We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The bad reviews have it it wrong.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
Ranked #108 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The bad reviews have it it wrong.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We were almost put off booking because of some of the bad reviews here and we arived quite nervous of what we might find. We were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is great - it is very hard to find anything to say against it except that the road outside is one of the most scary to cross. The surrounding area round is not as smart as some parts of town but then neither are Kingcross and Euston in London. Most Naples is quite safe if you are 'an ordinary tourist' as one Italian man told me, ie not dripping with jewellery and other signs of money The hotel staff were charming, friendly and most helpful. It is a lovely old historic town house nicely decorated (with a good lift). The room was nice, clean and had everything we needed. The bathroom was excellent and everthing worked beautifully. Internet was free in our rom with excellent reception. Breakfast was all that was needed. Wonderful Italian croissant and other similar things. Bread rolls, cereals and milk, yoghart, fruit, ham and cheese, butter and jam, and of course coffee, hot milk (and tea). Our room was facing the back and was quiet. It was all so nice that we booked several more nights and were really sad to leave. If yu ae coming to visit Naples (which we just fell in love wth ) then I can think of nowhere nicer to stay

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fredinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    107
    87
    42
    36
See reviews for
64
113
32
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2011

Good location if you like to walk...next to train station and close to airport but far from nice city areas. Super Dark, bit depressing, and also being so dark gives a dirty impression, probably because its an old building?. was surprised by furniture and room decoration, nice colours, antiques, that was really nice, comfortable bed...free wifi? yes, but been able to use it only sitting next to room door and lost signal every 2 minutes!!! horrible!!! breakfast just right to poor, the lady at breakfast room was super kind.Much better hotels at 20 meters for same price with better services. Will not be back

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prinzessinmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebecchino, Direttore at Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Dear Guest,
we regret that your stay has not met your expectations, but we want to answer some of your comments. Location: hotel is 2 minutes by walk from Naples historical city center, declared world heritage site from UNESCO. About Wi fi: probably you had not requested assistance to our staff. In fact, as that our hotel is in a big building, we have 4 wi-fi networks. By connecting to the wrong network, signal will be low. Updating the available networks list you can find network with maximum signal. Anyway I’ve seen that you have had same problem with wi-fi in an other Hotel and you have appreciated that they have allowed you to use internet point in lobby free of charge. We have free wi-fi and free internet point. Internet point, with possibility to print, is available 24 hours near the bar.
About light: Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino is an historical hotel, as you could appreciate, with furniture and decoration classical and antique, we can’t use neon or strong light, they’ll ruin our classical environment.
Breakfast that you consider poor: In our cold buffet breakfast guests can find: milk, coffee, tea, yogurt, espresso (on request without surcharge), cappuccino (on request without surcharge), 3 different fruit juice, croissants, bread, rusks, corn flakes, honey, butter, jam, cheese, cold cuts, fruits. Finally you consider our hotel not clean. Our staff have win last year the 2010 venere clean award judged from guests “Very Clean”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

While the staff was helpful and plentiful, our stay in this hotel was a huge disappointment.

My husband and I stayed here for a week in 2000 and had fond memories of the hotel, a little old fashioned, by the train station. We remembered a hidden gem with attentive staff, clean rooms, plentiful breakfasts, and easy access to trains to see the ruins in the surrounding areas. Much has changed in 10 years...

We stayed a week this time again, but with two 10 year old boys. Our room was big, but facing the street and very noisy (even with the outside shutters, the double-paned windows, and the TWO sets of inside shutters closed). The carpet (yuck) in the room looked fairly new, but there was a ton of dust around the edges of the room and under the tables. The bathroom was old and the shower sprayed water in every direction, including up, but was nice and hot.

The breakfast buffet consisted of: buns, croissants, corn flakes, plain yoghurt, canned fruit salad, dried toasts, ham, and cheese. EVERY DAY. We bought a jar of nutella for the boys - there was only unsalted butter and apricot jam to put on the bread. Breakfast would have been OK for a shorter stay, but a week of that was a bit..... bland.

Again, I would like to stress the kindess and availability of the staff. They were truly wonderful and seemed to have the clients' comfort in mind. Having said this, I think we will stay elsewhere during our next trip to Naples.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7274deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel was right down the street from the train station, which was very convenient. The room was a descent size, but was a little out dated. The price we paid and the location that it was in is what attracted us and we weren't disappointed. Within walking distance to a lot of sites and stores. The only problem with the hotel has to do with the fact that it's in Naples. The people of Naples must not care that their city looks like a war zone ( I say that having been to Iraq). The people there were rude, the streets were littered with trash and debris, and the "sights" had been spray painted with graffiti. It was so disappointing. Had it not been for the day trip to Pompeii (which was awesome), I would have been very upset I went to Naples. I had read similar reviews about Naples and guess I had to see it with my own eyes. Avoid it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJS525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

Before booking this hotel I've browsed the reviews of others just like you do now, and I understood only in Naples why this hotel is praised by some and criticized by others. The facts are as follows:

If you are looking for a roomy & comfy hotel with amenities and/or a romantic atmosphere most probably you're in the wrong place. This hotel is perfect for the urban hikers who come to Naples for the city itself!
It's perfect location makes it the ideal residence for your stay because is in the perfect spot.
Why is Piazza Garibaldi the perfect location in Naples? Because from there you can take:
1. The Alibus that connects you directly to the airport.
2. Other buses that gets you to Piazza Plebiscito (location where you can find the Royal Palace, Castel Nuovo which is near, and last but not least Via Chiaia where is that famous pizzeria where pizza was invented long time ago)
3. Buses which takes you to Caserta
4. Metro
5. Train station. Pompei it's at only half an hour ride ;)
I've seen many reviews which state that Garibaldi is not safe but it didn't seem dangerous to me. It's full of street vendors that sell crappy things but they don't harass you.

The hotel itself:
Pro's:
1. The air conditioning is more than satisfactory. During the night we had to turn it off because it was getting way to cold for us.
2. The wireless internet in the room is good. Although the signal was low, the connection was ok. (Reached 1mb/s on external torrents :P )
3. The hotel staff is helpful, but we spoke with them in italian. Don't know if they manage english good though...
4. Breakfast is fair, but every morning is the same thing. It's not disturbing for the first 3-4 days because its diverse, but if you stay more as we did, it's kinda' appetite suppressing :)

Con's:

1. The cleanliness of the room is fair but there are spots that are not covered. In our room there was some undisturbed dust behind the TV. We left it there as we found it, in sign of respect for the time necessary to collect that amount :P

2. The hotel is not well maintained, not really rusty, but in process of becoming. The doors from the bathroom shower had some glitches, the wallpaper from under the desk was ripped and the freezer plug didn't rest in the wall. But these issues are minor negative details; none of those can be seen as a discomfort. At least we didn't see them that way, although the freezer's capacity to refrigerate wasn't quite quick as we had to wait more than 8 hours for a watermelon to chill...

3. The back view of the hotel isn't quite charming, but is quiet.

4. The pillows weren't soft. I'm a guy who needs a good pillow in order to have a comfy sleep. Those pillows were hard rock! But i was tired as a bull every night so, I had to accept the odds :(

If you book this hotel it's a good idea to ask for room which is not with street view, because the area is noisy and that may compromise your morning sleep!

Overall the hotel is not bad, mainly because of the location, good AC & Internet connection. The hotel also has an internet corner which comes in handy if you don't have a notebook :)

The most funny part of it? The bottle opener is embedded in the bathroom wall :D

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deathissue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

We flew into Naples for a 17 day trip to Italy. We did not rent a car and traveled by train throughout our trip. Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino is located within walking distance of the train station. Our room faced the street, but none of us were bothered by the traffic noise and we all slept well. We walked all over Naples our first day and felt completely safe. The food was some of the best we had on our trip. Yes, Naples is very different from the other cities we visited in Italy (Rome, Florence, Pisa, Venice and Loiano), but I really liked it. The hotel staff was very friendly, and the room was adequate for the four of us. The shower was the only minor annoyance in that it drained slowly into the bathroom so that the floor of the bathroom was wet whenever we showered. The breakfast was adequate and pretty typical of other hotels we stayed in. We visited Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii on our second day. We had no problem traveling on the trains.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

Unfortunately, it is difficult to avoid Naples (which is awful) if you want to go to Pompeii or Capri but you can avoid this hotel. The rooms are a reasonable size and acceptably clean but desk staff are intolerably rude, breakfast is very poor and to my surprise they do not do laundry, which turned out to be a big inconvenience. Price is OK, and it is near the station but it looked to me like there were better options in the area. Try them first.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Grand Hotel Europa
#49 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#79 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Hotel Ideal
#146 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Hotel Napoli
#50 of 189 in Naples
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Hotel Garden Napoli
#138 of 189 in Naples
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Hotel Joyfull
#74 of 189 in Naples
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino

Property: Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino
Address: Corso Giuseppe Garibaldi 356 | 80142, 80142, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 189 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nuovo Rebecchino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nuovo Rebecchino Hotel
Nuovo Rebecchino Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing