ranked #6 of 457 things to do in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Around the origin of our Catacombs much has been discussed, they were simpleburial and never were quarries or underground ways; the first note of the monumentis repeated since the death of St. Agrippino our bishop in the II century, when hisbody was buried there in a noble tomb. Many miracles the saint operated by thetomb, so it became a place of reverence and neapolitan wished to be buried in thatplace.
Łódź, Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Totally worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The guided tour around the catacombs is a really memorable moment. For longer than an hour you complement the knowledge about ancient Naples and early Christians. The guide was very professional and she has spoken fluent, proper English with cute Italian accent. Whenever we get bored with the ancient times, during our visit there was a contemporary art exhibition we could enjoy. Totally worth the price, which supports the NGO to renovate the sight!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Atais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,650
    438
    76
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“monumental”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Take a guided tour of underground Naples to see this largest catacomb revealing exquisite examples of pagan and earliest Christian art. Not to mention early examples of the class system at work.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice, if you have not seen catacombes in Malta or Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

The visit to the Catacombs was nice. I preferred the Hypogeum in Malta, but if you have not seen those or the Catacombs in Sicily then you should definitely visit these. The tour guide was a local wh was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. You are not allowed to visit without the guide and they have tours every hour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The tour guide was very detailed in the explanations, making it easy to blend the visual with the story. The lighting and the whole way it has been prepared for the public is very attractive and well done. Awesome feeling to be in the burial place of such an good and holy man. Pray for me San Gennaro! Do not miss when in Napoli.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank terryluis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kota kinabalu
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“must visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our tour guide on 31st August was Federica. She speak clearly and I understood very well. I wish all the tours I have visited will be able to accommodate 2 languages which will be very helpful for various reasons - partner speaks different language, to accommodate tourists etc.
Tomb was amazing and I highly recommend a visit to this site.
Hop on Hop bus stops here too. Parking available next to the cathedral. Treat the tickets fee are for conservation fee. Enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catacombe di San Gennaro also viewed

Naples, Province of Naples
 

Been to Catacombe di San Gennaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing