We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleepless night and 30 bug bites”
Review of Hotel Le Orchidee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Orchidee
Ranked #86 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sleepless night and 30 bug bites”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

It took me an hour to find the hotel because I was following the bad bus instructions given by the website. Room seemed very clean on arrival, clean sheets and clean room. However, as soon as I opened the bathroom door the smell of raw sewage hit me in the face. the only way to breath was by opening the balcony doors. Doing this allowed about a thousand Mosquitos into my room and I woke up at 3 am to them buzzing in my ear. I stayed up until 7 am killing Mosquitos. Still ended up with bites everywhere. I would have shut the outside door but I'd rather get pestered by Mosquitos then have my room smell of sewage. Guy at the front desk is nice enough but he hardly speaks English so good luck getting any help from him. If your lights don't work it's because he has to turn on your power from the office. Don't expect the ac to work and be ready to walk up and down 5 stories. I gave this hotel two stars instead of one because its in a good location and very affordable. But I would honestly never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutherland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    64
    32
    17
    17
See reviews for
21
69
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2013

staff: extremely unfriendly. after traveling for a few hours and walking in extreme heat, the person at the desk ignored us and talked on the phone for at least 5 minutes without acknowledging us standing in front of him. he argued with us about turning on the AC when it was 30 degrees out, and reluctantly did it... only to have it "stop working" a while later....

room: not clean. big enough. no water pressure. cots for beds. TV doesn't work properly and lights keep going out. Wifi not strong enough to reach bedroom.

location: sketchy and scary. hard to find. noisy.

atmosphere: not really any.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Naples hotels

Island of Capri, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Schwierig zu bewerten: gute lage, super ausgangspunkt fürs einkaufen ( corso umberto - einkaufstraße, in der nähe etwa 15 min. fussweg: die schöne galleria umberto, via chiaia etc. Problem nur: Hotel befindet sich im 5. Stock, was uns vorab im Internet nicht klar war. Zugänglich über eine schöne Treppe ( eben ca 5 Geschosse hoch), oder über einen sehr alten historischen Lift (vermutlich aus den 30er Jahren??), übrigens sehr hübsch. Wer jedoch Höhenangst hat, hat hier Pech gehabt. Kosten pro LIftfahrt: 20 cent. Dass man Lift fahren muss, wird einem leider nicht mitgeteilt, auf den diversen Internetbuchungsseiten. Im Internet findet man ein Foto vom Frühstücksbuffet. Fakt ist: Wir haben kein Frühstück im Hotel erhalten, sondern mussten morgens zu einem Cafe an einer Piazza ( etwa 20 m vom Hotel entfernt ) laufen, und haben dort ein sehr gutes Croissant und einen Cappuchino erhalten. Ein wenig veräppelt kam ich mir vor, weil im Internet ein Frühstücksbuffet im Hotel gezeigt wird. Im Zimmer musste man selbst dafür sorgen, dass Toilettenpapier anwesend war. Kein Duschgel, Kein Shampoo. Gut: Zimmer war sauber. Super: Lage. Etwas irritierend: Lift, 5. Geschoss, und kein Duschgel, kein Schampoo. Sehr netter Mann an der Reception, den man allerdings nicht zu sehr stressen durfte. * Hard to describe: If you see the pictures in the internet, you see an old historic building. Facts: The hotel is JUSt located in the 5 th floor; you have to walk several stairs, or to take a very old elevator (maybe 1930s?); fee: 20 cent. If you have a problem with taking a very old very small elevator, you better shouldnt stay here. Our room was very clean, restored in 1997, and we we had a nice view to the port. The location is really good. at the corso umberto you can go shopping, everything is very near. ( Galleria Umberto approx. 12 min. walk, main station approx. 15 min. walk). The man at the reception is polite, but a bit introverted, so we had to ask all the things, and - for example - to tell him, that a toilet paper roll is missing in the bath. NO Shower-gel included, no Shampoo included. I am not sure, if this is a really 2 star hotel. Wlan didnt run in the room. On the internet page you can see a collazione ( breakfast) table... we didnt see that at all. We had to take breakfast outside in a cafe near by, ( and we just got 1 x croissant and 1 x Cappucchino per person) at a Cafe, close to the hotel, approx. 60 feet . The pictures on internet are not realistic, or we didnt get all the information. Really perfect was: Location.

Room Tip: zimmer mit balkon wählen. chose a room with balkony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capri_tutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I booked this hotel in October 2012 for 4 nights in April 2013.

Imagine my surprise when 2 weeks before we travelled to Naples I was informed by the manager that they were unable to accomodate us. I contacted the agents, who were also unable to persuade the manager to honour the booking.

I would not trust a booking with this hotel as like me you may find two weeks before your arrival you have nowhere to sleep.

I did book somewhere else, which as it happened, turned out to be a better location.

Imagine my surprise when the manager of Le Orchidee emailed me 4 days before our trip saying 'Everything it’s ok with your reservation. We apologize for the inconvenience.'

What a cheek! Did he think I was going to leave it last minute??

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine_Loves_Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at Le Orchidee for a week and really enjoyed it. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the building has a lot of character. The location is ideal for exploring Naples, being on a main road it is easy to find your way back after getting lost in other parts of the city. The room we stayed in was comfortable and cleaned daily. Great value for money, we would definately consider returning should we return to Naples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexragaliauskas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed a week in this 2 * b&b .Is very well located, in Plazza Bovio , central area .The rooms are modest equipped, but big enough (about 20 sqm) , thei are changing towels every day and clean the room daily also.At the ground floor is a pizzeria called pomodorino where you can eat a decent meal at a good price.
Fair price for the position and the conditions offered.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I had a hunch Hotel Orchidee in Naples would be ok. Two stars it said, and two kilometres it is from the station, requiring a taxi cab hunt to locate both the massive bronze and timber door and the hotel itself on the fifth floor. Walk through the courtyard flanked by massive Doric columns, then via the Polanski style lift – 20c thank you to get to the top. Hosts Roberto and Vittoria speak just enough English and they are welcoming. The view from my room is framed through louvered doors. From the balcony, look left towards the harbour, right to the church and massive 19C bank, then up the hill to the fort. If you choose not to believe in an Italian breakfast budget traveller you won’t be disappointed staying here. Located close to the historical quarter, Orchidee rates atmosphere: five stars.

Room Tip: Best room view is closest to the piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissanders_16b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Naples hotels
Hotel Europeo & Flowers
#45 of 186 in Naples
888 reviews
Pendino
Hotel Nettuno
Hotel Nettuno
#98 of 186 in Naples
97 reviews
Schilizzi Hotel
#96 of 186 in Naples
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercato
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
Orsa Maggiore Hotel
#80 of 186 in Naples
151 reviews
B&B Hotel Napoli
#46 of 186 in Naples
212 reviews
Pendino
Albergo del Golfo
Albergo del Golfo
#71 of 186 in Naples
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Orchidee

Property: Hotel Le Orchidee
Address: Corso Umberto I n.7, 80138, Naples, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Naples
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 186 Hotels in Naples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Orchidee 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Orchidee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing