We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location, Great Place to Stay in Naples”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #15 of 185 Hotels in Naples
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hotel Rex was a wonderful place to stay. The room was clean, spacious, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom had a wonderful shower as well. Our room was located on the 1st floor and so we only had a view of a small street with parked cars but we didn't mind because it was still very quiet due to the hotel's thick windows. Hotel Rex may not be one of the fancy 4 or 5 star hotels in the area but it is great value for the money. The staff were friendly and always willing to be helpful and conscientious of our needs. The location is in walking distance to the waterfront (which is lovely to walk along during evenings because a long stretch of it is pedestrian only), great restaurants, and even the old part of the city. The breakfast at Hotel Rex, however, did not suit our needs (most hotel breakfasts don't because we are vegans so I don't fault Hotel Rex for that) if they just offered some fresh fruit that would have be nice. When asked, the concierge recommended a family run restaurant for us to have dinner. It wasn't a fancy tourist restaurant like those located on the waterfront, but it was nice and worth going to because it was a restaurant where the locals ate. The atmosphere felt true to Naples and as such, we greatly enjoyed and appreciated the experience. Hotel Rex is a great place to stay. It is a lovely hotel that is worth every dollar we spent there. We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChoochieBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (997)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 997 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

The staff were friendly. The room was very clean and quiet and I liked the pictures. The breakfast room was stylish. The location was great as it was near enough to the centre but also right near the sea, and felt safe and peaceful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Rex hotel has a very good location. As you are not in the centre of the city, this quiet zone is a good place to rest. You would be 1min walking to the main avenue just next to the sea (with lots of restaurants and bars). In 15min walking you can reach the port, where several ferry go to Capri, Ischia and Sorrento. Decoration is nice and room size was good. The price was adequate.However, in the morning, there is some unneeded noise of the room cleaning. The waiters start their job very soon (~8 a.m.). The breakfast needs improvement: for a 3 star hotel we would expect cheese, ham and fresh bread, which clearly was not the case.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tegomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Due to mistake from booking.com we had to book our room in Hotel Rex when we arrived in Naples.
Luckily they had one room still available.
The location is about at 20 minute stroll away from the centre but you are by the sea.
The staff are friendly and accommodating.
We stayed in a double room which was fine, no frills as expected.
The shower was the only let down as it was either freezing or with a little nudge of the handle scold your balls off hot.
Breakfast was small. Cheap discount versions of Corn Flakes and Coco pops. Week jug of coffee. But there was nice little selection of pastries and cakes. I'd recommend more for friends staying than a couple.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ashvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

As soon as I entered into the foyer I knew I had made such a good choice of hotel! It was clean and the receptionist was always very helpful!

Our room was a good size for a short trip, and came with a brilliant air conditioning unit and a safe all free of charge. We were even impressed by the tv!

The only downside was the room we were in (54) happened to be right by the 'Hotel Rex' sign and the light at night came through the shutters. We were lucky enough to be on the first floor which if we looked out of our window we saw Vesuvius! However, I have read some reviews where people weren't happy being on the ground floor. The breakfast at the hotel is very basic, but enough to keep you going until lunchtime!

The bathroom was lovely, I didn't mind that there was no bath, the shower was a great power shower a little on the small side. There is plenty of storage space for clothes.

The hotel was very helpful when we planned our trips to Pompeii etc, they showed us which station to be at and what bus to take if we didn't want to take a taxi. However, a taxi to the station which goes to Pompei, Herculaneum and Vesuvuis, is about 15 euros on a tariff and on the metre it is around 10 euros maybe less. The trains are about 3 euros one way. Also what is helpful is that the hotel keeps on to your key every time you leave the hotel so you don't have to worry about losing it!

Room Tip: Go on the first floor definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaisyJaneZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

A very good hotel in its class. Clean and well located, with staff who are only too happy to help with any request. Breakfast good too. This is a highly rated and upmarket part of the city, only a few steps from the lungomare and the Castello dell’Ovo, with their bars and restaurants. Also only a few blocks from Piazza del Plebiscito, while the Santa Lucia district is teeming with quality neighbourhood restaurants. Advertised rates on the day were over 100 euro per night. I’m not sure I’d be happy to pay that much to stay here, but to have paid only 150 euro on a booking website represented great value for our three-night stay. To sum up, I would highly recommend both the hotel and the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

In the dirtiest city I have ever visited in my life, this little hotel seems like sparkling clean. First of all, I must say the location is excellent: not on the noisy main street, but still relatively close to everything important. Good isolation with exterior, as there was a working site just under our window, but we were not bothered by the noise once the window was shut.However, as your neighbours entered/exited their rooms, you'd think they just entered in yours - the noise from slamming doors constantly woke me up (i'm a light sleeper). Our room was clean, well maintained and quite spacious.

On the downside, I must mention the fact that there was a mix-up regarding our room: we booked a superior sea-view room (which presumly also had to have a balcony), but we had to stay,in the 1st night in a simple room. This would not have been a problem, but in the next day the room we were moved into again had no sea view/balcony as adverstised on booking.com.
In the 2nd room we were moved into, the bathroom had a very poor ventilation system, it got very hot and humid inside, as there was no exterior window as well.

This is just a matter of personal taste, but I absolutely disliked the breakfast. There was a poor choice of pastries..croissants, some sort of tart, angel cake,cereals, butter and jem. Only sweets, things with which I am not used to serving for breakfast. They should also consider habbits of international guests, not everyone eats tons of sugar for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask about the advertised "sea view" rooms in advance, I'm not sure if they really exis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amalyaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
San Ferdinando
Eurostars Hotel Excelsior
Grand Hotel Vesuvio
#8 of 185 in Naples
1,488 reviews
Royal Continental Hotel
#41 of 185 in Naples
2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Porto
Fly Boutique Hotel
Fly Boutique Hotel
#5 of 185 in Naples
460 reviews
San Ferdinando
La Ciliegina Lifestyle Hotel
San Ferdinando
Hotel Il Convento
Hotel Il Convento
#3 of 185 in Naples
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Via Palepoli, 12, 80132, Naples, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples > San Ferdinando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Naples
#20 Romantic Hotel in Naples
#22 Business Hotel in Naples
Price Range: $72 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps from the waterfront district of San Ferdinando, just minutes from picturesque sites like Castel dell'Ovo, Borgo Marinari and Piazza Plebiscito, the Hotel Rex of Naples welcomes you in an Art Nouveau building with a cozy Mediterranean atmosphere, enhanced by comfortable rooms, elegant simplicity and careful attention to detail. Cradle of ancient cultures, romantic source of inspiration, full of places to visit, people to meet-the most authentic Naples is all this and much more. There's nothing left, but to let yourselves be whisked away by her irresistible charm and cheered-up by our hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing